Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuala lumpur

pleasant hotel needs through cleaning

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: food pool location
Cons: a lot. especially the rooms and furniture.
Location: by the beach!! short drive to cenang.
upon arrival at the lobby, we had 1 large suitcase, 1 baby stroller, a few smaller bags, but there was no one to help us unload the bags or carry all our stuff to the lobby. i had to drop the wife and kids and all the luggage, park the car, then lug all those to the lobby myself. check-in was a breeze luckily. What shocked me was, upon entering the room, the was a strong stench of damp carpet in the air that wouldn't go away until the day we checked out. there was no ventilation and the air-conditioning was switched off and that probably contributed to the strong foul smell . Room condition was disappointing to say the least. plenty of mould on the bathroom walls and even on the walls on the balcony. furniture was the same since the first time i stayed there in 2003. Room service was awesome and cheap though. remember to try the pizza!! Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices, but i can't believe they don't have baked beans served in a hotel with so many foreigners. Swimming pool, excellent. right by the beach. Generally the hotel has all the facilities it should, albeit in a deplorable sorry state that needs updating and more staff actually tending to guests rather than nowhere to be seen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful resort but rooms can get some renovation

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, infinite pool is beautiful but is extra charge to get in. Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel very close to the beach

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Room , the restaurants , great swimming pool
Cons: Comunal areas needs a bit of painting
Location: Great location, restaurants , spas , car rentals
Great hotel, staff friendly and helpful, it was a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel close to the beach and a big pool

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Was a great stay. Had a change of plans and had to leave a day earlier than expected and the hotel would not credit unused day. Otherwise, would recommend this hotel for families and romantic getaways. Restaurants were the best, prices were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Very nice and comfort, also good price for greate facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent sunset view

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Nice environment & location. Suitable for family. Very excellent beach area and can see sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice resort, great location right on the beach

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location, price, the pool areas, beach.
Cons: Poolside bar is sometimes understaffed during busy periods
This was our second stay at this resort. My wife and I would have no hesitation in returning here or recommending to our friends. The location,right on a lovely sandy beach, is perfect. The pool and surrounding area is awesome. I am sure that you could find faults if you wanted to, but in my mind they would be minor issues. If you stay here, do yourself a favour and make the time to have dinner at the little establishment across the road out front of the resort. It's called 'the Cactus (don't let first appearances put you off). Beer is cold, staff amazingly friendly and food is excellent. Its also very cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

all rounder

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great staff, good location close to cenang beach and loved the private beach. It's a little dated but really that happens a lot in Malaysia. All round loved the holiday and stay at the holiday villa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK

Great location and cracking beach

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The best thing was the quiet and great beach, I could pretty much walk to everything or hire a car or take a trip all easily from the hotel
Cons: A bug screen on the balcony door so you could open the door if you wanted to let some heat in
Location: There is a watersports company right on the beach which can be booked via the hotel. Plenty of places to eat nearby and only a 1 mile walk to Cenang
I really enjoyed this location and happily walked down to Cenang beach if I wanted a busy beach bar or to go to the shops or market stalls. It's around a 30 min walk to the centre of the main street in Cenang where there are plenty of food places and mini markets on route if you wanted to stay more local. The beach was great and so quiet. The staff helped me out with trips, hiring a car and everything I needed with my stay. It's not a new hotel but that wasn't important to me, I wanted a great base and it provided that. I was happy to pay extra for the La Villa pool access for the sea view and nicer surroundings on the days I stayed local, but the large pool is more than fine. Breakfast was good and room servicing was available as much as you wanted. It felt safe and secure and there were no hawkers on the beach at all. I happily left my items on the beach while I went for a swim. Westerly facing beach so you can watch the sunset everytime! The room was comfy, includes and fridge and a safe and wifi worked around the property. I would return again as even to go out for a more luxurious meal at say the Meritus, it was only cheap for a taxi. So easy to get around, but no real public transport
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and unfriendly staff

Posted Feb 19, 2017
For a 4star hotel i was quite disappointed by the room conditions and the staff's unfriendliness. The facilities in the room was mediocre. I rather spend my time outside of the hotel than to be in the hotel. The only plus points is the swimming pool and clean beach.