Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Chicago

Easter on Crete.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, fantastic views, great dining, delicious breakfasts, wonderful public areas inside and out, our amazing bungalow (7) and our private pool!
Cons: Suggest only children of a certain age and older to be guests!!!!!!
Location: I need to add to the "What did I like about this hotel" above...We loved the Sommelier, the Bar Tender, the Piano player and several of the wait staff
We have stayed in Relais and Chateau properties several times. Elounda Mare is a lovely property, wonderful bungalows, terrific dining-but too full of very small children. We realize this was Easter, but the number of tiny babies, toddlers and young children was just too much. The serene setting of this hotel was not the place for them. You could not dine, sunbathe, walk or enjoy the comfort of your room without the constant sound of crying and screaming kids was not what we expected. Children ran on the rooftop in front of our bungalow, took scooters to breakfast, whine and cried during candlelight dinners and fussed during piano playing in the lounge at night.I spoke to reception about this, but not much was offered by way of consoling irritated guests. This is not the standard of Relais and Chateau we are used to. We love kids, but look to our holidays for peace and quiet, not a spectator of a children's play area. If you subtract the children, it was a truly lovely place, a place we would love to come back to stay.
4 out of 5
by Guy from Belfast

Elounda Mare, Crete

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, lovely hotel, my room a bit small, easy access to local attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, but improvements are needed

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Our suite in the main building was in need of updating and the a/c did not properly work. The bathroom shower was uncomfortable small, but the bathtub was ridiculously large. So large that when you used the toilet your knees would hit the bathtub. Fortunately we were transferred to a bungalow that had working a/c and a better bathroom layout. I found the service to be lacking 5-star quality. Also, I observed and experience a lack of communication between resort staff. One example, it took several attempts by various waiters to place an order at their resort restaurants. The beach staff did not frequent guests to offer additional drinks/food. The best part of the resort was the beach and its access to the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

An Oasis

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: 1 hour from the airport, a short cab ride (6 euros) into the town of Elounda, the hotel is nestled perfectly overlooking the bay.
Elounda Mare is an absolute gem. Hidden in the Elounda hillside as if the hotel grew out of the landscape and with a sweeping view of a cerulean blue bay, this is a hotel to be reckoned with. The Chateau & Relais association is earned here as the level of service is truly 5 star. The concierge Margherita was extremely helpful with 'off campus' suggestions and the Hotel's Sommelier was charming and informative. This is a romantic, relaxing getaway. As noted in other reviews, the best food is to be found at The Old Mill on the hotel grounds. The buffet breakfast is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Great selection for a long weekend escape.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the sea.
Cons: More restaurants could be open for lunch. Not much selection at lunch time.
Location: About a 45 minute drive from the airport. Five minute drive to the town of Elounda.
Overall, very positive. Nice amenities, great spa and good selection of restaurants across three sister hotels all located side by side to each other.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

Beautiful physical presence and private waterfront

Posted Oct 4, 2011 on Hotels
We had a very enjoyable week. The staff were most helpful and friendly, the hotel imaculate and very aesthetically pleasing. Our standard sea view room was large, comfortable with beautiful marble floor. the beds were comfortable, the aircon very efficent, the fridge was handy. The balcony was large and very comfortable and enjoyable to sit on to watch the sea and enjoy the view of the Gulf of Mirabello.The beach and swimming were all one could want. The only drawback for us was the high price of food although as we did not sample dinner we cannot comment on value for money. Lunch on one occasion was fairly ordinary. However local restaurants in Elounda were variable in quality so food was the only thing that let down the holiday for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Elunda Mare - Pure Luxury

Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels
Beautiful resort with impecable service. Walk to the quaint town of Elounda. The Six Senses Spa was the best spa experience I have ever had. The only complaint was the food was good, but not great (especially for the price).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bel hotel pour un sejour à Elounda

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nous avons passé 6 jours merveilleux dans cet hôtel situé dans un cadre magnifique,le personnel est d'une gentillesse sans pareil et fait tout pour vous faire plaisir Petit bémol pour la décoration des salons du bâtiment principal qui est un peu désuète Nourriture excellente,propreté impeccable Le point fort la vue sur la mer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Genève

Un hôtel de grande classe

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Tout !
Cons: Rien !
Malheureusement, mon expérience fut très brève car je partais le lendemain matin, déjà à l'aube. Mais, il est évident dès l'accueil, que l'hôtel est de grande classe, magnifiquement situé en front de mer, impeccablement entretenu, avec un personnel parfaitement stylé à tous les postes. J'ai pu profité d'un souper "folklorique", avec danses traditionnelles de l'île et buffet avec plats nationaux et locaux.