Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Bra sted. Rolig landsby. Ikke noe bråk fra naboene.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Quiet accommodation in a small village

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: I think this complex would be great if you're travelling with a large family or group, using multiple units all around the shared compound.
Cons: Better signage, new towels, and better lighting inside the unit
I booked with the Porfyrios Country House at the last minute when I had to extend my work stay in Cyprus and the Larnaca hotel I was in was booked and couldn't extend my stay. I had a hard time finding the place initially, but it was easy to get in and out of once I knew where I was going. Check in and out was very easy. I was the only person in the complex for most of the stay and had the whole complex/pool to myself. The first night was almost eerily quiet and took some getting used to. Some other guests checked in the day before I left and it was nice to hang out around the pool with some company. I did briefly meet the cleaning lady and the owners, who aren't on site all the time but stop by regularly. The apartment was basic, but functional. Lighting could have been better inside. Coming from a proper hotel, it would have been good to know that there were not bath soap/shampoo provided, so I had to go shopping in the next town over for basics. Towels were provided. They were pretty old and fraying, but clean. The bed matress was quite thin, but I slept fine on it anyway. Floors had some loose stones that shifted when you walk on them, but clean. The pool was a bit cold, but refreshing in the heat of the day. It was clean and lit at night. While the property was fine for my needs, I would definitely not compare it to a 4-star hotel. The location is also isolated -- great if you want to get away, but very few options for shopping or dining nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Traditional Cypriot

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Very peaceful environment. Great location, half way between Limassol and Larnaca and near beautiful village of Lefkara. Excellent self catering and spacious accommodation.
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Surrey. UK.

Porfyrois Country House

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: As above.
Cons: As above.
Location: Laranca. Nicosia. Beach. Stavouroini Monastery. Lefkara.
Fantastic location if you want to steer clear of sprawling destinations such as Limassol and Paphos. Equi distant between Larnaca and Nicosia which was great for sight seeing and also only 10 miles to nearest beach (Governors Beach). Located in really quiet village and local restaurants were excellent, really friendly, great food and so reasonably priced. Re the apartment, it is rustic and charming and with only 5 other rooms quiet and relaxing. It is cleaned every 2 days and owner visits regularly to check everything OK. However, internally it is a bit tired and could do with a small bit of modernisation which could be done without spoiling the character. Bathroom was a bit basic but overall I would still recommend. Also nice touch when yoiu arrive with tea, coffee, butter, eggs and bread provided. Excellent supermarket in next town (Zygi) with great choice of fruit and superb bakery nearby. Wonderful place, peaceful village, great for for both proximity to sites, beach and relaxation but as stated just a bit of work internally and would then give 5 out of 5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brampton, Cambridgeshire, UK

Welcoming and full of character

Posted Nov 14, 2011
The location and setting of Porfyrios Country Hotel gave us a real feel for Cyprus. The surroundings were quiet and peaceful, and the owner was friendly and helpful. There was a small local shop in the village, and a really good supermarket off the next motorway junction also a number of restaurants within easy reach. A hire car was a necessity, but with it we were within comfortable reach of most of the rest of Cyprus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Profyros- What a gem

Posted Apr 25, 2010
Picked out this place for my first visit to Cyprus from the Expedia site based on descriptions a reviews. What a gem it turned out to be. Very friendly and welcoming owners who couldn't have been more hospitable. 6 apartment units for 2+ people (1 bedroom + bed/settee) all surrounding a pool. Apartments either ground or first floor, are in old stone village house(es) architecturally modernised and comfortably furnished and equipped. We loved the place. Small village shop and a bakers within a short walk but otherwise a car is needed. Fish restaurants at Zygi on the coast (15 mins by car) pretty good and medium priced. Local tavernas (Tochni - 10 mins) serve simpler food of exceptional value. Choirokoitia is a very quiet village ideal if you want an "away from it all" type break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Out of the tourist system which was just what we wanted

Posted Oct 29, 2009
Nice owners who tried very hard to please. Good rooms with a shared swimming pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2008
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 26, 2008
Excellent, quiet, spacious and cool rooms with direct access to pool area and patio. Very friendly staff and helpful villagers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire and Ohio

Wonderful location

Posted Oct 22, 2007
If your looking to get away from the hustle of the big resorts, this a perfect alternative. Peaceful, relaxing in a lovely apartment.