Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapre

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The staff, the room, the facilities was very good for families.
Cons: Nothing, maybe the beach was a little bit far by walk, but so easy by taxi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
We loved our stay at temple tree. Quiet and relaxing hotel, different to any other hotel on Langkawi in the unique, stunning style of the buildings and atmosphere created by the resort. We loved that you could get involved in helping out by walking the dogs at the animal shelter close by if you wanted to. Will definitely be coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Shack life

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Location is a little too far from the beach, although taxi's are cheap and anywhere on the island is 30 mins or so away.
Most of the 'chalets' are no better than sheds, they are in poor repair and do nothing to keep the local wildlife, bugs and noise out. This makes rest difficult as some rooms are close to a local road and the airport is nearby. The amenities are poor and not maintained. The TVs in the room are not connected to any external service. On a plus side the restaurant is good and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Ambience

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were supremely attentive without being invasive.
Cons: Wifi reception
Location: Location is fine with Cenang within a short taxi ride - shops within easy walking distance.
The resort was wonderfully relaxing and the staff were outstanding. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded when the China House became available and I cannot speak highly enough of the way we were treated. Loved the cats and lazing around the pool in between exploring the island. Top class restaurant on site and highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
It's really bed hotel full of insects very hold place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Lovely setting semi rural

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: THE building had a lot of character although aircon present. The vista out the back toward the mountains was lovely esp at sunset.All food excellent
Cons: The resort would benefit from getting a better footbridge on the way to town.... ALSO fresh ground coffee in room would be a treat (ours was stale)
Location: Reasonable proximity to town, taxi rank, and Rice PAdi. Again the walk was marred only by the narrow stretch at bridge (a good philanthropic project!
Great food, spacious accommodation, helpful staff.We loved the location a bit out of town...... A 20 min walk to town (a bit scary over the bridge!) and a 12 R taxi ride (worth it esp after dark!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Historic buildings with hospitable staff

Posted Jul 14, 2016
After reading all the reviews on Temple tree, I wasn't sure what to expect. Overall was a good stay. Check in/Arrival: On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady at reception who gave us plenty of information about Langkawi. We were served Pineapple Mint tea and played with the friendly cats while waiting to see if we could check in early. We got to check in 2 hours earlier which was great and was shown all the amenities in the room. The group of 3 of us stayed in Chinese 1. The room was decorated beautifully and had all the neccessities. Staff/Customer service: Great service by all staff that we interacted with. They were very helpful and accomodating. Helped us to check in early, recommended spas, helped book rental car and taxis, helped us check out later. Chinese 1: The room had a great atmosphere and if youre looking for a different experience where you stay in a historical building then this would suit you. However if you are afraid of bugs, geckos and cats this is not the place for you. We definitely made full use of the insect repellent, bug spray and mosquito net around the main bed. The cracks and gaps in the wooden wall and floor boards dont help with keeping away the bugs. However we didnt mind the cats (except not great for hayfever), and the geckos were harmless (although did freak us out inititially). We loved the big bath tub and the beds were comfortable. We also enjoyed the pool outside our room. We loved the continental breakfast that was included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Decent hotel but over priced

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The exterior of buildings, the long narrow pool, the continental breakfast.
Cons: The check in process, the lawn, pool area, wi-fi, door knobs and lock.
I was under the impression that it would be a lot closer to the beach. But that's not the case, you'd have to hike through some pretty rural area to get there. I loved the colonial style architecture style and decor of the buildings, but thought they weren't very well maintained. This is overall a decent accommodation. I would rate it a three star accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Paradise

Posted May 24, 2016
Loved our stay at Temple Tree and the feel of our room, estate house 5. Everything about the simple interior decor - high ceilings, lighting, arrangement of pillows - made the stay the perfect mix of down to earth and luxurious. The staff at both Tree Temple and Bon Ton were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Fantastic hotel. Staff was extremely friendly, the facilities were great, everything was simply picturesque. The only thing I would mention is that the internet wasn't always working in the room. Other than that, the experience was great and I would definitely stay again!