Ratings based on 21,846 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noise From Fremont Street Bands

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Noise from Fremont St
Location: California Hotel for Buffet, Gambling, and see Churchill's Snooker table by asking a security guard to see it.
The room, Jr. Suite, was very nice, but very loud. The band on Fremont street points directly at the rooms facing Fremont Street. The rooms on that side actually come with ear plugs. Believe it or not, the ear plugs do work and I was able to sleep okay, but my wife had trouble. Other than the noise, the Hotel and staff are great and the location is great. I walked one block over to the California hotel to gamble because they had 5 dollar tables easily available there. Straight out the door of the GN, past the band stage, and one block to the California. They also had a very nice buffet there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Downtown Las Vegas, stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Outdoor pool area and hideout pool area is excellent
Cons: Staff needs to work on cleaning the rooms better the bathroom was still dirty from the previous guests. There was still partially use soap in the soap
Location: There is artist performing right on the street outside door as well as zip lines that allow you to fly over Fremont Street, plus a wide variety of cas
Great place to stay economical and decent for the price. It's very nice to be on Fremont Street when everything is happening right outside your door
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice amenities but terrible service/staff!!!!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
It took us two hours to check in because the rude customer service looked up our names in properly. After claiming they couldn't help us because we booked a better rate through Expedia, he claimed he had no more rooms. I demanded a manager which took him an hour and they finally mysteriously came up with a room and we had been told they were all out even though we had a reservation over a month ago. He then tried to give us a smoking room. We told is that with unacceptable. It took us two hours to check in at 1 AM in the morning. It was very frustrating. The rooms are old and mildewy. We found a hair in the bathtub and in the bed. It was pretty gross
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Great place to stay!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Loved my room and the restaurant options.
Cons: I was there for a tournament out of downtown but was surprised to get charged resort fees when I had no plans or time to use any of that.
Location: Its fun. Fremont street was very cool and a little crazy at the same time. Definitely entertaining.
We had a great time at the Golden Nugget! Very good atmosphere with a lot of food options and gambling of course. Right on Fremont which is a whole experience in itself! I am definitely going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surprise

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Didn't know what to expect but everything was updated and very nice. Great places to eat within hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointed, will never stay there again

Posted Feb 21, 2017
my daughter and 5 tear old grandson came to vegas to only stay here to go down water slide amongst sharks, then was told pool closed at 7 so wen down right away at 6.10 to then find out pool was closed at 6, be nice if they knew what was going on in there hotel, so every chance i get i will tell people not to go there, not sure why i filled this out cause i know nobody will read these
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Terrible staff!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: The front office staff needs to be replaced from the manager on down and this applies to every shift as far as I am concerned.
Location: The hotel is on Fremont street in downtown Las Vegas. We found lots of entertainment and really good places to eat at reasonable prices.
I love downtown Las Vegas but the front office staff at this hotel is probably the worst I've ever experienced. They were rude, confrontational and obviously didn't enjoy their job. Every question asked was answered with "No" and no explanation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,but Carson tower very outdated

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We just stayed at the Golden Nugget. We were placed in the Carson tower and was disappointed on the condition of the room. Carpet was disgusting, shower leaked all over and general style of it is outdated. We duos have other family there that got upgraded to the Rush tower. These rooms were remodeled and very nice. So if you are staying here definitely stay in the Rush tower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I like that the Golden Nugget is on Fremont Street

Posted Feb 20, 2017
2 things that stood out that could be fixed: #1 - There needs to be more than 1 elevator to the rooms, too far away from some of the rooms #2 - The parking garage needs a better layout concerning the stairway AND the elevator! It makes for too much walking! My wife has a hard time walking & it's just not convenient with the elevator situation. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Veneta, OR

If you like Fremont Street, this is OKAY

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff almost to a person, and the free parking.
Cons: Smoke filtration, heating/cooling units in the room, and some of the carpets could be replaced.
Location: The Fremont Experience is something else!
You will have to temper my review with the fact I usually stay somewhere where there has a better smoke filtering system, so my thoughts my be skewed. However, if you are used to some of the hotels on the strip, this lacks the bathrooms, the more comfortable furniture, and the much better temperature controls. But those hotels certainly have NOTHING on this hotel as far as staff friendliness and helpfulness. They were wonderful. Free parking is wonderful too.