Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Unique Datai

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: We liked that it was situated in a rainforest, and that it had a pristine beach too. The hotel was unique in that way. The Datai is lovely!
Cons: The Datai could provide more dining choices, and also, more affordable excursions.
Location: The Datai is pretty secluded but do take advantage of the nature trails that are provided by the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay in The Datai. The resort is really lovely, and the service was good too. We loved that we had both the rainforest and the beach at our disposal. It was really refreshing to be surrounded by nature and we got to see monkeys, a colugo, giant squirrels, birds and butterflies during our stay. The beach was great too, with clear waters that made visible the fish swimming around us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Best hotel experience in years

Posted Aug 11, 2017
I travel for around 3 months each year and stay in a lot of five star hotels during my trips. The Datai Langkawi provided a very special experience indeed. From the amazing breakfast buffet, the landscaping, to the tours with the in-house naturalist, the Datai had it all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Comfortable and luxurious stay

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, spacious room, fantastic breakfast spread, security as outsiders are not allowed to enter
Cons: The swimming pool is very basic. Dining in the in-house restaurant is quite pricey.
Location: Hotel is far from the city centre, so can be difficult to drive out to the town centre at night. Good for privacy.
The staff were very friendly, hospitable and obliging. Many small and personal touches that made us feel welcome. The buffet breakfast was impressive with a lot of variety and the staff were very friendly. We dined in the in-house restaurant for dinner as we did not want to drive to the town centre in the dark, but the meal was quite pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

magical holiday in the rainforest

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: location, hotel and room layouts, complete facilities in the room.
Cons: none
Location: we loved it so much we didn't leave the premise much:0)
we had a wonderful time at the Datai. it was our first time with the kids and they enjoyed it very much. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. The room and facilities were perfect. nothing to comment on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff and location

Posted May 26, 2017
The quality of staff and service and their attention to detail was striking.
4 out of 5
by mohd faizal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location to relax

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Nature, forest, wildlife, beach
Cons: The common areas could use some more maintenance, the dinning options are somehow limited if you are staying more than a few days.
Location: This place is far from the rest of Langkawi, it is OK to do daily excursions but the hotel is basically to relax and enjoy within its premises
The location is superb, it is surrounded by unspoiled forest. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are big and comfortable, however they could use some refurbishment. I stayed in a villa, for the price I would have expected to be a little bit more luxurious. Most of the staff is very good, however in the restaurants and pool area the staff is far from what a five star traveler would expect. This is clearly due to poor management decision and not because of any particular employee. They just seem to have decided to fill up all the positions there with trainees or unprofessional people to save costs. On the reception and guest services they have properly trained staff and they are very good. Overall the hotel could improve the above points but it makes it up with its unique location. I would recommend it and I will probably stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Henry

The Datai

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
All in all our stay was great! We loved the environment as well as the facilities to our disposal. As some of the reviews said, the hotel is dated and is in need of revamping. Our room AC did not work properly and the mattress was worn out. Apart from this we enjoyed our stay and if the opportunity allows we will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Perfect place for relaxation!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Stayed at datai for 5 days with the family in the canopy suites. The rooms were huge and perfect for us. As previous reviews state - beach is great...not crowded at all. The only minor downside is that there aren't many activities for kids...lucky for mine they met a school friend and kept themselves entertained...would go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful amid rain forest and beach

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Romantic setting. sensitive to nature. spacious rooms and baths. excellent food. very friendly staff.
Cons: Will be closed for renovation next September, for a year.
Location: Langkawi has kept itself for nature lovers so very few activities other than mangrove tour are there, but probably the batik shop and chocolate.
This facility is excellent destination for both honeymooners and families. Few resorts in the world can match it.