Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Oleg

5 stars with horrible service,staff,and anti-sanit

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Dont know where to star, 5 stars really? The staff is moody, sometimes you have to wait 15-20 minutes at the bar to get your drink. Out of 6 dys that we stayed, only 4 times our room was cleaned.We checked in with my 10 year old son, at 11 pm on Aug 8, and they still charged us for the whole day $300 per night. We were planning to stay there 12 days, so I prepaid the whole trip through hotels.com, and we left 5 days later, cause of the service,staff, and lack of sanitary. This place has a health hazard. Dont ever book this place. 2 bags of new clothes were stolen from our room by a staff member. I can not say more. And at the end, I never got a refund for the balance of day, that I did not stay in this place. Sorry to say, but this place is not a 5 star at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by World of Wonders Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Oleg, Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to WOW Topkapı Palace Hotel. We understand that we were not able to measure up your expectations and deplore very much your dissatisfaction on some of our services. The room price is taken per day. The check-in time 14.00 check out time is 12:00 during the one night hospitality. The check-in time is not state the price. I deeply regret the inconveniences about the Housekeeping and informed our HK manager to warn her staff to pay maximum attention to the issue. I am personally looking into this matter further to learn what went wrong and how we can prevent reoccurrence Regarding about the stolen items ; Normally room was immediately check by the room inspector after the check outs . We will share this experience with the appropriate team members who can further assist you. We maintain lost & stolen items brought to us by our staff and again request you to give additional information and contact us. Please be assured that our Management Team will carefully examine your feedback in order to improve us in our Weaknesses for the future. Best Regards, Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Very racist staff against Muslims , poor service, not clean , very expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by WOW Resort Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Amer, It is unfortunate that we have not been able to measure up your expectations. It makes us sad that you get the impression that we favour some nationalities. For us, every single guest has the same high priority and if you should have made a different experience, and we apologise for that. We expect our employees motivated labour and courteous and polite dealing with our guests. We've got your notes shared with the competent department heads and they will talk to the employees allocated to them again about this firmly specified by us manners.If you decide to visit one of our hotels again, it would be my big pleasure to support you in your wishes. Just send me an Mail and I will organise everything for you what is in my possibility. I hope you will consider staying at WOW Kremlin Palace again on future trips to Antalya. Best Regards, Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very good location, beach at the hotel territory

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Great holiday , big place , good play areas for kids and lots of other entertainments for adults. Beautiful furniture in the reception and obviously copy of famous Saint Basil's Cathedral very impressive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by WOW Resort Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Julila, I would like to thank you in the name of the entire WOW Resort Hotels for sharing your comments with us and the Expedia.com We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience. We appreciate your compliments about our staff members, entertainment activity and our ambience of the hotel Thank you for giving such great recognition to our Team Members for their exceptional service! We look forward to welcoming you back here at Wow Resort Hotels in the very near future. Best Regards Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel a lot to do

Posted May 2, 2017
Their facilities are fairly good, amazing variety of food, sea and pool options,many recreational options,room keeping is poor, Thats the only negative thing
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by WOW Resort Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback you shared with us on Expedia. We appreciate the kind words you had about our pools and staff. We were delighted to read you found our foods as per your taste and you happy with our team members service. I will surely share your review with our team. Your kind comments about the hotel and the team members are highly appreciated. It would be our great pleasure to welcoming you again with us in the future if you are looking for another nice vacation. Best Regards, Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Cleanliness, cheaply decorated rooms, dinner, hotel amenities
Location: Not sure
Upon arrival we found out that our reservation wasn't done. Eventhough we did our reservation at 2pm hotel told us their reservation department closed at 6 and they don't have our reservation. They required $200.00 Cash deposit and refused credit card. Room was no where closed to what we expected. Our reservation was all inclusive yet mini bar had 2 beers and 2 juices. Our bathtub was dirty and room was cheaply decorated 2 to 3 star hotel level... Dinner was disappointing. There were 3 main dish that we had to choose from. Breakfast was impressive though. We have arrived the hotel at 7. Dinner was serving till 9 30pm. Once we were done with dinner indoor pool, spa, Playstation room was closed. Gameroom was extra so I paid $200.00 dollars for 2 standard room for 3 people for ONE night stay (this amount is half of the minimum wage people earn in Turkey for month) and treated very poorly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near the beach, and lot of activities

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Me and my family, my wife and two kids enjoy every minute, even my kids want to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by WOW Resort Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear our guest,It is always wonderful to hear when our guest was so impressed with their stay and amazing time with us that they plan on returning in the future with their family . I would like to thank you for all your comments which are motivated us. I will surely be sharing your review with our team . Your kind comments about the hotel are highly appreciated. The pleasure will be all ours to welcome you to our WOW Kremlin Palace Hotel again. Best Regards. Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on CheapTickets
Doesn't look like 5 star hotel. You can find the better hotel with the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
by WOW Resort Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is disappoint to learn that we did not measure up your expectation about the price. We have two hotel WOW Topkapı Palace and WOW Kremlin Palce Hotel which are nearer and you can use these two hotel facilities at the same time. It is unfortunate that we have not been able to convince you to 100%It is always our effort, to offer our guests the best service and we will carefully consider each comment of your review and will handle your opinion with the same importance, like we do it with each other comments of our Guests. Best Regards Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Perfect location.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, food, swimming pools.
Location: Reasonably close to downtown Antalya
We spent a lot of time researching hotels and finally decided on this one. I'm glad we did. Staff was extremely pleasant and professional, food was amazing, location was perfect. If you want relaxation to get away from it all, this is the place to go to. Highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by WOW Resort Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Hannah, Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful impressions and recommendation. It is so nice to see that we meet your expectations of an excellent holiday to the fullest. We are truly lucky to have absolutely wonderful staff working with us and I also would like to thank you for commending about our team members with their names. I will surely share your review with our team. We really hope that you will make an exception visit us again for another excellent family holiday. We are really looking forward to welcome you back with us. Kindest Regards, Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sanmeet

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by World of Wonders Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Sanmeet ,I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to your thought following your stay at WOW Kremlin Palace Hotel. We are excited to hear that we were able to deliver excellent experience for you. I am pleased to see your reputation that we get high mark. We are truly lucky to absolutely wonderful staff working with us. We have shared your comments about the services which met your Satisfaction 100%, with the responsible department managers. Your opinion is really important for us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Antalya Best Regards Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels
2 out of 5
by JAMAL W.

Disappointment

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Thl cleanliness was not good the hotal floors wasn't clean with bad lightening,quality of service was generaly bad ... the receiption were hard could speak english
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by World of Wonders Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Jawal, First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback you shared with us. Every comments from our guests have great importance on the way to reach our first aim which is targeted the excellence. We understand that we were not able to measure up your expectations. In regard to your comments about room cleaning, we informed our HK Manager to organise a particular training on room cleaning to the individuals who cleaned your room. We also informed our HK manager to warn her chiefs to pay maximum attention to controls of the cleaning standard of general areas. We are aware of our responsibilities and promises for all our guests so thank you very much for sharing your ideas with us. Please be assured your feedback is shared with our management team and will receive the necessary attention. Nevertheless we wish you all the best and many nice holidays for the future. Best Regards, Elif Körük Customer Relations Manager WOW Resort Hotels