Ratings based on 15,699 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Very nice hotel/casino

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Massive room. Amazing pool. Great gambling. Hotel has mini golf, many resturants and bars. WI'll stay here many more times in my life!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwalk ca

Excellent room quality

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Always love staying here excellent rooms for not much money. Stylish rooms and very clean the pools were a big hit with the family. We'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Overall great experience!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The room was huge! There was plenty of space and lots of mirror and bathroom space... Perfect for four girls in one room! The view was amazing
Cons: Furnishing were a little outdated and the elevator area was rather dirty but overall nothing too bad.
Location: Even though it is a little off of the strip it was right down the road from the center of everything! Nothing a very cheap cab ride couldn't fix!
We rather enjoyed our stay at Rio! From the start everyone was helpful! I had gotten 11 stitches in my leg the night of arrival and security was very quick to get my a wheelchair for assistance. When we arrived our fridge did not work and they had it replaced within 30 minutes! Everyone was very prompt! The Valet and Bellmen were also very kind and helpful! The view from our room of the strip was spectacular and the size of the room was a huge bonus! I highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better choices

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel was convenient as the BCA Championships were being held there. Booking through Expedia or some agent instead of through the hotel got me a discounted rate. However, i did have to pay resort fees that made up for the discount I did receive. That was a disappointment As I did not need the amenities or want them. I would have stayed or booked longer if the rate didn't double and triple for the next two days.the hotel isn't that nice and somewhat run down to warrant a rate that high. The hotel theme is not in conjunction wither atmosphere. I believe it was more so in the beginning.ie, music, staff attire, etc. I have stopped in from time to time over the years to ck. It out but never stayed or played, gambled, or eaten there cause I have always noticed it to be too expensive. Table minimums too. high. All of the above doesnt warrant it. Circus Circus was always a better deal as well as Excaliber. I had noticed a few things not in order with the plumbing when I first came into my room and had to call for them to be addressed. These sort of issues should not have been for a new tenant to have to deal with. Overall, the Rio was a big disappointment for me as I have been coming to Vegas for over 50 yrs. and had better experiences with many other hotels and probably been happier on those days with one such as the Mirage, or even one of the others Ive mentioned above. B.D.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Voodoo zipline is awesome!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Not impressed aside from the voodoo zipline. The only redeeming quality in my opinion. Check in is at 3 or 4, we didn't get to set foot in our room until 8. I was traveling with my mother-in-law and the staff tried to give me a "complimentary upgrade" to one king bed when I had originally made the reservation for two beds. The rooms are adequate, I suppose. I booked a strip view and didn't get it. Oh well, not foing back anytime soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Not the biggest bang for your buck

Posted Jul 22, 2017
I know this hotel is off the beaten path from the strip, but I felt like they could have done more to entice people to stay. I chose this hotel in part for the pool. I didn't realize that they closed it for a little rain and that it was only open 9-7, so that was disappointing. Nevada just legalized marijuana, so even our non-smoking room reeked of it. We're from Colorado so we smell it all the time, but you can't smoke in the hotels. Too bad that wasn't the case here. Hotel staff were polite and friendly. The hotel is a little confusing to navigate, but everyone we asked for help was nice and told us where to go. However, staff in the restaurant's were jerks. I've never been in Vegas before, but if we go back, I don't expect we'll be staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nothing Grand about the Rio

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The Zebra bar, the shops on the Masquerade deck, Ibar, and the free shuttle to the Harrah Casino.
Cons: They need to renovate, remodel, upgrade, clean the hotel.
Location: There were plenty of things to do once you took the free shuttle to Harrahs Casino and Hotel.
This was my first trip to Las Vegas. I was really excited. After a 4 hour plane ride I had to wait in line to check in to the hotel for 1 hour. There were three people working registration and the lobby floor was filthy was trash and other debris. When you walk through the casino it is smokey and has a strong smell (stench) of cigarette smoke and dimly lit. Almost dark. Our room was spacious but antiquated. The carpeting in the room appeared to not have been shampooed in years. It looked very dirty. There was something stuck to the nightstand between the beds that look like it could have been removed if the nightstand had been cleaned. There was dust and cob webs. There was a couch in the room that we got extra sheets from the cleaning lady to put over so that we could sit on it. The newest thing in the room was a 5-6 year flat screen T V. Like when they first start making flat screen TV's. There is a Chinese food Restaurant in the Hotel Dim Sum. It smells so bad when you walk by it in the hall going out of the casino toward the shuttle. It smelled like the food was bad. Now there was some staff there that was great Trent at the Zebra Bar and the bar tender with the glasses and beard at the Ibar ( sorry I forgot your name, Blame it on that great tequila sunrise that you made for me. Oh and the buffet opened at 4 and closed at 10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amarillo, TX

Very Nice Rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The room was were in was huge. A lot bigger than I expected. There were a few problems like the fridge wasn't very cold, there was no microwave, the lamp by the beds didn't work at all. Other than that it was very nice. We were on the 18th floor and had a great view. The restaurants are very expensive and the pool closes at 5 everyday so we didn't even get a chance to swim. Overall it was a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Nice Room

Posted Jul 21, 2017
My husband and I were impressed with the size of the room and we had a great view. We were very disappointed when we went to take showers and there was NO hot water! None at all. So we just suffered through. If we had been staying for more than 1 night we would have definitely complained. We will stay here again and hope there will be hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good price, good hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: - NIghtly rate. - No parking fees. - Breakfast at Hash House. - Adult pool.
Cons: - Combine room rate & resort fee. - WiFi strength & speed. - Shower drain.
Location: About 3/4 of a mile from the Strip, but I wouldn't recommend trying to walk there in the summer! Any typical LV activities are nearby.
Stayed 2 weeknights for our anniversary. Great rate ($35 per night) on big, comfortable room, but almost as much ($34 per night) for mandatory "resort fees," especially considering that the WiFi connection was weak and/or not very fast. (Just lump it all together as one fee!) Great breakfast at Hash House (had $25 dining credit), buffets seemed overpriced for what you actually get. Hotel has shuttle over to Harrah's on the Strip (3/4 mile away), but we didn't use it. Adult pool was nice, but lifeguards need to keep an eye out for kids coming in back entrance and adults throwing football around in pool, hitting others with ball. Shower tub drained REALLY slowly, had to wait 10 minutes between showers. Overall we were happy with our stay and would return.