Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel with history

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: friendly, polite local staff
Cons: bathroom fittings (they are too old)
Location: Beach, airport, city
A nice hotel with history and character. relaxing. Just avoid the peak season for holiday makers from Taiwan and China.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

20 years later

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Amenities available in the hotel for their guests.
Cons: Upgrade their bathroom!
Location: A bit far from nearest town although hotel provides bus service.
Hotel provided great amenities (for a fee) and room accommodation was decent. For the hotel rate/night we expected better and upgraded bathroom. It provided great activities for children and adults alike such as archery, ATV, horse back-riding, swimming pool and casino. Breakfast was ok if you are Asian (provided chow mein, vegetable dish, congee, fish and meat dishes for breakfast!). I would highly recommend for Fort Ilocandia hotel to disallow smoking inside their restaurants.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by ferdinand

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England\

ok stay

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: very spacious lovely grounds and beach with nice views and good swimming pools
Cons: cleanliness should be maintained to avoid cockroaches. be nice to have a bar open during the day rather having to order through room service.
Location: Laoag is a historic Spanish pre colonial city with beautiful and artistic buildings and also a lovely friendly people.
we had two cockroaches in our bathroom and the check in staff tried to charge us extra for a cot we had order through the booking. felt like they were trying to extract every peso out off us with extra charges like with a broken glass, a missing bathrobe we didn't use. but overall the hotel, grounds and beach were lovely.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Some facilities closed

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: On the plus side lovely setting in lovely grounds, beautiful deserted beach. Rooms were fine.
Cons: Receptionist's attitude. Have facilities open more
On the minus side...Reception staff very unhelpful. Lagoon and sunset bars never open so hard to get a drink unless we used room service. they tried to charge 50 pesos for a glass that hadn't been broken. Got the impression that the hotel was out to extract every last peso possible from clients. My son had pre-ordered and paid for a cot/crib, this hadn't been provided. We arrived late and tired after a 9 hour drive and had to fight to get the cot provided. There is a small zoo at the hotel which whilst we were there seemed under used by visitors. It seems a shame keep all these animals caged for such a limited benefit.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Michael from Manila

Refurbish Old rooms. Amenities very good.

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Creepy old scary. Room phone's speaker phone turned on by itself at 330am!! Airconditioner needs overhaul! Hotel amenities is A++ . Rooms need upgrade. Rest rooms are old! Hotel foods pricey . Chinese resto noodles taste good.
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Richard from Shepherdsville, KY, USA


Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Everyone is very helpful and friendly. I requested some things needed a couple of times and had excellent cooperation by the staff.
2 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by HSIEH from Taiwan

Nice as a historic spot, Not good as a hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
well...as the quality of all the aspects of the hotel, the price is way too expensive. The hotel is super old. it was clean in the public area but the room didn't smell good, smell like humidity and old. the all facilities are way too old. I dont wanna use the tub at all! the shower water temperature was not steady. The bed was really hard and uneven, seems something broken underneath. there were many facilities in the hotel campus but they were all very old and not maintained or renovated properly. and it is really far from the downtown and other area! in the middle of nowhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malolos, Bulacan


Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Staff in the restaurant ( during our breakfast buffet) were very poplite and accomodating.
Cons: Cleanliness. Maintenance please.
We were offered to be upgraded from deluxe to sea view suite room ( 1 BR with Living Room), good for us, i thought. We were provided with 2 extra beds. But to my surprise, when i asked for extra pillows they are charging me P50/pillow! Worse! The A/C has been on for more than an hour and still was very warm, i called and complained how come our room is not cooling, they send us the people for maintenance. They told me its " It's the weather really hot outside!" Really? so it means we have to bear the heat coming from outside? I did not buy their alibi and so i raised my voice on them, they went out and after 15-20min came back with portable stairs, they took of both filters of A/C wheew! the THICKNESS OF ACCUMULATED DUST!!! VERY DISGUSTING! and so after an hour of fixing and cleaning ( with the guests inside) MOSQUITOS started biting us.. in other words, we had to spray Mosquito repellant/insecticide during our stay! We decided to go out for at least 2 hours to let the odor subside. Very unforgettable stay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place...

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Nice place and quite large. It's close to the beach and has several restaurants inside. However, getting outside the 'compound' is a bit difficult as hotel shuttles only run a few times daily and tricycles are almost non-existent there. Overall, I'd classify it as a nice place and I would recommend it to a friend. It's a good place to relax and get away.