Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mark James from Ireland

Great long weekend get away at end of April

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We went for a 5 day get away at the end of April. The weather was great and the hotel was perfect. The adults only nature of the hotel ensured that we didn't have to put up with kids running around, the food was excellent for all three meals. Only 20 minute walk from Elounda town allowed us to also go to eat/shop there. Car rental service directly from the hotel was efficient. The staff very friendly and helpful. The Wednesday night show of traditional Greek music and dance was lively. The private pool on the balcony was perfect for a dip after a hot day. Great service of the receptions, managers and concierge during and after the trip. Staff spoke at least 3 languages without problem. Only potential negative is the distance from Heriaklion if you need to go there (and some of the sites around), however do not hesitate to rent a car for one or two days if necessary!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, ny

Nice hotel for a relaxing vacation

Posted Oct 26, 2014
My wife and I went there for our honeymoon. The hotel is well kept and clean. The room is basic with no frills but comfortable. The housekeeping staff kept the room very clean mopping everyday. The room we got had a shared pool with the room next door. It was nice to have but we rarely used iy and only got sun in the morning so not sure if it is worth it to spend the extra money unless you come earlier in the season and its warmer. I would recomend asking for a room that is higher up on the hill if you are physically able to do the hike. The hill is pretty steep but the view is amazing. The main pool was where we were most of the time. They have a pool bar and there is always food around. Toward the end of their season in oct they do an all inclusive with includes all food and alchohol and drinks. It really made this trip affordable for us. The food was fantastic it is buffet style and they have lots of options amd it changes everyday. The beach was also very nice. Had its own bar there as well and they provided chairs and umbrellas. The hotel is within walking distance of elunda which is a great place to grab a bite. I recommend rudi's a pub that great basic bar food and has some great drinks and patrons. We made friends with a lot of folks there. You can also take a boat to spinalinga in elunda as well. Plaka has great shopping. The highed praise of this hotel is the staff. They are warm and friendly and really made our stay special. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Todor from Sofia, Bulgaria

Amazing relaxing holiday

Posted Oct 13, 2013
My wife and I choose this hotel for our 5th anniversary and we can't be more happy with our choice! The hotel is the best if you want a relaxing vacation with no noisy kids/teenagers around. The staff is simply amazing! Friendly, professional and always ready to help they made or vacation special. We will definitely go back again next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claudia from Dunfanaghy, Ireland

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: The friendliness of all staff
Cons: Gettng to the room as it was on top of the hill and a very steep climb!
Location: Great views
No kids or noisy teenagers, so very relaxing! Food excellent, I especially liked the Tuesdays which were Cretan themed buffet and music, NIce entertainment, a bit for every taste (I did not like the Dancers, found them a bit cheap and tacky but some seemed to like them!) All staff extremely friendly although it was almost end of the season and they have had a long season! I would absolutely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Modern. comfortable, quiet but NB steep terrain.

Posted May 17, 2012
A good option for those looking for a quieter location some 2.5km from the Elounda strip. Not suitable for those with mobility issues due to the steep terrain. Best to go for half board. The self-service buffet works well and the food is a bit better than the average taverna. The out-of-season all inclusive package is good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good Location

Posted Oct 3, 2011 on Hotels
The food at the Elounda Blue Bay Hotel was very good. The rooms could do with an update,the floors in the rooms need tiling,they are just painted concrete,and the decor is a bit tired. I would not grade the hotel 4 star,more 3 star,but for the price we paid,we were very pleased. The hotel is not suitable for anyone with immobility,as the rooms are on a VERY steep hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Preston, UK

Extremely friendly hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2010
We have stayed at the Elounda Blue Bay three times over the last six years. It is always a pleasure to return there. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Food is good and plentiful. Rooms though a little tired are very clean and comfortable, with plenty of clean towels. The views are out of this world, what more could you ask for?
4 out of 5
by CH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by CORMERY from Nantes

Très bel hôtel à Elounda

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Super hôtel, bien placé entre Elounda et Plaka. Chambre très agréable, propre avec tous le confort nécessaire (Lit 160, bouilloire, TV, Frigo...). La salle de bains est un peu petite mais bien agencée avec douche à l'italienne. Le service est très bon et les employés très souriants. Les repas sont magnifiques : buffets très bien achalandés et très frais... Enfin, bref, un hôtel à recommander chaudement !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hervorragende Lage, aber renovierungsbedürftig!

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Das Hotel is sehr in die Jahre gekommen und die Bilder, die auf der Website gezeigt werden, spiegeln ca. 20% der verfügbaren Zimmer wieder, also leider nicht die Realität. Die Zimmer sind definitiv renovierungsbedürftig! Das Personal ist aber unglaublich freundlich und aufmerksam, das Buffet sehr abwechslungsreich und lecker, die Lage ist hervorragend.