Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Paradise.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We couldn't fault the Datai. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute. We stayed in two rooms in the main part ot the hotel rather than one of the villas and would recommend these. Large, comfortable and very well appointed rooms ( only tiny criticism would be the lighting). This hotel really is in the rainforest and we spent a great deal of time observing the monkeys in the trees nearby and on our balcony. We loved every aspect of the hotel. The breakfasts were stunning- huge choice in the buffet as well as a la carte. The beach bar was great for lunches. Service was excellent . Staff were lovely. The little touches down by the beach bar- like continual replenishment of iced water, small slices of fresh fruit, ice creams in the afternoon and small shots of liquers later in the day, added to the luxurious but low key feel of the hotel. The hotel was busy but it didnt feel it and you never had any problem finding a beach lounger on the beach or nearby. With regards to eating in the evening, we especially enjoyed the Thai restaurant but all were good. We were more than happy to remain at the resort-only venturing out a couple of times but if you want to be central and go elsewhere to eat in the evenings, this might not be the place for you as it is located away from these areas. However, for us - staying with three teenaged children, it was a perfect holiday. Arnaud and his team should be very proud of their hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from マレーシア

熱帯雨林に囲まれた極上ホテル

Posted Jul 10, 2016
今まで泊まったホテルとは比較次元が違うホテル。リゾートを満喫できるだけじゃなく、食事やモーニングウォークなど、五感を全て満足させてくれる空間です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Working in KL

5 star Malaysian wildlife in 5 star idyll hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: For us, nothing was necessary. It was 5 star throughout
Location: Please see main comments.
Perfect peace and relaxation. Beautiful location, excellent staff, picture perfect beach, amidst truly natural Malaysian jungle. Keep an eye open for cheeky monkeys, they enjoy your room fruit and are not shy eating it. A lot of fun. The beach is perfect for long walks and the beach bar and pool area a great place to relax. Guided jungle and nature walks take place daily. For ease of movement and for those not so agile (main hotel down through to the beach area is a walk involving many steps through pristine jungle canopy) the hotel operates constant buggies as required. The only negative was that the restaurants, whilst excellent, had limited choice for younger children except room service. Food prices were a bit higher than normally expected, but excellent standard. Our second visit and it won't be the last. A completely different beach related experience. All staff are excellent and well trained, friendly and welcoming. Some refurbishment underway at present but never intrusive to the peace, quiet and ldyllic ambiance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful embeddedness in Nature, excellent beach!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Extraordinary breakfast buffet! Inserted in a tropical rainforest, surrounded by natural beauty, with an excellent clean beach.
Cons: Hotel's wooden structure needs maintenance. It is degraded by the sun, and looks worn out.
Location: Quite remote, but anything interesting in the island is 30min away.
Inserted in a tropical rainforest, surrounded by natural beauty, with an excellent beach. Nice food, extraordinary breakfast buffet (one of the best in some of the multiple top-scale properties I've been in Southeast Asia). However the hotel's wooden structure seems a little degraded (needs maintenance) and decoration is slightly above minimal. We were disappointed to find that it was the only property in Southeast Asia to barely recognize us as honeymooners (all other hotels upgraded our room, for instance, which was an incredible surprise, Datai didn't - and it was far from full).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

ジャングルの中のホテル

Posted Jun 17, 2016
いつ来てもリラックスできるホテルで満足している。ビーチサイドは一日中居ても飽きずに過ごせる。自然の中で心も体もリフレッシュできて最高です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

毎年訪れたい素敵なホテル。ビーチウェディングをしましたが、スタッフの皆さんの対応も素晴らしかったです

Posted Jun 16, 2016
毎年訪れたい素敵なホテル。ビーチウェディングをしましたが、スタッフの皆さんの対応も素晴らしかったです。日本人スタッフもいるので安心です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

何日でも滞在したい

Posted Jun 16, 2016
今回、ザ・ダタイ ランカウイでビーチウエディングを挙げました‼️ ホテルには日本人スタッフもいますが、全てのスタッフが日本人の拙い英語にも真剣に耳を傾けてくれ、理解してくれようと努力してくれます。 また、顔を覚えてくれて何処で会っても気さくに声をかけてくれます。 ビーチも貸切のようで最高です✨ ぜひ一度訪れてみて欲しいです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Warm hospitality, great service, wonderful

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, hospitality, every wish becomes true, easygoing
Location: Langkawi is a great island to explore or to only enjoy the leisure time at the hotel
It is one of the best hotels I have ever been, and I have seen a lot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

癒しの場

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: ロケーションとスタッフ
Cons: ビーチでのサービス
Location: マネージャー主催の品格高いカクテルパーティーなどがあっては如何かと思います。
熱帯雨林の中で心が癒され、よく教育されたスタッフの接客姿勢が良い。 ホテル内レストランの料理が質のわりにリーゾナブルとは言えないところがある。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

パーフェクトなホテルでした、もう次の滞在もここに

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: 朝食のセレクションが多いこと。食事がどこでも美味しいこと。自然に溢れていること。部屋のインテリアが良いこと。値段がお手頃なこと。スタッフの対応がすばらしこと。
Cons: 売店のセレクションを増やして、お土産物になるものをおいてもらいたい。
Location: のんびりするホテルなので、十分。
ホテルの周りの緑に囲まれた環境も、ビーチも、プールも、従業員の対応も、すべてのレストランの味も、お部屋の雰囲気も全て完璧でした。この前にフォーシーズンに泊まったのですが、高いわりに、がっかりだったので、ダタイがかなり割安に思えました。 もうフォーシーズンには泊まらないけど、ダタイにはまた必ず来たいです。どちらも楽しみにしていたけど、雲泥の差でした。