Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great location with golf and biking trails, news decorated rooms and friendly stuff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairmont BC

Friendly hotel w willing, thoughtful staff.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Room HVAC a tad noisy. Staff attentive & professional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Beautiful resort and kid friendly

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Great resort for family and golf. Only downside for family's is kids are not in pool after 8:00 PM. 20-25 minutes to downtown, but resort has a shuttle. Good value and food is excellent. I also recommend Jacks right across from hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great for golfers

Posted Jul 3, 2016
A bit of a trek from Victoria (30 min), but an easy drive. We thought we'd close out our week on the island with a relaxing spa location, so moved from our suite at the Fairmont downtown to the Westin Bear Mountain. Probably not the best idea. If you like to hike the resort has access to Mt. Finlayson, but watch out for golfers that yell at you for trying to cross the path. A little annoying given we paid to be there too. I also feel the resort fees should be built into the room price. We were pleasantly surprised to find out the fees are lower than what is handed out on the check in notice. Our friend told us the restaurants in the main clubhouse were good but pricey. Avoid Jack's Pub (walking distance but not part of the Westin), which had several tables dirty and terrible service. The room was large with two queen beds and a wet bar that came in handy. Nice and quiet room despite it being ground floor. Overall, we won't be back at this Westin location any time soon, but I would not discourage golfers from going.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful hotel - service issues.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: the rooms are lovely, the views, especially from the lounge/restaurant are stunning.
Cons: Hot tub was out of service - we were not told when we made the booking. We were still charged the daily $25 resort fee - should have refunded.
Location: It's not in victoria - it's a 20 min drive from the city and in a residential community. you are pretty isolated, but it's very pretty.
Arrived late due to 3 hour flight delay ( so 1am) - no one could or would help us with our bags and we were not in the main building, but travelling with a very tired small child. So much for 24 hour service. one clerk with herbal tea was friendly, but told us he can't help us, called a security guard ... said 'he doesn't do this' - it was a short walk up a big hill with cases and child and pitch black out. the security guard did help us, but grudgingly, we tipped him $20 and he was friendlier. It was not a great warm welcome.... We also had a big problem with loud, drunken neighbours. it took 3 calls to the front desk over 2 hours - security sided with the drunken, swearing louts (I could hear through my room, that's how loud it was!) - Security actually told them that it was the woman with the kid above that was complaining. They offered him a beer and weed.. he said 'not while on shift' -maybe later... they were still at it until 1am - 2 nights in a row. Hotel send me a bottle of wine and a toy for my kid - which he loved, but was completely broken and they couldn't give him a replacement - so he was elated, then devastated because it was broken. the wine was left in the hotel for them as we were getting ready to leave for our flight. We were there for a week - I would expect better for after hours noise complaints and for security to tell a group of 8 drunk, swearing men who was complaining put me at risk - it was absolutely unacceptable. Other than that - lovely stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Avg stay on the mountain

Posted Jun 19, 2016
The hotel was nice but not great. Water pressure in the shower was lousy. Lighting throughout the room was poor. The beds were extremely comfortable. Service was lower than expected/desired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice Resort. House Keeping ladies could be better

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Everything was great, except for the house keeping that consistently disappointed with a poor job done everyday and having to call multiple times to replace basic toiletries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, BC

Mountain escape

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: We enjoy the outdoor pool most of all. Also appreciate the tiny kitchen area in the room.
Cons: There is a need for weed pulling! Weeds are growing everywhere near the rooms, the pool and walkways. Also the shower curtain was too narrow.
Location: We like that the drive is short to get into down town Victoria.
My favorite yearly weekend for the Victoria Goddess Run!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the resort

Posted May 30, 2016
Loved the warm, rustic feeling of the resort! The fireplace in the lobby was wonderful! Rooms were clean and exceeded our expectation! All around great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very expensive remote resort

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: clean hotel- big rooms
Cons: Fee
Location: Very isolated area and far away to everything
Good place only for the ones stay very long in this resort