Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character hotel. Spacious rooms.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Characterful old cabins with good facilities in an enchanting environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great stay . Amir and the rest of the staff helped to make our 3 day stay one to remember .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Aust.

Bon Ton Resort is my new happy place.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Peaceful outlook over a lagoon full of lilies and birdlife. 10min cab into town and the fabulous beach.
We can't rate the warm, attentive service and the uniqueness of this property highly enough. It's a wonderful place to escape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Eco-Friendly Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: We liked the fact that the hotel incorporates an animal shelter and is also very eco-friendly. Lots of cats, dogs, birds nd living in harmony.
Cons: Breakfast. Would be great if there was a buffet breakfast in the main building.
Location: Bon Ton is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of Pantai Chenang which has plenty of activities to choose from.
Charming rooms on stilts. We were upgraded to the "Laguna" which was larger than expected. Restaurant had excellent dinner menu and good wine list. Complementary pre dinner cocktails were excellent. The one downside is that breakfast is delivered to your fridge the night before and is very limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good with some comfort issues

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The service and the attached restaurant. The private pool and amenities.
Cons: Air conditioning in the main bedroom; half the spa jets in the shallow end of the private pool was not working
Location: It is 2 minutes from the airport and another 2 minutes from the Cenang beach and shopping area.
My family and I stayed in the larger villas that can fit 5 people. The owner and the staff are very friendly and professional and the in-house restaurant also has good food. For someone wanting an experience staying in a traditional Malay village house, this place is perfect. They modernized the houses to include fans and air conditioning. However during our stay I could barely feel the air conditioning and the fans in the main bedroom especially while on the bed. The a/c was not powerful enough and the fans were too high up. I was not able to sleep comfortably because it was so hot. The living room with 3 day beds was a bit better but still not cold enough. My family and I used the private pool and I like that it had lounge chairs and umbrellas for relaxing next to the pool. I noticed that half the spa jets in the shallow section of the pool were not working. For the price of the room I would have expected facilities to be better maintained. Mosquitoes are a problem in a rural setting such as this resort and I am happy to find mosquito kits were provided including mosquito nets over the beds should one prefer the ultimate protection while sleeping. The staff even had mosquito coils burning under some tables at the in-house restaurant though we did not see them on our second dinner there. Besides the comfort issues, overall the villa was a unique and positive experience.
5 out of 5
by Mark from London

Bliss

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed my stay in the 'Black Coral' house at Bon Ton. Very relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but in need of cleaning and a bit spooky

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Interésting room architecture charming but extremely hot and dirty. We had hairs everywhere and our room although was beautiful was spooky. After ours stay a guy told us there was a ghost.
4 out of 5
by S from London

Rustic boutique hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at Bon Ton for 2 nights at the end of March. We had Blue Ginger, an 80 year old traditional Malaysian house which had been deconstructed, moved to the resort and reconstructed for guest use. It's a nice, creaky wooden building painted bright blue. Inside was spacious and appropriately furnished with vintage items. The bathroom was outside and surrounded by other guest rooms - someone would have had to make an effort to see in but it still didn't feel 100% private! There are some really nice colonial style communal buildings within the resort and although Bon Ton is quite rustic / basic it does have an elegance about it. Service was great and the food at the restaurant was very nice. We also ate at the adjoining resort which was good too. The beach is a 15 - 20 min walk. If you like the idea of rustic, outdoorsy boutique accommodation (light sleepers will probably be woken at 6am by the dogs from the shelter next door followed by the birds at sunrise) this is a great option overall. I found it a bit expensive but we did stay over the long Easter weekend which probably pushed prices up. Only other slight negative is that the pool needs much more regular cleaning. During the course of the day it filled with leaves and bugs but was not cleaned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gawler, South Australia

So relaxing, beautiful villa, very spacious

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: The serenity. Away from the hustle and bustle of the town. The staff.
Cons: Maybe a bigger fridge.
Location: Fabulous food on the beach at Casa Del Mar. Good food was eaten at The Cliffs. Massages were great. Took a taxi to the sky cab which is the cable car.
We had a fantastic stay at the Bon Ton. Loved the staff, the food, the pool, the villa. The villa is spacious and the bathroom huge. Beautiful breakfast is left in your room the night before, freshly baked bread and cakes, exotic fruits. Loved it. The staff are so friendly, welcoming you every time you come back. Fresh fruit by the pool every day. The town is around a four dollar ride away,worth it. It can be hot walking into town. Took a taxi to the cable car, what a great day. Beautiful views, and the oriental village has some good food. An island hopping tour, watching eagles feed, and swimming on some beautiful beaches was also a must.
5 out of 5
by Matteo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels