Ratings based on 10,178 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut CA

close to everything

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: room was well appointed
Cons: smoking is allowed in the casino It could be discouraged more
Location: Near MGM Grand, Excalibur, NYNY casinos. near the airport for easy access if you fly in. The whole strip is at your beck and call
Our stay at the Tropicana in Las Vegas was very very nice Found out on check-in that it was part of Hilton Honors, so got unexpected points there. The Tropicana is located near everything we wanted to see or visit. Plus the tram from Monte Carlo to Bellagio expanded the area of easy to get to places. Had dinner out and about a couple of nights - our usual haunts were accessible. The tables in the casino were tended by very friendly dealers The room was nice and clean and had a decetnt but not great view - didn't want to splurge on the view since we were going places. Over all a very nice place to spend a couple of nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you Terry for your review of the Tropicana. We are glad to hear that overall you were able to enjoy your stay. As a casino on the strip you are correct in that we allow smoking in the casino. However, we do use a filtration system to make it a comfortable area for all of our guests. We apologize that you were not able to experience that. We hope to see you again soon to exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma,WA

Nice hotel on the strip.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Hotel is nice. The price is pretty good. Everyone is friendly. When you need something it was taken care of quickly. I would stay here again. Room was quiet and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while at the Tropicana. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The staff and the room
Cons: I could not check out from the t.v. But it took no time at the desk
Location: Just across the road from MGM
I was checked in and in the room 5 mins after arriving, the room was huge and very clean. The staff very polite and efficient. I had an excellent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you Ian for your excellent review of the Tropicana. We apologize for the inconvenience for not being able to check out from the TV. After 11 you are not able to check out via the TV. However, we will review our system to make sure everything is working properly. Thank you again for choosing Tropicana. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Not such a nice place.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Rooms were simple. Beds clean. Room service would never bring us 4 towels only three, even though we had our family of four in two double bed room. At check in, it was not mentioned on Expedia that you pay an extra $32.00 a day for "resort fee: on top of what your booking price was. I wish they would just tell you what your price is without the check-in surprise. I find it deceitful. Pool was closed. Poor choice of restaurants and they were all very over priced. We went to other hotels like NY NY or MGM to find a better choice of restaurants with more acceptable prices. Final night, I think they fumigated our room or something. It smelled of paint or bug spray. Who would do that while it is occupied? Will not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel could do with a few upgrades.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The hotel was pretty decent, a couple of obvious flaws, poor paint on bathroom tiles. Bathroom extractor fan didn’t work, and WIFI was poor. Also all the pools were closed, even though temps were in the high 70s.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you Mick for your recent review of your stay at the Tropicana. We currently have plans in 2018 to do room renovations which will address the tiles in the bathroom. Most pools in Vegas close in October. 70 degrees is considered cold here in Vegas unfortunately. We hope you enjoyed your overall experience and look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SUN CITY CA

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: clean no parking fees
Cons: accounting . could not find reservation at arrival but was able to find it for a no show
Location: good location
could not find my expedia reservation. was charged full rate . credit card charged for no arrival+ 55.13 +142.98 .It has taken me three phone calls to the tropacana.to get the charges right. still waiting for the 55.13 to be taken off my credit card. and how was your day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Conveniently located on the strip

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Overall stay was great, one day room service didn't replace my towel or make the beds. Room was left a mess, I take blame for not wanting to make bed. But not leaving fresh towels and took one hour to get them after I requested them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you Amorous for your feedback. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay. We do apologize about the shortfalls you experienced in housekeeping. This will be shared with our housekeeping team to ensure we are continuously offering the best service possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Not a bad hotel but not the best eather? Tucked back off the strip , but still close enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of the Tropicana. We apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations, as we aim to do with each guest. We hope you will visit again soon so we can make it right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The pool was closed for the season. This included the beautiful outdoor area. The weather was really warm in the day and it would have been nice to have a relaxing area to enjoy the sunshine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We did close the pool for the season at the end of October, as the weather does begin to change. We do appreciate your feedback, and will take it in to consideration for the future, as we continuously want to improve. Thank you again for choosing the Tropicana, we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

The room was okay. I have issues with Expedia.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
I made and paid for this room on 9/28/17. Arrived to hotel on 11/14/17 and was told they did not have my reservation How embarrassing. I will never use Expedia ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Trop-Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback. We apologize for the experience you had while trying to stay with us at the Tropicana. Our reservations team is always available for any reservations you may want to make or questions you may have about upcoming stays. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.