Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach resort, the rooms need some maintenance

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The beach resort was calm and relaxing, but the room needs maintenanfe especially the air conditioning. It was 30 degrees inside the room with AC on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Chryso Petropoullaki, Guest Relations Officer, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be calm and relaxing. Please rest assured that your comments in regards to the room, as well as the A/C have been noted. The management team has already looked into the matter, in efforts of providing the highest level of customer satisfaction. On behalf of the team, we hope to welcome you back to the Golden Bay very soon! Best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016
The staff was nice, the hotel is OK, but not quite five-star quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Chryso Petropoullaki, Guest Relations Officer, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Golden Bay Hotel. It is a delight to read that you found the staff to your liking. Your kind comments are appreciated. On another note, please rest assured that your comments about the hotel rating have been noted and will undoubtedly be discussed amongst the management team. On behalf of the team here at the Golden Bay, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015
We got married in Cyprus and chose to have the wedding in the hotel. Everything went super-smooth: the hotel was comfort and nice, good facilities, private beach. Thr staff was super friendly from the ladies at the reception to the last waiter. All our email before we arrived (wedding arrangements, not regular vacation to remind you) were answered promptly. When we arrived we met Andreas, the event manager who was more than professional and fulfilled every small detail and request on the best possible side. We came with 25 more friends and family members and they all felt the same. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Hotel desperately needs updating

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Rooms old, and dirty they were not cleaned properly for the entire 2 weeks. Had to wait along time for drinks and food service not good. Pool area dirty plates and empty cups left all day around sun beds. Hotel needs some TLC and updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: It was excellent in everything.
Location: Located on beach with plenty of beach sport, good restaurants nearby as well as in the hotel. .
I arrived late. Hotel was very full, but I was welcomed very courteously. The desk apologized that the room i had requested was not available, but i was upgraded to a junior suite for the length of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jordan

Nice sandy beach & overall sea view rooms

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Few & small elevators, most of the time one of them is out of service. Too much waiting. The lobby should receive more attention and re-decoration.
Location: Plenty of small and variable restaurant to meet all tastes.
Very good except the relatively small parking area. Excellent sea side terraces and pools. Food is good and of reasonable varieties. Staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
Freindly, clean, as expected hotel with all facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel but tired internally and externally

Posted Apr 28, 2015
My wife and I just got back from a nice week at the Golden Bay, it is a nice hotel but like others have written before me this is not a 5 star hotel, certainly not by UK standards however we really enjoyed our stay.The staff are mostly very helpful and did their utmost to please the guests. We went bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were all good quality and plentiful with a wide range of hot and cold produce available. Clearly times have been hard for the economy which probably explains why I felt that pretty much everything was been maintained on a care only bases....when its broke do the minimum to make it work,our wash basin was badly cracked and looked like it had been for quite sometime,our bath with an inboard shower leaked all over the floor, not sure if the bath was leaking or the glass screen or both but it wasn't the best experience,the hair dryer was unsafe due to a loud noise and overheating and we were locked out of the room three times as the lock jammed,the maintenance staff were always available but the lock was never replaced nor fixed properly. Sound insulation between rooms is very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great Hotel on the Beach

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: They have not turned on the air condition, as for the management it is still "winter", even though the temperature was 27 degrees.
I am always amazed with the excellent facilities and the great hospitality I am granted at this hotel. The hotel has its own beach and several swimming pools (outdoor and indoor). Breakfast buffet is generous. Hughly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: spacious rooms and sea views.
Cons: animation can be improved as my 15 year old son was extremely bored as there was nothing for him to do except for a game of darts. breakfast not 5*.
Location: No much to do nearby except a few restaurants. Nearest town is 10 minutes drive. There is a bus service to take you into town.
Hotel is pleasant and staff are nice and friendly. You are allocated the same beach loungers and umbrellas for the duration of your stay (the umbrella is tagged with your name) but most days other people were on your loungers which caused a lot of problems to have them removed.