Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad. The hotel was closed.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Booked on Expedia. Arrived at the hotel. It was closed and will re-open in 2 to 3 weeks. Had to find another hotel late in the night and pay for a premium. Very unprofessional from Expedia and the hotel owner. I do not recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond UK

Great location, Rooms very dated.

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Loved the location and the town of Sissi. A great family area and hotel right on the beach. Staff all lovely especially Ervis in the restaurant.
Cons: Rooms desperately need new decor and freshening.
Location: Right on the beach. Pub called Jolly Roger next door and 5 min walk to Sissi town for tavernas, shopping etc. Lovely family focused town to stay in.
We did enjoy our stay here but probably wouldnt recommend to others as we felt that the rooms are very tired and in need of updating. For instance, the decor is rather tired and there are a few strange things we found. The first one being there was no kettle in the kitchen and the utensils literally were knives, forks & spoons. No cooking utensils at all (such as wooden spoon, no sharp knife). Realise you dont want to do any cooking but a sharp knife would have been handy as we wanted to chop up some watermelon and fruit but couldn't. Secondly, the doors of the apartment were hard to open once fully shut and the balcony door cannot be opened from outside. Very strange! Would have liked more pillows in the room as only one provided per person. However, we did receive three more when asked. Thats the negatives, now the positives! Staff are wonderful, so happy and friendly. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice from pancakes/omelettes/fruits/yoghurts/cereals etc, etc. Very good. Hotel location and surroundings lovely and I have to commend the Housekeeping staff on the level of cleanliness as it was immaculate and they did a lovely job of cleaning our room each day. Close to many tavernas and supermarkets & shops in Sissi (5 minute walk away) so that is a bonus and the apartments are beach fronted.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Washington

Greek delight

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly reception staff. The pool area a bit dated with no covers for plastic sunbeds. Also another smaller pool at the rear of the hotel near the sea. Each pool had a bar and there were special nights around the pool with the theme of Greek music and food and wine. There was a sizeable restaurant with tables outside. I only had breakfast, but there was a good selection of foods and the staff were pleasant. Nice seaside location with plenty of value for money restaurants and coffee shops, supermarkets etc. Nice room with balcony overlooking the sea. Plenty to do with lots of trips available and limited bus service to main towns. Local taxis available at fair prices. Wifi in most places including public area of the hotel, although we managed to get it on our balcony. A beach about 200yds away but it was not very sandy in the sea, mostly large pebbles. The facilities at the beach were excellent, including food, drinks and wifi. Sisi is nice but quite small and you will probably need to hire a car or scooter to travel around. Agios Nicholias, Elounda and Heraklion are quite close and both well worth half a day at least. Malia and Stalis are much closer, both very lively and boisterous at times, but worth a visit for the restaurants and general buzz. Last, but not least, is the beautiful backdrop of the mountains rising from the coast and the broad sweep of Malia Bay and the glorious sunsets viewed from the seaside tavernas.
3 out of 5
by Stéphane from Versailles

Bof !

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels
Hôtel sans charme mais propre. Deux piscines, dont l'une avec des chambres très, très proches. Accès direct au bord de mer, mais pas à la plage : baignade impossible à cet endroit. La plage la plus proche se trouve à Sissi. Service au restaurant très "speed" et impersonnel, même si certains membres du personnel sont sympathiques. Cuisine adaptée à la clientèle essentiellement allemande. Mauvaise surprise : la climatisation n'est pas comprise dans le prix de la chambre et la rue est très bruyante ! Quant au Will-fi, il ne fonctionne pas dans les chambres et difficilement dans le hall. Il faut donc se réfugier dans l'espace commun pour aller sur Internet, comme tout le monde.
5 out of 5
by Kristian from London

"Best vacation ever"

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: None
Location: Perfect
I arrived with my partner and was upgraded immediately. I found the staff amazing, kind and considerate. I'd highly recommend the spa facilities in the Castillo boutique as well.
4 out of 5
by Sue from Frankfurt

Nice, relaxing hotel, nice pool, friendly staff.

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: The staff, the pool, the grounds.
Cons: The rooms could be updated a little and internet in the rooms would be nice :)
Location: There is the opportunity to take a lot of various tours, but I didn't go on any. Nice beach between Sissi and Malia.
I really needed to just chill and recuperate from a lot of work and this was the perfect place! Great value for the money. I loved the pool and free fitness center across street. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The hotel is very clean and breakfast and dinner buffet had good choices. I had a room facing the street, which I think was in the older part of the hotel. It was a little dated, but clean and spacious. It had a kitchenette, which was nice. The little town of Sissi is really cute with a decent number of restaurants and a few shops. If you want to do some great clothes shopping, Malia is about 7 km away, but there is only a bus once a day from the hotel. If you have a car, it's no problem. Don't bother going to Heraklion to shop. It's a big, loud, busy city. The only thing I was a little disappointed about was that there is no really nice beach in walking distance from the hotel. There are 2 beaches about a 10 minute walk from from the hotel, but they are not that great. The hotel is right on the water so the view is great, but the shoreline is very rocky right in front of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Joe Boy from Joe / London

Chilled out break

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: Enjoyed the poolside bar in the evening with a very hard working and entertaining barman. Good food and attentive staff.
Cons: Charges for air conditioning.Rooms need touching up.
Location: Very nice chilled out location with small harbour with lovely bars and taverners.
Hotel is sited 5 minutes from the small town of Sisi. Plenty of bars and taverners close by. We booked breakfast and dinner which we found very acceptable,plenty of fresh veg and tasty salads,good choice of meats and fish. Hotel staff attentive and helpful. Nice local bar called The Jolly Roger 2 minutes from the hotel as well as Hemingway's bar near the harbour. Reasonable supermarket across from the hotel called Socrates as well as several car/scooter hire agents. Happy train stops outside the hotel and were you can take a tour to Milatos. Only bugbear was the charge of 8 euros per day which is an essential must so be aware of the extra cost. Overall nice hotel in a lovely chilled out resort...would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet getaway

Posted Oct 6, 2010
If you want a quiet escape this hotel is good as it has a lovely pool, good food, is in a very quiet village with lots of supermarkets, shops & restaurants and has a great spa/massage place attached; but it is an expensive taxi ride from the airport and the showers are very small. There is a cheap local bus that leaves outside hotel every day at 9.15 that you can catch to waterworld, Heraklion and airport with a return ride in the afternoon and cute train that wanders around Sissi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from verona

VIAGGIO DI GRUPPO CON SORPRESA ALL'HOTEL....

Posted Jun 21, 2010
la pulizia delle stanze è stata quasi inesistente, in 08 giorni sono stati cambiati gli asciugamani solo una volta (quando era segnalato il cambio biancheria 03 volte la settimana). la spiaggia vicino all'hotel è inesistente. l'aria condizionata è a pagamento (08 euro al giorno). Il terzo letto della camera tripla era un materassino su una base di cemento. le piscine non erano soddisfacenti (molto piccole). in generale l'hotel non rispecchia assolutamente un 4 stelle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vaux - Suisse

Nous y sommes retournés pour la deuxième fois.

Posted Oct 27, 2008
Hôtel sympa. Personnel très acceuillant et super avec les enfants. Bonne ambiance autour du bar le soir et général. Bonne cuisine. Chambre spacieuse, propre et confotable.