Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: I like how small and personable it is, front desk look out for you. I left a pair of earring upon leaving (by choice), staff alerted me quickly
Cons: I would have like to use the sauna or gym without someone having to be down there with me. I don't need someone to show me how to use gym equipment
Location: Location, Location, location! Two blocks from metro which will get you ANYWHERE!! Pay attention, ask metro staff questions, GET Out, Explore and WALK!
The Grand Hotel Saint Michel was a great experience from check in to check out. We arrived before check in (around 10:30 am) and was surprised to learn that our room was ready (that was cool because we were TIRED!). The staff at the desk spoke fluent English +++++ and they were sooo nice!. The room was on the small side but that was expected and we were able to separate the beds for 2 people. The shower was a little tricky (we had to call down to front desk to get assistance) bring your own wash cloths because they don't have any! We bought some at MOnoprix store during SOLDES (only $1.5 euros each). The front desk helped us get last minute reservations to Chez Papa Jazz club Chez Papa to see artist Sandra Booker. We had breakfast included in our package and it was AWESOME with real eggs, pancakes, different meats, cheeses, fruits, bread, cereals, yogurt, stir fry vegetables and FRESH juices (don't sleep on they breakfast). I asked about the gym and you had to make reservation for that. The hotel was about 2 block from Luxemburg train station which will get you anywhere you want, including airport. There is a lot to do in the area, but you must venture out to get a good feel of Paris. Would I stay here again? Yes, without a doubt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great experience here.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and the breakfast buffet was worth every euro. Location was great to get to all the river main attractions. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Ranmal, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Mary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the hotel, its staff and the buffet breakfast and thank you for your compliments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Ranmal - Front Desk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not for business related trips

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lower price for the room and provide some complimentary ear plugs.
The hotel has good facilities. My room (that was double) was actually a small size (in my opinion). The room was cleaned and comfortable. I went there for business and I could not sleep properly 1 night since there was a heavy metal rock concert nearby on a Wednesday! night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Ranmal - Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to see you appreciated some features of the hotel. To address the issues you had with room size, we do have different categories of rooms with different sizes to suit all our guests' needs. Furthermore, the Wednesday night you are referring to where there was some music in the streets in the evening and a little bit at night, was an exceptional event that happens once a year. La Fête de la musique (Music day) which is celebrated on the first day on summer, all throughout France. On that day, professional and amateur musicians play in bars, restaurants, streets for free and for everyone to enjoy. Unfortunately, we can't control the noise they make on that special day. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced by those rare and unique circumstances and hope you understand. We wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One person was an exceptional hotel staff person.

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: I had a superior room so I really don't know what others were like but the bathroom was nice sized and had a good shower.
Cons: Some staff could be more helpful.
Location: It was close to attractions, self laundry, bakeries, and half way between a metro(for Navigo sale) in one direction and an RER in the other.
When we arrived and even before when I was checking out the hotel there was one person who was exceptional. It just seemed her nature to be helpful and pleasant. Her name was Clotilde. That was not the same for other desk people however one of whom dismissed my question about the bus map when she didn't know it by saying Parisians don't take buses and the night man who after he was called about the nearby bar with 20 people singing in the street 3 hours after quiet time still had not called to quiet it down so we could sleep and finally we had to call 017 and speak with the night police.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent and well located hotel in Paris

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The Grand Hotel St Michel is a very comfortable and impeccably located facility in the Latin Quarter. The staff is very helpful and the rooms confortable and clean. Even the breakfast, which although was not included in the price paid, was excellent and a very fast and good option to cover the 1st day meal. I highly recommend this place for those who prefer to stay on the Left Bank of Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
A great hotel with agreat staff and location. The room was well designed and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 30, 2017
Great location. Close to transit. A 10min walk to Notre dame. Very friendly staff!!. Greatcwater pressure in the shower and a very comfy bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Clotilde, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding the hotel. We are very pleased to see that our services and staff fulfilled all your expectations. We hope we would have the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bronx, ny

Nice Hotel, friendly staff

Posted May 23, 2017
The staff were super friendly and helpful. The only negative is if you use wash clothes they are hard to come by. You get two thin and i mean paper thin wash clothes and thats it. We had to go purchase loofahs to bathe with. But i will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but next to school. A little noisy.

Posted May 19, 2017
Would stay again but ask for outside room. Staff was awesome!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Ranmal - Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Dear Madam or Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff and the service. We put a lot of effort in trying to satisfy the guests as much as possible. We are sorry to hear that you found it a bit noisy. We recommend our guests to mention in the booking if they prefer a quiet room so we can accomodate a room on the courtside. But our location is still pretty quiet, in regards to traffic, since we are in a small discret street. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Central location

Posted May 19, 2017
The hotel is in a great central location, near cafes, shops and attractions. As it is a boutique hotel the rooms are small, if you are the traveler who likes to spread out luggage it's not really possiable in the rooms (stayed in 605). The breakfast buffet is fantastic, lots of options and filling for a day of touring. The staff is very helpful with calling shops if you have any questions or inquiries and are all polite and helpful. Overall a good pick if you don't mind a small room and don't plan on being in it much but then again who stays in a room when touring around France!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Ranmal - Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Nicole, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate the compliments you made about the hotel and staff. Regarding the room size, you were in Classic room but there are, of course, other categories of rooms and their sizes vary accordingly. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel. Kind regards,