Ratings based on 1,843 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The New CAL.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Cal newly remodeled rooms are very nice, much better than the old CAL badly needed remodeling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Posted Dec 2, 2016
No hot water. During the cold seasons this is a real issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We stay at the Cal all the time. Perfect for family trips with everything we need nearby and even the outdoor mall in walking or short driving distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

New renovation

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: See above
Shower doors to heavy and no handle inside. Thermostat was not working well first few days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

West tower is nice. Great place if you enjoy gambl

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: The room in the west tower
Cons: Get the room I reserved
First room was a smoking twin bed room. It did not match my reservation. The heavy smoke in my room gave me a headache. Complained to managment. They moved me to the west tower and the correct room. It was much better. My company had twelve rooms. Only two of us received the correct room booked through Expedia. The told everyone that they only had smoking rooms available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Once the rennovations are done it will be better. The shower was really bad and the water pressure was very low.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Disappointed with this hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
-- There is a smoke smell in the room all the time. -- There is no drink in the refrigerator. ++ Good point with this hotel is that it is 2 block away from Fremont St. I don't recommend this hotel for young guys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by The Cal, Hotel Management
Armin, thank you for your feedback and glad you found our location convenient to the Fremont St. Experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison Wi

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Clean. Affordable. So glad they had refrigerators in room!
Cons: Put microwaves and coffee makers in rooms.
Location: Freemont St--what a blast!!!
Couldn't find any morning coffee to save my soul. Checkout was a little staff short handed. Otherwise, I will definitely stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

The rate is the only good thing

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros 1. The rate is low. 2. Close to Fremont Street experience Cons 1. Too much smell of smoke. Even the non smoking rooms smell like smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by The Cal, Hotel Management
We always appreciate hearing about your experiences, value your patronage and hope you will always feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your visits to the California more enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room Services

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel was undergoing several constructing projects, which probably restricted their ability to provide better service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by The Cal, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we are currently renovating the west hotel tower and expect completion by Christmas. We have also remodeled the Redwood Steakhouse, Holo Holo Bar, Sports Book, Aloha Specialties and the entire Casino Floor.