Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Quiet no frills resort comfortable and clean

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros We had a nice quiet stay ,the room was clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant nice it is a hotel where locals from Hong Kong go to get away from the city, close to public transport both busses and ferries Staff helpful and pleasant.Cons 500mtr walk with luggage from taxi drop off to front door,no elevators, no assistance with luggage up the stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Hotel good for spend one night

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: In front of the beach
Cons: Hotel must be refurbished immediately
Location: Location is great and you can make trekking thru a wonderful trail
We used this hotel just for spend a night as stopover since it is located in Lantau Island, where the HKIA is located. It has a nice beach in front of the hotel and you can walk in a nice trail over the mountains. Unfortunately , a typhoon hit two days earlier upon our arrival and it was so dirty outside and inside the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Mainland Tour Group Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: -Bug free -Location
Location: -Hiking -Beach -Waterfall hike
-1950 style control panel for lights and TV -"Gym" is carpeted and doubles as a child's play area, its more like a storage room -"Sauna" smelled of urine -Rooms are not as pictured from travel sites -Wifi is extra $HKD per day! -Breakfast is not included -Overall its overpriced and wouldn't stay there again. It's mostly for Mainland tour groups, this is very apparent as most of the staff's mother tongue is Mandarin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

satisfactory hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Dingy, stuffy, satisfactory for the price range.
Cons: Improve cleanliness.
Location: Beach was closed. Pool at hotel was closed.
I selected this hotel because it was next to the beach, advertised that it had a pool, and that it had a fitness center for exercise. When we got there the beach was closed for 6 months because of construction work nearby. The hotel pool was also closed, without any explanation. The hotel had what they called a fitness center consisting of only a Treadmill, which I used.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a lovely view, food was good, staff friendly

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach, clean rooms.
Cons: I'm a vegetarian and ordered a vegetable dish, only to find bits of pork all over it. But that's fairly common in Hong Kong - I could made it clearer.
I stayed two nights here and was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and obliging. Also right by the beach and a short walking distance to the ferry pier. Definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

Ok hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The only downfall is no wifi in the room... It is a bit pricey though.. But it was fine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Improve toilet flushing water system

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Toilet flushing system inside the room need to be improved. Flushing water is very weak. Otherwise, all is OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Great sanctuary after a running trail event.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, staff was ok, room was emaculate, near the race start
Cons: Price could be more affordable - we had no choice as two ladies running a trail race, we could not afford to go back to HK island after a tiring race.
Location: Trail running!!! Lantau is a trail running haven.
I was happy it was close by. The staff was able to communicate and that is a plus. The environment is like any resort - very quiet but nothing much else. Would have appreciated elevator even though it is only 3 floors but there is sufficient room to install an elevator especially to carry heavy luggage. Even though I have no real complains, if I had a choice I would not picked this hotel again due to the price. I don't think it is value for money. But I guess with the race event so close by, they banked in on the increase in demand and low supply of accomodations on Mui Wo. But I don't think this is good business - this is just cutthroat. Price was more than hotel prices in HK island. Price per night is HKD1240 - don't you think this is excessive???
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Modest beach hotel; poor choice for airport hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Mostly the setting and view; not much else.
Cons: Ambience, staff helpfulness, food quality & access should be improved (taxis have to drop you off more than a block away-in a nearby alleyway).
Location: Oceanside/outdoor activities. For us, it was an overnight layover hotel, so no opportunity to assess any of these items.
We booked this hotel for an overnight layover between flights, relying on your information that it was only ~5km from the hotel. Perhaps that's true as the crow flies, but it turns out to be an approx. 20 km/30 minute ride over some twisty and rugged terrain, negating much of the value compared to the "real" airport hotels. (I strongly suggest you correct that very misleading error.) Further on the negative side, the hotel and its facilities were quite basic, and the staff, while friendly, were not very helpful: for example they apologized for the non-existent or broken elevator, but made no attempt to offer any help lugging suitcases up the stairs. Food in the connected restaurant, especially breakfast, was below par, both in the "absolute" and certainly in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in over the last 3 weeks in Asia. So maybe not too bad for the price, but overall disappointing. On the positive side, the oceanside setting and view were very nice, and someone coming to enjoy the water and the outdoors might find the property more appealing than we did. (We had no time to evaluate the hotel's recreation facilities, so I can't comment on them.)