Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
21% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elm Grove, WI

Real cheap hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Close to MSU campus
Cons: The list is endless
Location: very close to MSU campus and you can get almost every thing with in walking distance
As you enter you get a feeling this is a cheap hotel and they didn't disappoint me. The whole building is very old and not been updated. The doors were old and would not close properly, the light fixtures and TV were old. Most channels on the TV was grainy and reminded me of the olden days of analog channels. The complimentary breakfast is a joke. There is no water bottle or coffee in the room. If you are looking for a place to crash for the night then go for it unless you have no other options
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

Very old and dirty

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The cleanliness of this hotel was pretty bad. Showers were full of black mold and the "clean" towels in our room were dirty. I expected all of this from a low-end hotel like this, but it was way over priced for what it was despite being homecoming weekend for MSU.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over-priced Dump!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Room was disgusting. Luckily we only stayed one night. Don't really need to say more. And over-priced (payed $133) and it wasn't worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for budget hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Budget and nearby MSU, parking is easy, location is good in grand river street, nice staff, old hotel, but cheap
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Lafayette, Ohio

It's a dump period!!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild
Location: Location was close to Michigan State University which is why I booked there.
The staff was nice. The location within walking distance to MSU. THE room and hotel was run down. The room was pathetic. Went to the MSU game got back late slept 4 hours and couldn't get out of the place fast enough. Will never go back. I will pay more and stay someplace else next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Bathroom smelled, new tube is needed, broken hair dryer, some light switches did not work, room did not have a coffee pot, cable was poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern VA

Close to campus

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Exterior is dated and in disrepair. Rooms are dark, carpet, curtains, furniture all old and worn. Rooms smell and bathrooms are disgusting. Only room in the area below $140/night so choose wisely.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Lansing

Disgusting place.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The pillows are limp, hair was all over the "clean" towels and bathroom floor, the showers took forever to heat up, the bed sheets were scratchy, and we found the largest spider I've ever seen in one of the beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ishpeming, MI


Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel was disgusting. We ended up leaving 5 minutes after we got in to the room. The bathroom was practically rotting, and one of the beds did not have a top sheet and was missing a pillow case. They refused to give me a refund.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Lansing, Michigan

Worst place I have ever stayed

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: There was nothing I liked about this hotel.
Cons: A complete overhaul of the room would be the only thing that might help
Location: The hotel was about a mile east of the university campus on a major street. There were some nice restaurants near by and some typical strip mall shop
I would tell anyone who asks me not to stay at this hotel. My stay was in July and the temperature was in the 80s during my stay. The room was warm when I first checked in so I turned the air on high and made sure the window curtains were closed. I went away for a couple of hours and when I returned expected the room to have cooled down, but on entering the room I noticed that the room was warmer than the outside temperature, for the 3 days of my stay the only time the room was cool was when I turned the air to fan only and opened the door to the outside for several hours. That was the first problem I had with my room, the second was the look of the bathroom, the tub at first glanced appeared to be filthy but on closer inspection you could see where it had been painted and the original pink was showing through. When I attempted to take a shower nothing came out of the shower head and the drain was so slow that by the time I finished washing the water was over a foot deep.