Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

magical holiday in the rainforest

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: location, hotel and room layouts, complete facilities in the room.
Cons: none
Location: we loved it so much we didn't leave the premise much:0)
we had a wonderful time at the Datai. it was our first time with the kids and they enjoyed it very much. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. The room and facilities were perfect. nothing to comment on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff and location

Posted May 26, 2017
The quality of staff and service and their attention to detail was striking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location to relax

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Nature, forest, wildlife, beach
Cons: The common areas could use some more maintenance, the dinning options are somehow limited if you are staying more than a few days.
Location: This place is far from the rest of Langkawi, it is OK to do daily excursions but the hotel is basically to relax and enjoy within its premises
The location is superb, it is surrounded by unspoiled forest. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are big and comfortable, however they could use some refurbishment. I stayed in a villa, for the price I would have expected to be a little bit more luxurious. Most of the staff is very good, however in the restaurants and pool area the staff is far from what a five star traveler would expect. This is clearly due to poor management decision and not because of any particular employee. They just seem to have decided to fill up all the positions there with trainees or unprofessional people to save costs. On the reception and guest services they have properly trained staff and they are very good. Overall the hotel could improve the above points but it makes it up with its unique location. I would recommend it and I will probably stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Perfect place for relaxation!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Stayed at datai for 5 days with the family in the canopy suites. The rooms were huge and perfect for us. As previous reviews state - beach is great...not crowded at all. The only minor downside is that there aren't many activities for kids...lucky for mine they met a school friend and kept themselves entertained...would go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful amid rain forest and beach

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Romantic setting. sensitive to nature. spacious rooms and baths. excellent food. very friendly staff.
Cons: Will be closed for renovation next September, for a year.
Location: Langkawi has kept itself for nature lovers so very few activities other than mangrove tour are there, but probably the batik shop and chocolate.
This facility is excellent destination for both honeymooners and families. Few resorts in the world can match it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great setting but very expensive

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The beach and the wildlife.
Cons: The restaurants and the prices.
The hotel was in beautiful grounds on a great beach. However our room was quite small and dark. As you are a long way from anything else you are obliged to use the hotel restaurants and they are very expensive for OK food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury and pampering = total relaxation

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing secluded setting made so special and enjoyable by the attentive staff. Rainforest villa offered great space and privacy - fantastic bathroom. Short stroll (or buggy ride if you're feeling lazy) to an idyllic beach where the only people to 'bother' you are the staff attending to your every need! Good choice of restaurants catering for different tastes. Overall a fantastic place to wind down for a few days
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic didn't want for anything. The best staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Best hotel we've been to. Being in the rainforest was the highlight for us, we loved it.. Breakfast was great, service and staff exceeded expectations, great food at the restaurants (dined at all four, highly recommend the thai and the beach club restaurants), the spa was the most beautiful we've seen(in a villa with the forest view)... We'll definitely go back :)