Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from PJ

good hotel for family vacation

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: cleanliness and the friendly staff
Cons: there should be more variety in desserts and smaller helpings as I see some go to waste.
Location: excellent
other than the delay in the check-in and mix-up in the rooms initially, the experience was great. the kids needed a clean and uncrowded pool to swim in and that's what we got. the beach BBQ was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome for family staycation

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Suitable for family with kids - the kids pool, kids club, the nature walk feel, private white sandy beach
Cons: The 3 rooms that we have booked through expedia did not come with breakfast, considerably we have stayed for a number of days. It would be nice if any
It's been 30 years since my last visit to Pelangi resort, when I was a little kid. The ambience and facade remains even though it's been taken over by Meritus group. Kicks back old memories with family. Love the sunset feel with beautiful white private sandy beach. Kids love the play pool & club. Convenient to the eateries outside the hotel. Best of all, we've got ourselves upgraded. We will definitely revisit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel excellent pool

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Rooms are very good very look amazing. Bath rooms are beautiful. Pools are great very good location
Cons: Rooms should have an option for more lighting as they are a little dark even in the day time. Needs more coffee in the room. Needs fan on the balcony
over all experience very good from the moment you hop out of the taxi the lobby and the reception are beautiful. Rooms are exelent very well designed and look amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel close to beach & food

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel close to beach and food
Cons: May be improve the beach facilities
Location: Walking distance to food, restaurant and small shops near hotel.
When reached the hotel, received warm welcome from staff. We were given towel and drink while waiting for check in procedure. The hotel room was clean and tidy. We just find that the pillow a bit too soft and room was not sound proof. The breakfast was nice with variety and staff were friendly. We wanted to try the food at Cuba but find it a bit expensive. What a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous resort close to the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Excellent staff service with great rooms. Our room was by the lake side and gave an amazing staying experience. Would definitely recommend this resort for staying even if price seems a bit high. Very close to the market place and taxi takes just 10 myr to market and 20 to airport. Go for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A truly awful way top spend Christmas

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: see above. But also as Expedia messed up the payment for the whole trip and I had to do that twice, the whole experience was a nightmare
1 Room a. Room too dark b. VERY Long way from hotel centre and upstairs, stairway also very dark, your advert does not indicate the distances , or need to climb stairs. I would have been happy to pay for a groundfloor room nearer the centre. c. Air con i. Noisy ( complained 24th not fixed) ii. Temp control does not seem to work iii. Air flaps do not open iv. Fan speed control does not seem to work. v. TV 1. Very poor picture on several channels ( complained 24th , not fixed) d. No Hand towels for 3 days e. Sink drains VERY slowly. f. 2 Food and drink a. Food in Spice Market i. Fettucini Carbonara ;- overcooked and stodgy ii. Lunch 24th , Club sandwich, actually a very large bread doughy roll not a layered sandwich as expected, with processed cheese and meat. 1. Service slow on 23rd evening. iii. Food quality at Xmas eve buffet , adequate only, meat and turkey were tuff, mussels dried out. 1. ( Wine waiters very good) iv. Gin and tonic at pool bar ; doubtful it was beefeater as advertised, much more likely a local supply. 3 Organisation a. Xmas eve dinner , poorly advertised as a communal table event on line. i. Staff did organise a separate table after complaint.( thanks) , ii. Christopher organised good attention after that also for breakfast b. When we asked for a 2nd key card on check in we were told to “ sort it out at reception tomorrow”. c. Other rooms using balcony as washing line. 4 I would like to thank Christopher and Ben for doing their best to recover the
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JB

tropical paradise resort

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: tradional kampung style chalet, modern ammenities, professional staff; spacious balcony while maintaining privacy
Cons: wish more buggies around...the place is huge;
Location: located along Cenang Beach, and the beach spot is exclusive, very cozy, scneric with panoramic view; away from general public; free from harassment
It was a 4 nights stay at this tropical settings kampung styled chalet. my family had a great time, food was delicious, spicy sambal though.... and just hanging out at the beach and pool area... the road to the local stalls was crowded at night with cars and bikes, plenty of food variety for all tourists...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Strategic with Chenang's island hopping

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Good and nice hotel view but receptionist not so friendly with local visitor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Relaxing beach front

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Greeted warmly.. nice pool.. friendly staff.. nice to be back after 23years seeing new room refurbishment and modern bathroom.. very relaxing..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Great Environment

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: We like the facilities and the environmenf of the hotel.
Cons: Promise is promise... Must fulfill the promise to the customer.
I choose this hotel as it environment is suitable for short honeymoon. My wife like the environment and I like the facilities of the hotel. We both enjoy the time at the hotel. However, they promise to provide us a sparkling wine as a present for honeymoon, we did not receive any sparkling wine although I already approach to the main counter at the lobby. I am not concern about the sparkling wine as it is just a addition to the vacation but for my opinion, a promise is a promise. We do as we promise to customer.