Ratings based on 4,989 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel away from the strip but also close.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Free parking was nice. Fitness center small but sufficient. Nice to be away from the crowds near the strip. Room was comfortable and good size. Fridge in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great help at kiosk check-in was a nice surprise and saved time. Suites are large and always clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice staff. Received a complementary upgrade to a suite. Overall good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very nice room and view.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Nice room. Big. Beautiful view. Quiet too. Bed was very comfortable. Restaurants were a bit too expensive though. $51 per person for the buffet. Ouch!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Easy check in. Room service had limited menu and hours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Average Hotel away from the strip

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Not much, it was an average hotel.
Cons: Rooms & Casino
Location: Must drive or take a taxi or shuttle ride to the strip for entertainment other than what is offered at the Rio.
Upon arrival, the room we booked was not what was pictured on Expedia. It had a decent mountain view and was clean, but was not what I had booked. After talking with the receptionist at the front desk, they moved us to another room that had a worse view but gave us some coupons to compensate for our the inconvenience. The casino was nothing short of bland compared to those at Bally's, Caesars Palace, Paris, Planet Hollywood, and the Bellagio. The staff was fairly helpful and nice, but other than that, this hotel compared to others in Vegas is just average. Also on our last night at the Rio, we arrived to find multiple fire trucks, police, and ambulances at the main entrance due to a fire on one of the higher floors of the hotel. We were told by multiple staff members and guest that the fire was speculated to have started due to an electrical problem, but was contained and only inconvenienced the guest at that floor. I'd steer clear of staying at the Rio until it is fully renovated, there are plenty of other hotels on the strip that are more modern and closer to entertainment than the Rio and have similar price points for rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Even with multiple lamps in the room, it was still dark. Some of the lamps had problems with their light switches and you had to fiddle with them. My Mountain View was really more of you of an industrial area. The TV did not swivel and was very slow to change channels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stale

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Cannot think of one single thing
Cons: Lobby, Casino, Rooms, Bathrooms, Elevators, Restaurants, Facilities in general
Location: There's a shuttle to the strip
The Rio is in desperate need of renovation. I was told by a taxi driver that the power had been out for a few days the week prior to my stay. The power for the entire facility was out, for days. Won't stay at the Rio again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Automated check in was convenient. Cannot find information on wifi code. I had to call the front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City Ks

Nice hotel that could be great

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The service was excellent. The people were nice and had a smile on their face every time I spoke the them.
Cons: The elevators were horrible. Many of the floor buttons were broke. There was tile on the lobby floor by the elevator that was loose.
Location: The location was great. Off the strip and away from the congestion. It is close to the highway and convenient to locate.
The room was great and very comfortable. The view was not great. It over looked the top of the roof for what appeared to be the lobby. It also over looked the pool area, which appeared to be closed. The pools appeared to be in the process of being repaired. There were very unattractive stains in it. I also noticed the light fixtures had just been changed and spackle covering the old holes. With all of that being said, this is a very nice hotel. That pool area once fixed could be excellent and very attractive. The roof area could be decorated with pool equipment or something that makes the view more attractive and give an illusion that compliments the pool. I would stay here again, simply for the valet service. I did not mind tipping the staff before and after. I wish I could identify a specific person, but the fact is, they were all great. Your staff is second to none. Normally I can find one employee that is not happy with their job and complaining. Nope, not one. I would stay here again just for that reason. I am always willing to overlook the maintenance issues when the employees are this happy. It would appear, more attention is put on the employees than on the building. To me that is not a bad thing. There was a lady at the concierge desk, (black lady) I think her name started with an A. I'm bad with names but I still remember her face and attitude. She was a delight. I purchased tickets to Chris Angel and while doing so the conversation, perfect.