Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Love the traditional in the jungle setting

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I had a good time.Reception staff was friendly.Room spacious and for the price I paid I was impressed with the space allocation.Just if you have neighbours next door you can hear them or worst smell if they would smoke cigarettes as the design of the rooms are made with wood and not sound proof.The whole resort will be dark after 12 am so that is eerie and so be careful when you are driving in the dark as the roads could have sharp turns and steep descends.However I came for the quietness and slept well and woke up without any headache or care in the world as fresh air is guaranteed!I would come back again as I have found a little sanctuary
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Housekeeping was terrible... very dusty and dirty...bathroom sink and toilet were never cleaned properly. Floor was never mopped. The room phone never worked. We called from my friends room to sort out batteries for tv remote control. My beach towels disappeared from my room....I threaten to deduct from my bill and it showed up in reception 2 days later. The reception overcharge us for taxis until we found our own taxi. But the island is beautiful. We had great fun visiting the island.
4 out of 5
by Langkawi Trip 2017 from Malaysia

Great place to experience "Kampung" life

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay in the natural surrounding and out of the city busy lifestyle. Feel like living in between the edge of jungle and paddy fields Have a great swimming pool that we really enjoyed in the morning. Buildings are older, the one that we stay in is still in good condition, but going around you might see some really run down ones. At night is really quiet until having a mysterious scary feel if alone. Overall a great stay and experience, way different from the normal ordinary hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very Old and damaged room

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The staff is friendly and helpful
Cons: Proper maintenance of room is required.
The room is big but klunky. the furniture (like Sofa) look like being used for decade and moldy. not dare to sit on it. there is a wood floor with some big hole, lack of maintenance. The worse part is there is no sound proof at all, you can hear clearly neighbor talking, walking, TV sound etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

aircond broke

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
peaceful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia, penang

very nice resort but it's quite eerie at night

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Very clean room and swimming pool.
Cons: Please add more street light at night as it is very dark and you can't see the road properly at night. You should also review the price at Restaurant
Location: It was near the main road but it was so quiet at night. It was close by several famous road side stall on the internet.
It's a very comforting to stay at the resort. It's far from the crowd and the room is nice and cozy. However it's quite creepy at night as they don't provide enough street light. I would love to go again but I'm quite scared actually due to dark surrounding at night.
1 out of 5
by Edel

Dirty and in need of renovation

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Although the staff were friendly here, the hotel rooms and linen were just not clean, and it took them a long time to solve the problem (bringing 'fresh' still dirty towels didn't help). Having splashed out more for a hotel for the Christmas period I was seriously disappointed as the cleanliness and service in a hostel would have been much better and a LOT cheaper. Although the location is beautiful the rooms are in dire need of renovation and i wouldn't recommend the place to anyone until that is done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed Stay.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Environment is cooling and very nature.
Environment of the area is good but was disappointed with the facilities and condition cause most of the facilities was not well maintain. Can't spend much time by the pool cause management open the pool to the local as they do not wear proper attire for the swimming pool very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Peacefull

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: the calmness, the scenery very peaceful the location also strategic to me...easy to find the resort and easy to go anywhere,
Cons: parking side, maybe management need to manage about the car parking. because there is not enough space for park the car infront of the rooms.
Location: middle of the island, it easy to go anywhere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An anachronism in the jungle

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Having traveled extensively throughout Asia, and having reviewed many resorts and motels, Kampung Tok Senic presented somewhat of a challenge. It is so good in so many ways, yet so ordinary in others. The whole resort appears as if stuck in a time warp. One can see it must have been absolutely magnificent in its day, but sadly those days are long gone. Buildings and fittings, eg. Furniture, bathrooms, electrics etc are still pretty much as they were when it was built, probably in the 70s. However, what you want to know is it value for money, overall I would say yes. The resort (and I use that term loosely) consists of a large number of separate timber rustic buildings in a park/jungle like setting. The rooms and amenities are basic but functional. If you are picky, or must have modern decor, go elsewhere. If you appreciate nature and a relatively peaceful environment away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas you will love Tok Senic. The pool area is quite large, and although we didn't swim there it looked rather inviting, surrounds again could do with some TLC though. Included breakfast was quite good, mainly Malay, but lovely. Staff were always prompt and courteous. This resort covers a big area and is quite hilly in places, making for a challenging walk to breakfast or the lobby (which we enjoyed I might add). Nature abounds here, lots of monkeys, birds, and other animals can be seen regularly. Overall we enjoyed our seven nights there. Hire a car or bike!