Ratings based on 863 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

5 Star Hotel?????????.

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and the food was cooked to a high standard.
Cons: The hotel needs to be honest with its clients. You can' publish fancy photos on line but deliver something completely different when you get there
Location: The location was excellent and there were plenty of things to do near by
On arrival we were greeted by the fantastic exterior of the Catalina, Beautiful gardens to the front and a porter standing outside to greet us as we got out the car. Unfortunately things went down hill the second we walked through the door. The reception area was seriously in need of a make over and the lift looked as if it hadn't been refurbished since 1944. When we entered our room my partner burst into tears as it looked nothing like the photos we had seen on line. The flooring was terrible, the bathroom suite was in need of modernization, the ceiling had cracks and it should have been rated no more than a 3 star. We were so disappointed that we returned to reception and asked for a different room. You can imagine our reaction when we were informed that all the rooms are identical. At that point we both wished we had booked one of the other 5 star hotels on the island. It was so cold we asked for a heater.but Unfortunately they had so many requests there were none available so we were given extra blankets instead. The following morning we booked a hire car and spoke to reception about the parking. We were absolutely horrified to be informed that this was going to cost 16 euros per day. We asked to speak with a member of management but there was no one available. We left our details but we didn't hear from anyone.during our stay and no card was put under our door. Other than the restaurant which was very good the hotel was our biggest disappointment so far . . .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oslo

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Pros: Breafast. svimmingpool.
Cons: We love the hotel and look forward to see it after renovation. Have been coming here for years,
Location: Great location.
We have stayed lots of times and love the hotel. However booking with experia was not smart as we got the worst room of the hotel.Booking directly with the hotel is a whole different story. Your comercial states it is the same room at a different price... it is not true!! Very dissapointed !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not 5* experience

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location perhaps
Cons: Costumer service needs an immediate attention. It should start within the management, the rest will follow.
The services provided in the hotel are not in line with expectations one may have from 5* hotel. Check in poor, no additional information provided in regards of hotels facilities. Had to enquire about absolutely everything breakfast room, lifts not to mention restaurant, bar or spa. Parking arrangements poor, if you lucky you can find yourself free space on the side otherwise hotel will charge you 16Euro par day. Attitude from the receptionist appalling telling me off that wherever she travels it is normal practice to pay for parking additionally. No tea/coffee facilities in the room! No bottled water in the room! No iron in the room! The breakfast although adequate, it's completely self service. If you want to use other facilities ex. spa, indoor pool or gym you have to pay extra! I understand spa but to pay extra for the gym is simply rip off.The worst part was yet to come as we had to leave the hotel very early morning due to our flight back to London. We enquired at the reception about some small take away breakfast as won't be able to make it. The answer was NO and if we wanted to have food we should order room service and pay for it even though breakfast was already paid for! Based on my experience I cannot recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Elena Ojeda Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Santa Catalina hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. Our staff's professional service is a point of pride for us and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team for information and further revision. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tenerife/UK

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Hotel is due to be refurbished in May 2018 after which time it will hopefully be returned to its original splendour!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Outstanding breakfast

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Super hotel with the best breakfast I’ve experienced in a hotel. Staff excellent and always helpful a credit to the hotel. Only downside is no tea/ coffee facilities in room although room service available 24hr and hairdryer not powerful enough to dry hair quickly. This was our second visit and would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2017
If you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful vacation this is the right hotel for you! Beautiful landscape , very quiet, and hotel has shuttle to the beach where they have Sheraton beach house, it is a highlight for us!u
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely old hotel but misses the wow factor

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Great building in a lovely setting. Echoes of grander times. Staff were absolutely wonderful...fantastic service all round; especially room care.
Cons: Charge for indoor pool and decent internet connection. Service in bar slow and curt attitude. Room decor needs attention. No English TV channels!
Location: Set in lovely park and near port area. Really easy to get around to all areas of city and taxis were cheap.
After an initial very positive impression the stay was pretty ordinary. There's lots that the hotel should do that would not cost a lot but would change the impression from ordinary to luxury...which it wasn't. Pretty good choice for breakfast and terrace restaurant was a very pleasant experience and good value. Room attention was five star...good toiletries, great linen changed twice daily. Our room cleaner was incredible..very personalised attention. Laundry service particularly good. Room service very quick but presentation poor. Room was huge with a great balcony overlooking the park and harbour. Very comfortable but decor dull and unloved. Needs a rethink. Reception very helpful. Overall the staff were the best feature of the stay except in the bar which was understaffed and service slow and with some 'attitude'. Shocked that a five star hotel would charge guest to use the indoor pool and get decent internet connection in this day and age! No English TV. This is important for those who want to keep up with news etc. Overall really enjoyed our stay and would return but with lower expectation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Faded grandeur - many annoying features

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Excellent initial impressions - beautiful setting, imposing building, characterful bar and dining areas, large bedroom, nicely furnished, very comfortable bed. Then the details jar and annoy. Badly worn red carpet on main staircase. No BBC on TV, despite complaints. Basins in bathroom leak. Shutters to patio didn't lock. Breakfast is in covered patio, with many tables behind unnecessary and claustrophobic curtains. Food counters scattered around room. Poor selection of cereals and dried fruit/nuts. Coffee machines slow - often long queues - and do NOT sit near them! Well below expectations for a hotel that claims a 5 star rating.
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Not to bad

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Not to bad . Hotel could do with a refurb .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Conveniently located close to the beach and the town center, we found it easy to move around. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Only downsides - the furniture could use a bit of a refresh and I didn’t like that there was an extra charge for the gym - I think this should be available for free at all times.