Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise

Suite type hotel near hwy and rail station.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Beautiful marbled spacious hotel 30 minutes from downtown Madrid by train or auto. Very spacious suites with sitting room and marble flooring. Breakfast good and reasonable. Dinner less desirable and expensive. We had bad experience with someone in next moving furniture on marble floors in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Caracas

perfect for stays with family if driving

Posted Feb 2, 2015
very freindly and polite staff. The room is spacious and clean. You need to hjave a car though since the hotel is 20+ miles away from Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from New York

I strongly recommend this Hotel. Great value.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Ample and clean rooms, very, accommodating staff.
Location: Great location right off of A6 Highway. Easy access. About a 25 minute ride to downtown Madrid (50 minutes in traffic).
I stay at the Gran Hotel Almenar every two months to visit my daughter who lives in Madrid. The hotel is very well located next to a main highway (A6), includes the parking spot in the pricing, and the rooms are clean and spacious. The staff is simply excellent. I have always been treated quite well by Manager Jesus and his staff. They even know my little girl's name and are always very accommodating. My only "complaint" is that the wi-fi internet connection often doesn't work. But considering the whole package, this is a great hotel and surely a great value. I strongly recommend it. A+
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Derby, UK

Good location

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Parking was underneath the hotel and quite tight if in a larger car. At certain times of the day there was a man on duty who would do this for you.
Location: Good location. Close to the City centre with bars and shops nearby.
Very helpful staff at reception who were able to speak English and give advice on places to visit and eat. We had a room at the front of the hotel that looked onto the main street. When the windows were open it could be very noisy but when the windows were shut it was fine. Ideal location for visiting Granada.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Foxy Roxy from New York, NY, USA

Great Hotel for families visiting by car

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: The size and cleanleness of the rooms, the front desk service and the restaurant.
Cons: The location.
Location: The hotel is off a main highway.If you come from a day of touring, exhausted you have: perfect parking, a good dinner and a great night sleep!!
The hotel is on the side road of a main highway which it makes it very convenient if you are in passing to Madrid. it is impeccably clean. The staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating. They spoke Enghlish which sometimes is hard to find. We arrived late from Sevilla with two children, we were on the other side of Highway and the GPS was not directing us well. We called the hotel and the receptionist was able to figure out where we are and directed us perfectly right to their interior garaje ( free). great treat after we payed from 18 to 35 euro daily for parking in other cities and inside Madrid. The rooms are large for European standard. We upgraded to a suite and a room. They had champain for us in the room which was a great touch after a perfect two weeks trip for Semana Santa in Andaluzia . We eat dinner at their restaurant and it was excellent. One of the best meals we had in Spain!!!!! We would stay here again especially if we come with the kids. We would leave the car and take the train in , 5 min walk to the train 1.8 euro to Madrid from 7 to 11pm I believe. The money spend on parking in Madrid we could spend on souvenirs. The hotel is about 15/20 min by car very easily to the dead center Ptza Mayor underground parking. (2h ab 7 euros)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great hotel just outside of Madrid

Posted Jan 11, 2013
Pros: Clean and modern
Cons: Beds a bit too firm
Location: Great location outside of Madrid
Hotel was clean, modern and the staff very helpful. Only complaint is that the beds were too firm for a comfortable night's sleep. Great location within walking distance to Renfre train, shopping and restaurants. Free parking and wifi a BIG bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Convenient out of city location

Posted May 15, 2011
Room had a separate lounge area and balcony. Very spacious and comfortable. Next to a major feed road for Madrid but the room was located to the rear of the hotel overlooking a green area and there was minimal noise, even with the balcony doors open. Excellent rail connections within 10 minutes walk. The rail system is easy to use, cheap and efficient. The only downside was the catering. The main restaurant area was only ever available to the coach parties that seemed to provide the bulk of the hotel's business. We had to eat in the bar area and often received slow service - the coaches came first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle

good location if you are going to play at the Casino

Posted Sep 10, 2010
I needed a hotel while I was playing at a poker tournament at the Casino nearby. Good things about the hotel: 1. 5 minute taxi ride to the casino 2. very inexpensive Bad things about the hotel 1. They missed one of my wake up calls 2. They tried to put me in a single room, although I had paid for a suite 3. there is no way to get food after 10 pm 4. no shops, gym or pool in the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ohio

New hotel too far from Madrid

Posted May 7, 2008
The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Locate was not convenient to get to Madrid. Train station close but ran on the 1/2 hour. Area was run down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlos from Chula Vista, CA.

Nice hotel, great service

Posted May 1, 2008
This hotel is very nice, the rooms are spacious and all have balconies. The staff was excellent!!! always with a smile and willing to lend a helping hand. The hotel is 45 minutes from Atocha train station in the heart of Madrid which may limit you with your schedule (last train leaves Madrid at 11:45pm). All in all the hotel is great, the restaurant is good but expensive and if you dont mind the train ride it is a great place to stay.