Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Leuk Hotel met mooi uitzicht op zee.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Keurig resort met mooie zwembaden. 's avonds leuke animatie programma. Verder leuk personeel en rollator vriendelijk. Aanrader!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Everything you need and want

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I went with my my 67 year old mum and we both had a great time. Brilliant location, staff are friendly good facilities. Royal elite worth the upgrade. The food was fresh and the activities were good for all ages
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Q

Posted Aug 22, 2016
La wifi falla bastante. Locura a la hora de comer llegábamos y no había mesas montadas . Algunos camareros muy amables en cambio otros pasan de todo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SABADELL

El hotel es bonito pero la playa no.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: La zona de piscinas, las terrazas chill-out que tienen y la amabilidad de sus empleados.
Cons: Intentar que los clientes cumplan las normas mínimas de educación sin que se enfaden. Mejorar, como ya he dicho también, la calidad de los vinos....
Location: La ubicación no es mala pero para ir a una buena playa te tienes que desplazar a la playa que hay en los hoteles Yaiza y Hesperia Dorada(PLAYA DORADA)
Hotel bonito pero con cosas a mejorar. Por ejemplo, hacer cumplir ciertas normas de conducta de algunos clientes porque el personal no les llama la atención... pies encima de las mesas en el hall, cojines por los suelos, etc. Por lo demás, muy bien las zonas de piscina,animación.... hay bastante variedad en las comidas, cenas pero los vinos que te dan en el TI son de muy baja calidad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely all inclusive hotel with sea view.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Perfect for families who want a relaxing stress-free holiday. There are 3 pools for kids and plenty of room for everyone even in peak season. The buffet restaurant offers a good choice and the italian restaurant is a definite bonus. The rooms are lovely, especially those with a sea view. And the staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a really lovely week here with my 2 daughters (13 and 9).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Alison Thank you very much for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share a review on Expedia. We are glad to know that you spent a great family holiday and that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. Thank you for your kind words commending on our rooms and the hotels personnel. The whole team of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future. Yours sincerely Larissa Brieschenk Guest Service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Great hotel, especially Elite service

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We had a great family holiday. A clean, safe, well cared for hotel with excellent facilities and location. The Elite service is well worth paying the extra to make your holiday extra special but the standard bars and restaurants are all fine too. Not the usual queueing to get served that you can get with all inclusive. For kids there is plenty to do and both outdoor family pools are geared up for kids. We have a toddler and she was able to walk around the baby pool, the bedroom and balcony very safe. Also, with adult only pool and bar it suits everyone. We will go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrington UK

GREAT ALL ROUND HOTEL!!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent facilities for adults, couples, families including a Chinese and Mexican night optional. There was a free shuttle bus to Playa Blanca daily.
Cons: We will return and expect the same kind of service next year. A separate room for Sport on TV with UK sport options.
Location: There are hills to climb for the more able people, the walk back from Playa Blanca was an easy mostly flat amble, and a harbour half way for a drink.
On arrival at Sandos Papagayo Beach Hotel, we were quietly confident that it was a very Grand Hotel, sometimes on entry, you think "OHH NO",,, AT this hotel it was "WOW,YES,YES,YES.YES". Our room was not ready and there was a safe room next to reception where we left our luggage, without a worry. We had a welcome CAVA, which was available opposite reception with an option to add orange, an excellent gesture. This facility was available every day, and was always welcome on a return from a trip out. We proceeded to get our lunch as it was still being served and so much choice was available, with 2 HELP YOURSELF SECTIONS for soft drinks, RED, WHITE OR ROSE WINE, and also Draught Amstel, all of which were well presented and clean. We sat and relaxed before choosing our food, which was excellently presented and a lot of choice available, it was impossible not to be able to like something being served from the choices available. This was continuous for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. When we arrived at our room it was clean and hygienic in every way and certainly roomy with a great mountain view and balcony. The pools were clean, well managed and there was an adult only area. There was another help yourself bar with food and cake available, while opposite there was a bar with waiters. There was a great variety of premium drinks with soft drinks, Amstel and Spirits available. Cocktails were also available. I could write lots more but words have run out. 5***** All GREAT!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Italy

Posizione super !!

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: La posizione eccezionale, il servizio 24/24h, l'animazione serale, la vicinanza di stupende spiagge libere, i servizi per i piccoli
Cons: Personalmente due piccoli appunti: il wifi scadente nelle camere e...più pesce al ristorante per favore!
Location: Carino il vicino paese di Playa Blanca raggiungibile con navetta gratuita, negozi eleganti, ristoranti e altro. Presente un parco acquatico e possibil
Posizione eccezionale, a 5 minuti da spiaggie stupende, servizio ok, cibo e drinks sembre disponibili ed abbondanti, di qualità sicuramente più che buona. Impossibile annoiarsi, numerose attività disponibili a tutte le ore, compreso un mini asilo circa 4-5 ore al giorno. Gradito il fatto che i bravi animatori non fossero mai insistenti, La clientela è internazionale con prevalenza di spagnoli ed inglesi, esperienze negative precedenti mi hanno fatto apprezzare la quasi totale assenza di italiani, che si è tradotta in file impeccabili rispettate da tutti, assenza di bambini maleducati e disturbatori, urlanti invasori di spazi comuni. La camera sufficientemente spaziosa (avevo una "superior vista mare"). Dopo aver visto la Suite Royale, proposta a soli 15€ in più, ho deciso dove passerò almeno un'altra settimana il prossimo anno.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex - England

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Would recommend to all ages. My only complaint would have been the food, lots of choice but quality was average. Entertainment was fabulous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Craig Thank you very much for sharing a review on Expedia. We are glad to know that you spent a fantastic holiday and that you were pleased with our entertainment. It would be a great delight for all of the team of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort to welcome you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Larissa Brieschenk Guest Service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Book Royal Elite if you Can

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: The food is excellent. The staff are helpful and caring. Rooms are very clean with most things you could need (tissues were the only item missing).
Cons: We found the free wifi to be unreliable and frustrating. The hotel policy of not being allowed to reserve sun-beds is completely ignored.
Location: Visit Timanfaya National Park; Mirador Del Rio; The Jameos; Manrique's house; the Cuevas de Los Verdes; Graciosa.
We first visited this hotel seven years ago and have stayed several times since. Lanzarote is a wonderful island and Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort is in one of the best locations. It is the last hotel as you travel East from Playa Blanca, so comparatively quiet and next to the beautiful Papagayo beaches. In my view, the hotel beach is best ignored. It is difficult to determine exactly what it is called - probably Playa de Las Coloradas - but I mean the beach the hotel actually overlooks. It has very little sand and one end is really just a piece of scrubland. People do sunbathe on it and swim from it but you can walk just ten to fifteen minutes to the East to discover a beautiful sandy beach with safe swimming. Finding the best path can be tricky. There are several that start at the main entrance to the hotel. The most direct involve some short but steep descents, but with a bit of exploring there are some easier options. There are six terrific beaches, each with its own character, interspersed with some small sandy coves. At low tide the first four are accessible along the shoreline but as the tide comes in you can choose a somewhat slippy scramble over the rocks or you may choose to walk over the paths and hills at the back of the beaches. Walking to the furthest beach is a good forty-five minute walk from the hotel. It is possible to drive and there are carparks close to all the beaches except number two.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Larissa Brieschenk - Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you very much for sharing this review on Expedia. Your feedback is our greatest asset in order to improve our standard of service and therefore we sincerely appreciate your help. Be sure that we have taken good note of all your comments. Apart from that, we would like to thank you for your loyalty to our establishment and we feel honoured that you have chosen us again to spend your holidays. Moreover, thank you for all your nice words commending our food and staff. Comments like yours are a great motivation for all the team of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort. Already looking forward to hearing from you in the near future, we remain at your disposal for anything you may need. Yours sincerely, Larissa Brieschenk Guest Service