Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Up your game shumba

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
At the price in comparison to the competition - shumba needs to up its game - broken pathways, shower did not work despite numerous complaints wifi very poor , towels were small and old only - breakfast was ok and dinner was good !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Lanseria Airport and new Lion Park

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was very quiet when we stayed, Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lodges were of a good size and clean. Breakfast was ok but not great, food was again average but cheap. Wifi was not brilliant dropped off regularly, although there were a lot of bad storms around during our stay. Would have been nice to have a hairdryer in the room, rare you will find a hotel room without one these days. First couple of days we had a great waiter, but when he was off the service was very poor, and the bar/restaurant was not busy, had to ask for a drink when sitting at a table. Pool water was very murky so did not venture in for a swim. Convenient for us as we were visiting Lanseria airport but quite remote and nothing around apart from driving somewhere not that you would walk anywhere anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Stayed for Business

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff were attentive.
Cons: A general spruce up of the facilities and the pool needs some attention to make it look cleaner and inviting
Location: The Lion and Safari park is a must do and great value for money, 15 minutes from Monte Casino.
On arrival the hotel did not know anything about my booking and the front desk lady was quite dismissive advising that the hotel is full. A quick call to Expedia resolved the issue and the hotel manager dealt with me from there who was very good. The room was comfortable but was quite dated. Internet in the rooms was sporadic at best, often not working for long periods of time. Other than that is was clean but basic. Staff were very attentive and always checking to make sure you were happy, unfortunately our last night there was different staff on duty and the hotel was busy, so the service levels took a dip. The pool was disappointing, The water was green and cloudy to the point you could not see the bottom. Not very appealing. Overall, It served a purpose but would consider my options for my next trip.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Cape Town

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable bed. Poor mobile phone reception and dinner buffet could have been warmer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Zola

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was relaxing and quiet. Just needs more activities, "A Spa in the premises would be awesome"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the facility is great but they could work on it,

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
The shower was very dissappointing it spilled water into the entire bathroom. water supply was eratic; they would suddenly close water. the TV channels were not operational not tuned in properly we requested but not helped. Wifi was not offered we even forgot free wifi, so not sure if there is any. service was poor we requested ice and were told they don't have any, they hotel was actually empty, my conclusion was they just didin't want to offer
2 out of 5
by andile from kzn

4 star staying?

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great facilities, helpful receptionist. Bar tender:extremely poor at making drinks on the menu and need to go for training urgently. Male elderly cook passes racist comments during breakfast which was insulting. Waiters also don't do justice to the facility and also need to go for training ( receiving the incorrect breakfast request and getting "im sorry"just isn't 4 star service. Light in room 119 were faulty, reported and never fixed. Else facilities are great, pity the service was not up to standard.
3 out of 5
by Palesa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jenny from Everton, KZN

Disappointing

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely venue with loads of potential. Staff are willing and friendly. However, they ran out of coffee at breakfast?? Horrors and dinner took over an hour to be served. We were a biggish group but the hotel was far from full and lets face it we were booked in so they should of had an idea of what was required.