Ratings based on 8,208 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Second time to stay. Very clean and nice rooms. Like the location with Fremont Street. Nice to have Subway handy for early morning snack.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland

Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The hotel was clean and nice for the most part.Some of the staff had terrible attitudes.The vintage rooms are too small.They should be on top of there rooms ha ing bed bugs.No one wants to travel to another place and have to worry about bed bugs, sleeping with them or taking them back home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice place. Well maintained. Great staff

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Well polished. Very helpfull staff. Had a wonderful stay. Walk to Vegas action. Less smokey casino than most. Good Resturant. Thank you !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better then expected!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Room was very comfortable
Picked the El Cortez because it was closest Fremont Hotel to walk to the Cubs Spring Training Game at Cashman Field and also price was a big factor as the rooms downtown where higher than average this weekend. We were pleasantly surprised with the room, very spacious-2 queen beds(very comfortable), loveseat, fridge, also very clean. The hotel and casino looked like it was recently upgraded. Had a very nice lounge with a daily HH(service very spotty, though). Loved the container park across the street. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Rundown and Dirty with a mountain view

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Derek at front desk reception was one of the best staff members I've met at any hotel! The delapidated conditions at El Cortez were beyond his control
Cons: Filth needs removal. Rooms need refurbishing. Non smoking should mean just that.
Location: A tiny portion of the property at El Cortez extends to Fremont Street giving them that address but the hotel is really on 6th Street. Ugly and rundown
We parked for free and walked down a stairwell to the street level. Unfortunately, that stairwell was putrid from human feces. The front desk was conveniently located in the smoke filled lobby that was busy with slot machines. Derek at the front desk was definitely the best part of the El Cortez! He greeted us warmly and gave us the last available king room. Again it was dirty! The non smoking room had ashes in the tub and on the bathroom floor. The horribly old furniture was marked with cigarette burns and chipped paint. The AC was very noisy. And a greasy full hand print was in the middle of a mirror by the window. I got spray cleaner and a cloth from the cleaning staff out in the hall and wiped down the room myself. We knew we had made a mistake with this hotel! The street people in the area looked straight out of central casting for hopeless and desperate. We like walking around outside but that was unsafe at El Cortez. I felt terrible that I had booked us into this place for two nights where I couldn't feel comfortable even sitting on the furniture without spreading my robe out over it first. We'd driven five hours to Las Vegas to meet out of town friends for dinner. At 11:30 pm we checked out and drove home through the night to avoid lying down in the bed at the El Cortez.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice Hotel, terrible service

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I paid extra for a room with a view. Once I checked in I was told that they were sold out and that i was "upgraded". I was given a room that was across the street which was a nice room but had the view of a parking structure. Check out is at 12pm, however housekeeping was at our door at 9am rudly waking us up. Next time i will make sure to put the "do not disturb" sign on the door knob.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Shower area to old and terrible water stream. Bathroom terribly old. 4 nights and only services twice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Convenient hotel near all the "action".

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Our check-in clerk was extraordinarily helpful and courteous, a pleasurable experience. The casino wasn't too high tech, just our speed.
Cons: There's a short order café out in front. Its presence needs to be made known in the casino. Otherwise keep up the good work. Seagles 1944, great.
Location: The Mob Museum. There's an outdoor nightclub nearby, I forgot its name, with a rendering of a big bug out in front.
Played tourist. The Fremont Street experience was out of this world: a noisy, crowded, well behaved assemblage of revelers. We "toured" most of the downtown casinos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Casino floor staff has horrible attitude .

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The hotel was ok the casino staff was horrible and the sports lines were high .. I stopped gambling here after a few days and was forced to gamble elsewhere
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles Ca

Okay hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Not the nicest place I have been. Air conditioner didn't function properly and the room remained warm throughout the evening. Very noisy area and the hallways which are open to the outside were like a freeway of people all night.