Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorks

Friendly family hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, rooms, pool area, position and good food.
Cons: Not really.
Location: Set in the small ullage Puerto Calero. Peaceful and calm. Hotel provide courtesy bus to the bustling tourist town of Puerto Carmen. Great cliff walks
A super week at Hotel Costa Calero. Caters for all types. Large but very peaceful. Set close to the Puerto Calero marina with good bars, restos and shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Beautiful hotel of long lost glory

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The beauty of this hotel lies in the intermingling of nature and buildings, with vegetation literally growing inside the building!
Cons: The general keeping of the buildings no longer reflects its evident past glory. Also, the walls between the rooms provide no privacy whatsoever.
Location: The location is good for eating out and moving around.
My overall experience was ok. The hotel was generally not bad, but it made me realise that large hotels offering all-inclusive packages are not for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel with Personal Touch

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Facilities and personal Touch
Cons: More modern variety entertainment at night.
Meals excellent, rooms comfortable and clean and spaceous. Was my wife's birthday and without prompting we returned to find a bottle of bubbly and fruit - superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great quiet hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Really enjoyed our pre-Xmas week at Costa Calero. Spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Liked the fact that, though large, hotel is spread out and always felt quiet. We had B and B only and breakfast excellent. Enjoyed meals out at the marina. Facilities very good indeed. Our 4 year old also loved the mini-club when we discovered it and the staff were super there. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Costa Calero and will definitely be back. The only downside from a customer services perspective was when the courtesy bus to Puerto del Carme left before the appointed time leaving 7 hotel guests (including me, my wife and son) to find alternative transport. To my surprise the receptionist reviewed cctv and claimed that the driver had left on time despite all 7 of us knowing that it didn't. A little odd. Didn't spoil our holiday though....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star resort

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a large resort. We arrived to check in at 2pm as per hotels.com however our room was not ready for another half hour so we explored the hotel. When we went back it still was not ready and we continued waiting. In the end we waited for 1 hour for a room when reception could have told us to come back at 3pm from the beginning. The service at this resort was not 4 stars. They were not helpful even when we asked about the spa offers they told us they did not know anything and to go to the spa centre. Our room was about 10 minutes walk from the reception/entrance. The room was comfortable. However it was noisy and every morning we could hear the room above us moving around. Wi-Fi was good and parking was easy around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

Good hotel in a nice town, with a few niggles

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel is huge, with great swimming pools (including on large salt-water pool), friendly and helpful staff and the rooms are pretty good. Puerto Calero is a small town, with nothing much of note other than the marina, a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It has shops, bars and excellent restaurants. There's a water bus to the nearby larger town of Puerto del Carmen (which you can also walk to or get the free bus from the hotel), a tourist submarine which takes you down into the sea to view shipwrecks and fish, and my personal favourite: Buggies Lanzarote, which is a guided buggy tour of the island.
Cons: There's a few niggles with the hotel. Nothing too serious, but worth mentioning: There's no bottled water in the room unless you order it in advance (Lanzarote tap water is safe to drink, but tastes pretty unpleasantly chemical). Much better to head down to the supermarket at the Marina which sell bottles of water at a fraction of the price of the hotels. There's a safe in the rooms, but it's turned off unless you pay extra for it, which seems pretty stingy (I didn't find out how much it costs). All of the restaurants are buffets, and if you're not all-inclusive, the prices are pretty steep. Luckily the restaurants at the marina (a 5 minute walk away) are excellent and very reasonable). The only beer on offer in the hotel is "Tropical", which is pretty awful (it tastes like it's made from the tap water). I'd guess since most guests are all-inclusive they've picked the cheapest beer they can find, but it'd be nice to have an option to pay for something better.
Location: I described it in an earlier section since you only get 150 characters in this section!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Even better the second time around.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Great facilities and really great staff.
Location: The hotel has great entertainment every day and evening. The beautiful harbour has great shops, bars and restaurants.
We stayed at the hotel about years years ago. It was great then and, to our great delight, it is still a great hotel with a great staff and facilities. Located within walking distance of Costa Colero harbour you will find all you want for your holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Fantastic Hotel

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Staff, drinks choice, branded drinks served on request. No wrist bands, room cards used up market decor. Although the hotel was fully booked still ok.
Cons: Communication regarding room choice
Location: Near a lovely marina, although walk back a little steep. Courtesy bus runs to Puerto Del Carmen 4 times a day.
This really is a lovely hotel with wonderful staff, lovely guests, nice food, immaculate grounds. Booked an all inclusive here through Expedia and separate flights. Arrived around 11am & was able to check in right away. My only disappointment was that we were on the ground floor 3 doors from the end of the hotel & the view was not great I had sent an email request for a higher level room but was told on check in that all the standard rooms were on the ground floor. It would of been nice if the hotel had replied to the email telling us this and perhaps offered the option to pay for an upgrade. Other than this everything was perfect. The Piano bar is open at 6pm in a lovely setting overlooking the sea, the pool bar serve drinks up until then & the service in all bars was fast & friendly often with the same staff alternating between all the bars. The entertainment is fabulous, we had a singer in the Piano bar the 1st night who was great & a rock n roll tribute band in the club who really knew how to entertain & get everyone dancing! The other nights were good too with a very funny show from the hotels animation staff. The food was lovely with not a chicken nugget in sight, but a varied selection of salads, grilled meats potato dishes,breads & fresh fruit and although I'm not a great dessert eater the selection looked wonderful. There was always home made pizza too. Everything is constantly being replenished & the staff are quick to clear the plates.
5 out of 5
by kelly from England

fantastic

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
will be going back, the entertainment team never stop!
5 out of 5
by cameron from scotland

brilliant hol

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
first class hotel great food , service and staff very clean and 1st class facilities