Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Fair Not too good not too bad. Service was OK. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This place had a terrible smoke odor, it's terribly out dated! Expedia quotedme one price during booking and I was charged more when checking out. I was better off walking in off the streets. Because I booked through Expedia I wasn't able to get a refund and go to another motel. Never again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Overnight stop while driving across the country.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Handy to highway. Clean
Cons: Nothing
Great staff, accommodated ground floor request by upgrading to a king room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to get you on the ground floor as you needed. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yuma, Arizona

Old smelly run down hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: To their credit, the sheets smelled clean
Cons: This is a hotel that seriously needs updating & hiring a desk clerk without attitude
Location: Located in Grand Rapids, Michigan
Booked this hotel on line. It was an old hotel that was run-down & smelled like wet dogs. We had already booked & paid or we would have left. For the same price, we had stayed other nights in nice hotels with breakfast included. Not Red Roof - donuts & coffee. We'd couldn't wait to leave the next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good pick

Posted Jul 2, 2017
This is a great value pick, as the room was comfortable and updated. The beds were very nice and we all slept great. A lot of people were smoking outside our room, so I would prefer a no smoking policy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by General Manager of Red Roof Inn Lansing West, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy you had a comfortable stay with us. I do apologize for the other guest smoking outside your room, and will take inconsideration on a smoking policy for guest smoking right outside of the rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The stay was nice but the room was a little small

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Enjoyed the stay no bed bugs everything else was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your liking. We hope to see you soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 night stay was two too many!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service
Location: Good location, lots of better hotels to stay at instead of Red Roof Inn!!!
We prepaid for a 2 night stay through Expedia. The room smelled like smoke. There were stains on the pillow cases and hair on the sheets. After the first night we left at 8 am and returned at 11 pm to find our room had not been cleaned. Everything was as we left it in the morning. Beds not made, dirty towels in the tub, not vacuumed, no coffee, dirty sink, dirty toilet, etc. I went to the front desk and told the attendant, she apologized and gave me fresh towels and then asked if I wanted sheets to change the beds myself! Are you kidding? You'd think she'd offer to change them herself. At checkout I told a different person at the desk and they apologized again and said they would inform the manager. She offered me a coupon for 15% off my next stay at any Red Roof Inn which I will never use because I won't go back to a Red Roof Inn ever. No frills Inn, no refrigerator, no microwave, no breakfast, no coffee in the room, AND NO MAID SERVICE!!!!!!!! They say "you get what you pay for", well here you don't even get that!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Michigan

Best price in Lansing, but surprisingly good

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Cons: for the price, really, nothing. More amenities, sure, but excellent value as-is.
Location: a block from the interstate ramp. Do not miss Horrock's (pretty much next door - walk to it). Mall, entertainment and restaurants just up the road.
We just needed a place to sleep for a couple of nights, nothing fancy, and this was the cheapest option so we weren't expecting much. However, the room was clean, staff was great, the place was well-kept - you could tell it was old, but nothing looked worn out or even very used. For the Expedia price, we were very pleased, and have stayed at worse places for twice the money. As for negative, the beds were small (our room choice, though) and it is a little tricky to get in and out (very busy road, small entrance right by an intersection). For all the options in Lansing, we would stay here again in a second.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of your feed back. I am glad to see you found the hotels location was to your convenience as well as our affordable price. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting Lansing, MI. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
by Shalecia

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok for the price. The road has many potholes around the hotel so Ben careful driving. Check in was easy. The front desk girl called to make sure everything was to our liking. The hotel itself was just ok. Nothing special. The bathroom door did not close all the way but it wasn't too bad. Overall ok for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I want to apologize for the potholes. I would like you to know as well is that we are starting the process of getting them all fixed. Also thank you so much for the kind words about the front desk staff. I will be making sure I sure this with them. We appreciate your stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metro Detroit, MI

overall not a bad place

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: clean and newer updates
Cons: smell of room - ensure proper door handles and locks are working properly
Location: doesnt apply to my stay.
front desk staff was super friendly. lighting in the parking area was not wonderful. door lock didn't function well, had a stale smell. overall not a bad stay for a night. Fridge or iron would have been beneficial.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. I do apologize that you didn't enjoy your say with us. I will be taking your suggestions in consideration. Also would like you to know that we are going through updates in the next year. We do hope you come back so we can make it up to you for this stay.