Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MT

Nicely renovated

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Good restaurant in the hotel.
Friendly staff, nice room, central in-town location Visited nearby parks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Old World Charm

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Traveling back in time. The tasteful details.
Cons: There may be a ghost - not sure how I feel about that!
We take an unnecessary detour to Las Vegas while on road trips just to stay at this hotel. Love it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Interesting and historic

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: It was located in the center of town, very nice, very clean and we had an excellent dinner.
Cons: We were very happy with our stay.
Location: See above
It was a very pleasant stay, although we wish we would have had more time, we were traveling and had to leave early the next day. We walked around the area and it was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel stay

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: I liked the furnishings.
Cons: Perhaps more activities to do in town.
Location: Great location. Not too much to do in town
It is a beautiful hotel with so many antiques. It was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Just what we were looking for.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Some glitches with food service but overall a wonderful stay that took us back to what we thought it might feel like in the 1800's in the old west. We would not hesitate to return here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, historic hotel with a flaw

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: If it were not for the AC, I would give it an excellent throughout.
Cons: The AC, The AC, The AC
I spent 2 nights at the Historic Plaza Hotel. It is attractive inside and out, albeit in an old and somewhat depressed district. Check-in was easy and the staff, then and throughout my stay, was pleasant and helpful. My room on the third (and top) floor was clean and comfortable. There was no noise from the hall or other rooms--however, when the air conditioning cycled on, it did so with a vengeance: extremely loud. And the noise continued until the system shut down for that cycle. There was no control over the fan speed; the only adjustment was to the thermostat. Tired as I was, I was continually roused from my sleep whenever the AC came on. Early in the morning, I shut it off just to get a little uninterrupted sleep. The next night was the same, but rather than roused, I was just aware with each/some of the cycling. (I couldn't decide if this problem counted as a facilities/condition issue or room comfort, so I split the difference.)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: They took our phone call with courtesy and full explanation.
The EXPEDIA website states that Expedia understands that plans change and cancellations are possible and easy, but the website goes in circles over and over and actually it is impossible to accomplish a cancellation online. Instead, we called the hotel directly to cancel. The hotel did NOT have our names, did not have an Expedia reservation with no name, but assured us we were canceled should Expedia call. What gives?? You have our money in ADVANCE.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Casper Wyo

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Loved the history associated with hotel and the area. The interior renovation was beautifully and skillfully done. My wife and I love antiquing, so not only did we do just that at a nearby antique store, we especially enjoyed all the antiques in the hotel itself.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paso robles, CA

Best kept secret in the west

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Everything! The location, decor, history food and especially the staff!
Cons: Not really. Maybe a bigger TV?
Location: Great location, we didn't stay long enogh to do anything
We booked the hotel from the car, on the road, just hoping for a clean bed en route to college. My daughter and I thought it sounded cool to stay in an old historic place. We were a little worried but as soon as we turned into the town square we were greeted by twinkling colorful lights and a view into a gentler kinder era. The staff immediately took care of us and even upgraded us to a better room at no charge. We had the most restful night of the road, on dreamy beds! The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast at the cafe, the chef - Santiago, fixed the most delicious oatmeal for my daughter and the best breakfast tacos for me. So abundant I saved half for later. Thank you to the staff that turned a stop on the road into a great experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grantsville, Utah

Nice hotel. Close to Highlands University campus.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We came to Las Vegas to visit our granddaughter, who is a college student here. We loved the Plaza Hotel. It has lots of character, is beautiful with a lot of charm! The staff was wonderful! We hope to come back again and Plaza Hotel would be our first choice!