Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

We will not stay here again

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: It was a place to stay.
Cons: Pest control
Location: It is within walking distance of MSU.
We reserved rooms for two nights at this hotel. Upon our arrival, the keys did not work. The staff did resolve this issue. Next, the tv remote control did not work. The staff resolved this issue. The final disappointment was that my relatives had to change rooms twice because of 1) a broken closet door and 2) BEDBUGS and STINKBUGS were found in the room. We will not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago,il

Shabby shack hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Cons: They need to maintain the up keep in the rooms and outside area.
Location: This hotel is close to south campus and access to walk to downtown.
The room we were in needed was in need of maintenance. The bathroom light was open in the ceiling and wallpaper was half taken down and painted over in those areas. The tiles and tub are in great need of regrouting and caulk. The bed was well warn and the outside buildings could use a good cleaning. It's so unfortunate that this hotel was I this shape due to such a great concept of a kitchen, living room and bed area. It would have been a nice family place to stay when we go to visit MSU.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
There was rice in the couch and holes in the carpet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sykesville, MD

Very nice place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Clean and great layout of room
Cons: Not such mushy mattress and more comfortable sofa
Location: Close to restaurants and stores
Room was great - only complaint was bed was a lot softer than I prefer but others may like that. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Location was perfect for us. Close to lots of restaurants and stores. We were only staying one night but would be a great place to stay multiple days with kitchenette.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
the room environment is good but the room card always doesn't work. it drives me crazy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Air conditioning, timely maintenance, front desk people who know what they are talking about, food at breakfast.
It was a warm day but when we arrived the heat was turned on full as if it was 0 degrees out. The air conditioning didn't work very well and it was about 5am until the room cooled and we could sleep comfortably. We spoke with the front desk when we first arrived and we were told a maitainence person would come at 9am the next day. They also said they would provide a discount but when we left two days later no one was able to tell us what that discount would be if one had been applied due to their need to contact Expedia. The provided breakfast looked horrible so we bought a breakfast locally instead of eating this so called free breakfast. Lighting in the room was very poor. We will have a daughter going to college at MSU this fall so we wanted to check this hotel out for our frequent stays over the next 4 years. I'll be checking this hotel off my list.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Had a fridge and large room.
Cons: Facilities needed maintained and cleaned. Lots of room for improvement!
Room was not clean. Hotel was run down and not well maintained. Bike in fitness room was broken and laundry room was out of order. Room was dirty. We found long hairs on floor and on pillows. Breakfast was out of many items when we arrived and it was not replenished. Food was not fresh and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Excellent staff. Room with good space and comfortable. Safe and quite neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old beds. Mold in bathrooms

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Very disappointing. Lots of mold and mildew. Old rundown place. This is not the 4 star hotel as advertised. I would put it at most of a 2 star
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MISSOURI

BAD STAY

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: PROVIDE SERVICE TO GUESTS ON WEEKENDS.
Location: MSU
I HAVE STAYED HERE SEVERAL TIMES, MANAGEMENT HAS CHANGED. THEY WILL NOT MAKE BEDS OR GIVE ANY SERVICE TO ROOMS ON WEEKENDS. I AM EMBARASSED BECAUSE I RECOMMENDED THIS PLACE TO FRIENDS AND ALL WERE TREATED THE SAME. THE BREAKFAST HAS DETERIOATED SINCE OWNERSHIP HAS CHANGED.