Ratings based on 7,793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Felt comfortable and it was quiet

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The quietness
Location: Freemont was close which we enjoyed very much
This was one hotel that I liked very much because it clean an quiet slept very well an walking distance to Freemont. Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Fremont

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This is old Vegas in its finest. Ask for a vintage king suite. You won't be disappointed. Only critic would be the stains on the couch. I just put down a towel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: room quality
Rooms were not as per the picture displayed, also heater was not working, need to sleep in cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

lots of history

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: the history
Cons: let the machines give a little...i understand every one cant win but should win a little bit so you dont feel so bad when you end up loosing...
Location: `lots of fun around...
We enjoyed the room and the area was fun...lots to see on Fremont street... my husband was very disappointed in the casino with the poker and keno machines he lost over $1,200 in just 5 hours and he wasn't happy...this made it an unhappy event for my husband and I because when he looses so much with out a win it affects my stay...he says never again but ì`m hopeful we will come to visit again I love the history on Fremont street and most of all the EL Cortez hotel and casino...it was a place my Mother and Father would go there in Vegas back in the 1960s...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: It was fairly quiet.
Cons: Spend some time and money and actually clean the hotel.
Room was decor was not bad but filthy. There was a straight edge razor blade on the floor just inside the door against the wall and multiple tooth/ floss sticks around the room and the carpets had obviously not been vacuumed. Room didn't get cleaned at all the first 2 days we were there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very old and dated - but what did I expect

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Great location, fantastic staff, awesome check in and out.
Cons: Upgrade - at least a little
Check in and out was a breeze - a rarity for Vegas and staff at the hotel and casino were fantastic. But the rooms were pretty sub-standard and don't appear to have been updated much since the 60s. Grant you, I was not expecting the Golden Nugget, but I did hope for something a little more upgraded.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

In the Middle

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: That is it quiet and clean, with a very comfortable bed.
Cons: I signed up for a tower room but got a room across the street. It was cold and late at night so I didn't appreciate it but looking back, it was quiet.
Location: Hotel is almost in the middle of the hub of Las Vegas.
The hotel is clean and comfortable and quiet. The bed is comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location in relation to Freemont Street

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Location: Freemont Street within short walking distance
It was "old Vegas" feel. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Restaurant served great food. Overall, it is a "yes". I would book again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Fremont Street Experience

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Fremont Street Experience.
Cons: NA
Location: Stayed at hotel during Vegas Bikefest, everything was within walking distance.
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. A nice stay for the price during Vegas Bikefest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great stay and comfortable room

Posted Nov 22, 2016
After seeing the pictures online I had my doubts on this place but when I showed up to the front lobby and seen first hand how nice this place is. I was in awe. The staff were so nice and went out of their way to upgrade our room to king instead of Queen and the Tower room section. I was very surprised and our room was huge I loved it. It may not be on the strip but it was quiet and we couldn't hear the clubs that are around the corner. I recommend this to anyone who wants to be close to Fremont st.