Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

1.3 out of 5
4% of guests recommend
1.5 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
1.6 Room comfort
1.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunfield, Michigan

Stay Away- Homeless Shelter

Posted Jun 5, 2016
This "hotel" is an actual homeless shelter. I did check in and looked at the room. I checked out 30 minutes later.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Petoskey, MI

wouldn't recommend this place

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing really, except for its location was convenient
Cons: It needs a complete overhaul
Location: Conveniently located, we were only there for a youth volleyball tournament
I wasn't expecting much as it only received a 1.5 star out of 5 (everything in the Lansing area was booked) and the price was cheap - $60. The parking lot and whole building were dark, all the cars outside were in bad shape and filled with stuff. When I walked in, it was clear that they rent a lot of rooms out by the month. There were piles of toys and clothing everywhere (apparently, they were taking donations for homeless shelters - which is a good cause, but the stuff was EVERYWHERE...). This definitely had the look and feel of a boarding place just a step above a homeless shelter. The elevator was filled with stale smoke odor, as was the hallway and our room. It didn't look like the floor had been vacuumed whatsoever, the lamp shades were all cracked, huge chunks of tiles were missing out of the shower. Our family has stayed at a LOT of hotels over the years, and we all agreed that this was definitely the worst one we have ever stayed at. Our 12 year old slept on a towel on top of her sheets (and even the towel was stained pretty bad) and would not get out of her clothes. The next morning, there was barely a trickle of water out of the shower head and it was lukewarm at best. We could not wait to get out of there...If the place is going to be for people down on their luck or trying to better themselves by staying off the street, then that is great. But it should not be offered to the general public as a hotel for overnight transient guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Don't ever stay at the "Magnuslum"

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: The bed bugs were at least entertaining to kill.
Cons: We don't need no water let the MF'er burn!
Location: Somewhat close to Michigan State's campus, which is why I booked, but I guess it's on the wrong side of Hwy 127.
I was just looking to find a place to sleep for the night. While it was cheap, I did not expect to find my room at the Lansing Magnuson infested with fleas and bed bugs. After I killed several fleas, I was horrified to find an army of bed bugs mounting an attack as I tried to lay down to sleep. I had never come across a real bed bug before, but they were fun to kill. They kind of pop under your fingernail, with their blood (or should I say, the blood of their former victims) splattering all over the sheets. Fortunately, the sheets and pillow cases were already filthy when I got to my room, so I don't think I'll get charged. I was so paranoid about getting attacked by blood sucking insects I couldn't fall asleep. I thought about going out to my car to get some better rest and peace of mind, but it was already 3:30 by the time I had given up a losing fight against the bed bugs and I had to be up by 8:00 the next morning. I did enjoy the bathroom. While it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years, the toilet paper almost seemed as if it hadn't been used before, and I did not spot any bugs. I booked this room on Expedia. I will never use Expedia again for including this parasite feeding ground on their website.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
The mattress were not clean. I can smell the smoke even my room was non smoke room. People yelling and shouting after midnight that we didn't have good sleep, me and my family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Aweful!

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down and rebuild
Room was the worst room we have ever seen. The air conditioner was duck taped in the wall, the floor was dirty and had food all over it - the microwave had dried food inside - the bed only had one sheet covering the mattress and then the comforter (which was the original from the 60's, which I do not think was ever washed)- there were candy wrappers on the table - their were stains on the chairs - the table top was loose and almost fell off. The receptionist told us that there was a problem with the key machine so we could not get keys to our room, they would have to let us in with the master (but someone was on the way to fix it- after reading other reviews, sounds like it has not worked for months). Would never stay here or recommend anyone to stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Omg run

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Tear it down and start over
Location: Good location to the stadium
Worst hotel ever, scary very scary. We tried to check in room wasn't ready we went to the Oregon / Michigan state game. After we got there at 1 am after game went to our room and someone was in there sleeping. We were assigned another room , it was flilthy soap had been used not is wrapper and it so smelly we slept on our own blankets and left first thing in the morning. NEVER STAY HERE,,,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Tear it down and start over!
Location: Other hotels, shopping and restaurants. The hotel had nothing.
This hotel is more of a half-way house than a hotel. The facility is a total crap and dirty. Room key system didn't work so you needed a hotel staff person to open your room each time. Second night arrived back very late and room had not even been made-up or cleaned. I can't believe that Expedia has a relationship with this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass.

Welfare hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
A dump! Welfare hotel. Broken windows , no A/C. Campfire BBQ in parking lot. Stay away!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel wouldn't be ok if you were homeless!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There were hotels, stores and restaurants nearby.
Just driving up to this hotel was foreboding. It looked like one of the buildings that the Evans family stayed in on "Good times". There were kids running through the lobby. Old furniture in vacant rooms. The whole place was filthy. I'm wondering why Expedia would have even had this hotel on their website. They had listed it as a special buy so once we were booked we couldn't cancel or get our money back. We swallowed the cost and found someplace else to stay. I usually use expedia and have had good bookings with them but because of this I may not use them again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

I found the Magnuson hotel to be a horrible place.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
The Magnuson Hotel is not suitable for traveling guest. It was not clean, smelled bad and needed several repairs throughout the facility. I was very disappointed.