Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely apartment with good transport links

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great studio apartment, with good travel links to the centre. The main hall area of the building was being rennovated, but we had no trouble regarding noise, etc. The staff were super friendly and gave good tips for areas to visit. An enjoyable stay and bargain price compared to town centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and nutty reception

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Reception isn't non-existent. They should really do a true online check-in. Little communication before as well. The real problem is cleanliness. €18 for cleaning, but diet and hair in the floors is just not tolerable. The place is simple and decorated nicely, but that and the state of the bathrooms has to be improved.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very spacious apt for those on a budget!

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleasantly surprised by the apartment. The apartment is massive! The bathroom is awesome and was once a mini spa. It has three showers and three sauna rooms, granted only one was working. The whole building is currently ( Sept 2016) being remodeled/upgraded, but most of the work is taking place on the main floor. The apt comfortably fits 4 adults, but you can easily fit two kids under 7 and still have plenty of space. The apartment is on a very quiet street. There isn't a lot to see in the neighborhood, but it is only two blocks away from the 71 tram, which is 5-10 mins from the central downtown area. Lastly, the building manager is the nicest guy!! He's a happy go-lucky person. He even carried our heavy luggage to our apartment. Thank you Leschko!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Unfriendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napoli

Nice hotel in central location in Vienna.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness of the room.
Cons: Room a bit warm, although our visit was in August, and weather was warm.
Location: Very close to the Belvedere, and a 20-minute walk to downtown sites in old Vienna. 5-minute walk to public transportation to Schonbrunn & Prater
Hotel was close to public transportation and within 20-minute walk to downtown Vienna sites. Room was spacious and clean. Manager was quite helpful if a bit gruff. Good value for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Scary, Dusty, Noisy and Not As Advertised

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: It is close to train station.
Cons: Proper disclosure by the owners.
Location: Close to train station and food places.
La Scala Apartments is scary, dusty, noisy and disgusting - not as advertised. The place is more of a construction site. The amenities advertised are false. There are no 11 rooms - just 2 rooms on ground floor and 2 rooms in a cellar converted into rooms. Cellar rooms are scary, musty without proper flooring and windows except 2 small windows near ceiling. No free newspaper in lobby, no lobby, no front desk, no multilingual staff - only staff in attendance was a shirtless person working on construction site, no premium bedding, no free toiletries, no rainfall or showerhead shower, weak WiFi. La Scala Apartments needs to be truthful in advertising so that customers can make informed decision when booking. We booked based on the advertised amenities and description which were non existent. We were disappointed with the place and felt cheated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel close to Vienna Centre/ Major renovations

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The cleanliness and mould removal
Location: All of Vienna center including the Opera House, the Butterfly house, the Crown jewel museum, Schonbrunn Palace and the Winter Palace
This hotel is well located and within walking distance of the city center. Upon arrival we were greeted with heavy volumes of noise due to the major renovations taking place within the hotel. The owner was friendly and offered us lots of ideas for visiting the city, however when led to our large room in the basement we noticed a very musty and damp smell. The floors were filthy and we needed to wear our shoes so we didn't have dirt in our beds. The bathroom was massive and had two showers( both which contained mould) and three saunas which were labelled private and not for our use. The owner was very difficult to reach as he was very busy with the rhos in the hotel. The noise of jack hammers went from 8:30 am to 6pm so it was good to be out of the hotel. Until the renovations are complete this hotel would be better to avoid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Misleading description

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: In spite of all negative experiences, this is not a bad place. The staff are trying, location is good, you may still wish to give it a try.
Cons: They should advertise themselves in keeping with the real conditions they offer.
Location: Quiet and nice place. Close to Botanical Gardens and Belvedere and one of the embassy quarters.
Pros: Nice location, if you like to walk (25 mins to the city center); staff eager to help (if you speak German and can get hold of them) Cons: No 4-star conditions under any circumstances. Internet barely worked, noisy renovation was being carried out, multilingual staff does not exist, late check-in was a nightmare.
3 out of 5
by Kolyu from Chelmsford

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Overall positive experience. However, wifi not working and no personnel at night.