Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and Rundown!

Posted Apr 22, 2018
A few improvements had been made, bathroom and bathroom counter. The rest of the room was out of the 80s. The door lock was broken and the heating unit was also!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and giving honest feedback. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had with your stay. I will be sharing your comments with my staff to see what we can do to make sure none of our future guests feel the hotel is out dated while staying here. Again thank you for your feedback its very appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Nice, asic inexpensive hotel. We just needed a clean bed, so it was fine. The staff was really great and helpful to an older couple asking for directions. If you just need a place to sleep that isn't costly this is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and the staff were able to help you as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst hotels

Posted Apr 8, 2018
There was blood on head board sheets were dirty noisy beds are hard as cement dirty floors
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconveniences with your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your feedback as well and will be sharing it with our staff. So these problems will not happen again for our future guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, mb

Worked well

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Good location. Close to highway. Nice city to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us,. I am glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting Lansing, MI. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Mar 28, 2018
No breakfast. Room was ok for the price. There are lots of restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Fair price for this hotel. Staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank your for your feedback on your stay. We appreciate it very much. Hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay the extra elsewhere

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Heavy weed smell. Just awful. Wont stay again. Only trashy fools smoke dope in a hotel. Knowing you're gonna pay through the nose to clean it. Except they dont clean it. Owners must pocket the money and say screw it! Other unknowingly people will stay. Refuse refund. But this customer will pay triple what i paid for this room at The Hampton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback! I'm very sorry to hear you had a bad experience at check in for the problems that occurred once you were in your room. I will be sure to review your comments with my staff in an effort to improve the experienced for our future guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2018
The hotel room had stained beds and smelled like cigarettes
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I do apologize for the inconveniences you had with your stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us while you visited Lansing, MI.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good place to stay more than one night

Posted Mar 11, 2018
very bad in amenities.not a good place to stay more than one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the any inconveniences with your stay. We will make sure to take your feedback into consideration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niles MI

OK hotel but not near MSU

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Pros: Price was good and I was able to book it the same day as I stayed there.
Cons: There should be a hair dryer in the room or be told that at check in so I could have asked for one then.
Location: Location was not near MSU even tho it says MSU in the name. MSU is on the east side of Lansing and this hotel was on the West side.
Room was small and was missing amenities. No hair dryer or small refrigerator to store food from vehicle. Good price but lacking much else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had. I also apologize that we did not inform you at check in that we do have rooms with microwave, fridges, and blow-dryers in the room. They are our deluxe and superior rooms. I will make sure to talk to my staff to make sure guest our more inform in the future. Thank you for staying with us while you visited Lansing, MI