Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Mainland Tour Group Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: -Bug free -Location
Location: -Hiking -Beach -Waterfall hike
-1950 style control panel for lights and TV -"Gym" is carpeted and doubles as a child's play area, its more like a storage room -"Sauna" smelled of urine -Rooms are not as pictured from travel sites -Wifi is extra $HKD per day! -Breakfast is not included -Overall its overpriced and wouldn't stay there again. It's mostly for Mainland tour groups, this is very apparent as most of the staff's mother tongue is Mandarin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

satisfactory hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Dingy, stuffy, satisfactory for the price range.
Cons: Improve cleanliness.
Location: Beach was closed. Pool at hotel was closed.
I selected this hotel because it was next to the beach, advertised that it had a pool, and that it had a fitness center for exercise. When we got there the beach was closed for 6 months because of construction work nearby. The hotel pool was also closed, without any explanation. The hotel had what they called a fitness center consisting of only a Treadmill, which I used.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a lovely view, food was good, staff friendly

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach, clean rooms.
Cons: I'm a vegetarian and ordered a vegetable dish, only to find bits of pork all over it. But that's fairly common in Hong Kong - I could made it clearer.
I stayed two nights here and was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and obliging. Also right by the beach and a short walking distance to the ferry pier. Definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

Ok hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The only downfall is no wifi in the room... It is a bit pricey though.. But it was fine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Improve toilet flushing water system

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Toilet flushing system inside the room need to be improved. Flushing water is very weak. Otherwise, all is OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Great sanctuary after a running trail event.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, staff was ok, room was emaculate, near the race start
Cons: Price could be more affordable - we had no choice as two ladies running a trail race, we could not afford to go back to HK island after a tiring race.
Location: Trail running!!! Lantau is a trail running haven.
I was happy it was close by. The staff was able to communicate and that is a plus. The environment is like any resort - very quiet but nothing much else. Would have appreciated elevator even though it is only 3 floors but there is sufficient room to install an elevator especially to carry heavy luggage. Even though I have no real complains, if I had a choice I would not picked this hotel again due to the price. I don't think it is value for money. But I guess with the race event so close by, they banked in on the increase in demand and low supply of accomodations on Mui Wo. But I don't think this is good business - this is just cutthroat. Price was more than hotel prices in HK island. Price per night is HKD1240 - don't you think this is excessive???
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Modest beach hotel; poor choice for airport hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Mostly the setting and view; not much else.
Cons: Ambience, staff helpfulness, food quality & access should be improved (taxis have to drop you off more than a block away-in a nearby alleyway).
Location: Oceanside/outdoor activities. For us, it was an overnight layover hotel, so no opportunity to assess any of these items.
We booked this hotel for an overnight layover between flights, relying on your information that it was only ~5km from the hotel. Perhaps that's true as the crow flies, but it turns out to be an approx. 20 km/30 minute ride over some twisty and rugged terrain, negating much of the value compared to the "real" airport hotels. (I strongly suggest you correct that very misleading error.) Further on the negative side, the hotel and its facilities were quite basic, and the staff, while friendly, were not very helpful: for example they apologized for the non-existent or broken elevator, but made no attempt to offer any help lugging suitcases up the stairs. Food in the connected restaurant, especially breakfast, was below par, both in the "absolute" and certainly in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in over the last 3 weeks in Asia. So maybe not too bad for the price, but overall disappointing. On the positive side, the oceanside setting and view were very nice, and someone coming to enjoy the water and the outdoors might find the property more appealing than we did. (We had no time to evaluate the hotel's recreation facilities, so I can't comment on them.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Not recommend

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I will not recommend this hotel unless you don't have any choice. Early morning shift desk Clark (man) was so rude. There's no Service/help available after midnight. Better book another hotel 5 miles far cheaper and much better. Beds are not comfortable, over charge for breakfast. Better walk 5 minutes and eat at Mc Donald for better and cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macau

Nice Hotel on the Beach.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, and view.
Cons: NA
Location: Seafood, hiking, dining, beach activities.
I've been returning to the Silvermine Beach Hotel for the greater part of the last decade, and it keeps improving. First of all, the location is superb. The hotel sits right on the beach, has a nice indoor/outdoor restaurant, nice sea views, and is within walking distance of good hiking up the mountains towards Discovery Bay or the other way, into town for dining, shopping, or access to the ferry which goes to Central Hong Kong. The rooms are adequate, with comfortable bed, but Spartan mini bar or snacks in the room (meaning, nothing is in the fridge). The restaurants nearby include local seafood. The hotel also has a modest gym and spa, and I availed myself of the massage service in the spa, which helped relieve a stiff neck, but the price is rather high in the spa. Also, the hotel is not more than a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport, which is accessed via a winding mountain road.