Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location facilities and The staff
Cons: eateries at the Marina
Best staff in the world! fantastic hotel overlooking beach, marina or the hills great breakfast from fresh salmon and champagne to Indian, Malay cuisine just finished our second stay and we will be back a 3!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Majestic and Awesome

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The stay is really majestic and very very awesome. My Wife and Daughter loves the hotel very much. Will want to make it an annual visit indeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Superb Langkawi hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We had a great stay at the Danna. The location, rooms, food and staff were first class and we look forward to returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was amazing

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel, I usually prefer a beach but this pool was just too good to resist. Lovely spa. Nice place to get away from it all and just relax. Very friendly and polite staff. Would go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and well maintained hotel.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The Danna Hotel is a beautiful , well maintaned and quiet hotel. No loud music at the pool area which is great! The staff is very friendly. This is a great place to relax and unwind. The restaurants have a good menu to choose from and delicious meals can be enjoyed in the various restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Very comfortable

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Charm, style and excellent service.
Cons: A more relaxed coffee shop or beach bar to offer a better alternative to the distinctly average facilities nearby at the Marina.
Excellent service from all the staff from the moment of arrival to departure. Nothing was too much trouble. Slight problem with noise from the building work but usually it did not disturb unless diggers were working close to the hotel. Generally it seemed that the noise was managed so as not to inconvenience the guests. Food in all restaurants was excellent and the service in Straits & Co worthy of special mention. We felt that the only thing lacking was a relaxed, casual beach bar/coffee shop to provide an alternative to the more formal, but excellent, facilities already in place. This is not a criticism, merely a suggestion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

A hotel that puts guests as it priority.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The customer service, the rooms, the facilities.
Cons: The beach. The sand was really nice and white but the seawater was not pleasant. There was a strange odour.
Location: Restaurants and bars just outside the hotel so you don't have to travel out for food if you do not wish to eat at the hotel.
The level of service provided and the personal touch that the hotel gives is unmatched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel situated in beatiful place

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, attractive outlook over the bay, nice spacious clean rooms
Cons: the managenent should consider ruling that items left on loungers will be removed after a certain period of time, could use security as a good reason
Lovely hotel overlooking beatiful bay / lagoon. Attractive and spacious rooms. The more expensive overlooking the sea. Our one had partial view of the small harbour (and carpark)! Very large balcony with day bed. Excellent breakfasts with good choice of food. Dinner in the evening very good but fairly pricey. Staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Only complaints: (1) having left our room before 8am to go to the beach and left the electronic door sign asking for room to be made up we returned the first day at 2pm to find the room had not been cleaned and the next day room not cleaned at 12pm and had to search for someone to do this. This is annoying when returning in order to shower and change; (2) having been asked at check in if we would like a paper and fresh milk each day for making coffee in the room these were not supplied until the second day when we had to made a special request in the afternoon. This is not the fault of the hotel but I would like to make this observation which I am sure happens on a daily basis - some guests regularly went to the beach each day just after 7.45am and left bags and books on loungers. They then left and returned 2 to 2 and a half hours later to use the loungers. Other guests arrived at the beach to find the loungers reserved but unused. Some extremely selfish guests!! probably not very much the hotel management can do to rectify this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything - the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in!
Cons: Space on the bill to enable gratuities to be added.
Location: If you want a quiet few days it's a great location - however evening activities are limited within easy reach of the hotel.
Lovely colonial architecture and styling. Wonderful staff who couldn't do enough for all their guests, bringing round complimentary treats throughout the day. The staff created a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, were really attentive and always smiling. The rooms are big and well serviced. The pool and the beach are both great places to relax, occasionally it seemed that there wasn't enough sun beds out but the staff would provide extra if required. The Danna provided plenty of beach towels and ice cold water, and food in all their restaurants was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Gorgeous hotel. Fantastic pool and near the beach!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, the food, the spa services, complimentary water, happy hour...the list goes on!
Cons: A couple of the staff couldn't speak English and so got our drinks orders wrong once or twice. But it was no real bother!
Location: Great location. skybridge and cable car are 5 minute drive away. You can take the hotel's bikes to cycle around to the marina and view the lighthouse.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff couldn't do enough for us. They went above and beyond in every area. The pool was very clean and large so it was never crowded. The beach was immaculate and beautifully peaceful. The complimentary water and iced drinks in the afternoon was a nice touch considering the hot climate. The food was excellent; I am on a very low sugar diet for medical reasons and the hotel produced the most varied and delicious food choices for me. I was stunned. We enjoyed the spa and its treatments; the happy hour prices made it very reasonable. My husband and I are definitely planning to return soon!