Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Very good location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Very good breakfast, location
Location: 5m walk to Wien Mitte station and the airport train. This also gives you easy access to the main metro and trams, easy to get about.
Hotel was good in a bit of a quirky location but Ideal for sightseeing and getting about. We got 48hr WeinerLeiner travel passes which were very cheap and could use on the tram, metro and local bus. Check restaurant prices when you are in the city for water, we got stung twice @ €8 a bottle, nearly twice the price of the beer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location, clean room, wonderful staff

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Stayed here for two nights after flying in from Sydney, room was clean and comfortable, staff were helpful and knowledgeable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Lovely setting off main road and peaceful. Restored & converted building to a very good standard. I can only speak for ourselves but our room was spacious and clean, we were both impressed. Nice courtyard to enjoy a drink (we had good weather during our time). Plenty of eating places nearby and close to the main station for CAT (Airport train) and for underground and tram journeys. Vienna is a wonderful city and if you like walking there is plenty to see. If you have time a 1 hour train ride to Bratislava is worth a day visit just to see the different cultures between the two cities. All in all we have enjoyed our break to Austria, I'm sure those that decide to visit will also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not very clean

Posted Jun 6, 2017
3 night stay. Great location. Unfortunately the nights we stayed the duvet covers and some towels were dirty/stained. The hotel is nice but needs updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire, UK

Great hotel in a central location

Posted May 12, 2017
The train from the airport takes zoo directly to Wien Mitte/Landstrasse station within 20 minutes, from there it's 10 minutes by foot. Warm welcome from friendly reception staff. They were keen to give me a tourist street map of the city and even printed off directions to a difficult to get to tourist location in the far-flung suburbs. Room was clean and comfortable - bathroom had a bath and power-shower. Food prepared in restaurant is of the high standard you'd expect. Excellent buffet breakfast. The hotel is slap bang in the centre of Vienna - Stephansdom is 20-30 minutes walk away, Karlsplatz and the museum quarter less than 10 minutes away by underground. Only negatives are (1) the breakfast is a bit pricey at 16 euros; (2) hotel decor is old-fashioned and clearly aimed at an older audience (when I was there, most of the guests were of retirement age or business travellers); and (3) wifi/Internet can be slow especially if you want to watch video (there is a faster connection but you have to pay for it). On balance, I would strongly recommend Hotel Mercure Biedermeier Wien.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland US

Posted Apr 28, 2017
very good hotel situated in a stylized 200 century old building
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean. Gym and sauna was a plus. Only bad thing was that the ceiling on the 4th floor was quite low
3 out of 5
by Krista

Convenient and OK Hotel - great barman!

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was perfectly fine for a quick trip to Vienna with no frills and did the job. I wouldn't recommend if you are looking for a 'high end' 4* star hotel. The barman was excellent which created a really nice atmosphere every evening for the guests - very friendly, fun and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Krista, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards from Vienna, Marcel Stöckel Direktionsassistent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, handy for the underground

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: The breakfast was busy and as a result the staff were a little overwelmed
Location: Close to the centre via a couple of easy stops on the underground
Very pleasant hotel, with nice size rooms, pleasant staff and nice decor. Breakfast was plentiful, the coffee was dreadful, that weak grey looking stuff. The bar is nice, comfortable and the chap working the bar is very friendly. The only downside, the rooms were very warm and both my room and the room next door was bothered constantly by what the described as hear a disk cutter running all night in the bathroom. which unless you kept the door closed all the time was enough to keep you awake
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is not wheelchair accessible. First off it's down a pedestrian walkway that is cobblestone and second, there are stairs into the lobby. They have a 'ramp' which is obviously meant for deliveries and too steep to roll up (I'd suspect even for an electric chair, though I use a manual one). I was required to get out of my wheelchair and bum up a set of stairs because their ramp. The reception's solution was to suggest I call them from my american phone incurring long distance charges in order to alert them that I was in need of assistance. Either way, terrible options. The hotel restaurant doesn't have accessible bathrooms so I had to go up to my room during dinner when i needed to use the toilet. The staff did their best to be helpful but were obviously caught off guard and out of their league in solving the situation. if you're in a wheelchair, especially if you're traveling alone, just avoid it all together.