Ratings based on 661 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

We will not stay here again

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: It was a place to stay.
Cons: Pest control
Location: It is within walking distance of MSU.
We reserved rooms for two nights at this hotel. Upon our arrival, the keys did not work. The staff did resolve this issue. Next, the tv remote control did not work. The staff resolved this issue. The final disappointment was that my relatives had to change rooms twice because of 1) a broken closet door and 2) BEDBUGS and STINKBUGS were found in the room. We will not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, walking distance to MSU. The set up of the room was fantastic, unfortunately, the room was old, run down, close to grimy. The staff was OUTSTANDING!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
There were bugs everywhere, and a loud scratching noise coming from the kitchen area, which sounded like mice. The beds were barely usable they were so droopy and squeaky. There was zero chance my son or I would be able to sleep in that filth. Unfortunately we arrived late at night after a long drive, and then had to go back out at 11:30 pm and look for another hotel which was not completely disgusting. For your reference the Holiday Inn we ended up at seemed like a 5-star hotel compared to the uninhabitable room at the Gatehouse Suites. The desk clerk did not refund my money.
4 out of 5
by Colleen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David N.

Excellent 3-day stay

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Orbitz
Roomy suites with complete kitchen facilities, conveniently located and well maintained. The double bed was comfortable but a queen would have been better. Fortunately, we didn´t need to use the attractive fireplace although the furnace was necessary and worked well. The breakfast included: breakfast sandwiches and burritos, juice and fruits, bagels + cream cheese, waffles, cereals + yoghurt and of course, coffee, all in a pleasant dining room.
1 out of 5
by 4Shoes

MSU Homecoming Weekend

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Orbitz
WARNING!!! We will never go back to this hotel again. We were issued a parking ticket for parking in the hotel parking lot and we arrived minutes before a tow truck was going to hookup our car and bring it to the impound lot. We were at the front desk trying to find out why we received a ticket and the employee that was working told us our car did not have a parking pass. We were never issued a parking pass, and she continued to tell us that everyone that checks in gets one. Well we did not, along with multiple others that were guest there. Unfortunately their cars were towed and they had to pay to get them out of impound, which cost a hefty price, and pay the parking ticket fee. We asked to speak to a manager and were told that they did not work weekends and that we would have to call them on Monday. Later that evening we received a call from the front desk telling us that the manager would be bringing a pre-paid check card to pay for our ticket. We asked that we speak to them when they arrived and we were told that should not be a problem. Well needless to say we never heard from or saw the manager. The college kids that work the front desk (those that never issued us a parking pass) called and told us that we could come down and get the check card. We will be fighting this ticket in front of a judge because we were never at fault. Just hope that those who had their cars impounded will do the same. Oh and the room that we stayed in was dirty. The carpet looked like it had never been vacuumed, the windows had smashed bug guts on them, and when the maid came to clean our room they didn't make the bed, they just pulled the sheets and blankets up over the pillows.
5 out of 5
by Hans from Chicago

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Just a stop over to see some customers at MSU
4 out of 5
by Sandra from Rochester Hills, Mi

Football fun

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
overall our stay was good
5 out of 5
by Dianne W.

Visiting college family member

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Orbitz
Pleasant Perfect location Great continental breakfast