Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Sara from NYC

Countryside Bliss

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
We spent blissful moment in time here- the quiet, the rolling countryside, the casitas, the amazing food and fabulous over the top good service. It could not have been better!!! From the moment you arrive you feel so totally welcome and until the second you say goodbye- it's like your a long lost cousin. Just the best!
5 out of 5
by Rupert from London

Hacienda de San Rafael great rustic boutique hotel

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Hacienda de San Rafael for two nights in May. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough to relax and enjoy their wonderful looking pools. But the staff were very friendly and helpful and on hand to suggest alternative activities for rainy days. We had dinner both nights at the hotel, you can pick from the menu or select the set 3 course menu with wine for 55eur. We went for this option and we were not disappointed. It was delicious seasonal food with good wine pairings. Looking forward to returning in better weather!
5 out of 5
by Peter from London

SPECIAL PLACE

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, this is a lovely, relaxing, memorable place to stay. Great vibe, garden, pools, sense of Spain. Less important are the slight down-sides of ... inconvenient access to the main gate of the estate if arriving from the south (get instructions) ... lack of nearby places to eat, if you elect not to partake of their 55 euro per head dinner each night (although great tapas exists in Jerez and Utrera, both 40 minutes away by car) ... breakfast is ordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berks UK

Beautiful boutique hacienda

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel is set amongst sunflower fields and olive groves, the peacefulness is wonderful, a very special place to relax and unwind.
Location: The location is ideal and very easy to find, there are very good walks, and if hiring a car, a trip into Jerez is local, riding is very good.
We have just come back from a three day relaxing break in what was a hidden gem of a hotel. The staff were very attentive, polite and friendly, the food was superb, fresh and tasty, our room was just beautiful with its own lounge, utility area, separate toilet and large bathroom, with a reasonable sized pool which was shared between three other cottages, we also had our own outside lounge area with plenty of towels available and sun loungers, drinks were offered regularly with the staff always checking if we required anything else.
3 out of 5
by Teacher from Oregon

I had high expectations and was let down

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The grounds were lovely. There were few guests so we were permitted to wander about. The toiletries were high quality. The room was beautiful.
Cons: Staffing could have been better. Less of push to eat dinner at the hotel.
My thought is that for this kind of money, it should have been more special. When we arrived, no one was around and we had to wait to check in after a long drive. When we wanted a bucket of ice and cork screw, we had to wait to even let them know what we wanted as staff was on the phone helping another guest. To be fair, once she was done, we got our needs met. There were few guests. The interaction with the staff was uncomfortable which was a downer. We felt that there was too much pressure to eat dinner at the hotel. We were asked several times and said no again and again. We are not the bed and breakfast type so that may have been part of the issue.
4 out of 5
by punter133 from London

An oasis; luxury in the middle of nowhere

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels
Location is quite remote and a car essential. Sat nav essential tho not easy to set for this location. Lovely rural setting with good size pool, but at this price we would have expected breakfast with no 'extra' charges, eg for eggs and tea/coffee on tap (or a kettle with biscuits in the room?). There is no TV and no phone (turning them on is always voluntary!) so for the ipadless you are cut off. Staff were delightful, helpful and friendly. Dinner delicious but only as set price menu including wine, so not very flexible and no good for dieters!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

September get away

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Hotel gardens beautiful and tranquil, liked to walk in the beautiful garden.
Cons: The above, meals and pillows.
Location: Nothing to do nearby that we found of interest. Traveled to white villages and towns which we did enjoy. Coast lovely, too far to enjoy in a day.
Welcome very good, staff very helpful with information about locations to visit, maps and restaurants to eat at. Attentive during the day to our needs. The problem came when we wanted to eat at the hotel, 9pm is far to late for most people as it would be well past that when the food came to the table. We were not really sure if this was for the cooks benefit or as we kept being told, the Spanish ate at this time. We and most of the guests were not Spanish and we were not the only ones to think it was an unreasonable time to eat. We had salade, the only thing we could eat, at 7.30 and 8pm. This put us at a disadvantage as we ate alone and felt isolated. Most people are back at the hotel by 6.30 as the temperatures are high during the day and so they come back to rest. The pillows in our room were too soft, two pillows just increased the discomfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels