Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great staff , Hotel it's a in good locatio not far from the heart of Madrid.
4 out of 5
by Doak

Clean, Quiet, and Perfect for the Budget Traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a close walk to restaurants, bars, tourist sites, and train/metro stations. Best of all, it's clean and affordable. It' light on the extras, but if you get a room with a balcony, the view of the city at night is spectacular! Also, ask for Jose Carlos at the desk, and he will be sure to give you tips for exploring the area that are spot on! Excellent service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent, clean, well-positioned hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was efficient and I was not even asked for a credit card for guaranteeing anything. The room is very basic (kind of funny it is so basic) but beds pillows and linens very clean with fresh laundered scent. Floor was spotless. Oscar is the day manager and even though I speak fluent Spanish I heard him speak English well to other guests. He was very helpful by answering all my "tourist" questions. He even called a taxi for us when we checked out. There is an ATM across the side entrance to the hotel. Easy to use. Absolutely worthwhile paying the extra for breakfast-included deal. My husband and I were amazed at the spread and delicious coffee. The room is pleasant and big and I can't begin to describe how delicious everything was. Great way to start a day. I had trepidations about the looks of the hotel from the photo, and indeed the "lobby" is tiny and dated... but for cleanliness/location and in-room safe along with front desk support who make you feel very appreciated I would not stay at any other hotel if I can visit Madrid again. Just being on the street that leads to the Palace is a plus as it offers great eateries and shops for anything you might need at the spur of the moment, at good prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, United States of America

Eight Nights in Oct. 2016

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Bring up Hotel Reyes Catolicas on Google Maps and check out "nearby places" for the high points. Walk around the area to discover everything else.
I liked the location, a 7-minute walk from La Latina metro stop and maybe 15 min. from Plaza Mayor and Sol. There were a lot of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. nearby. The room was clean and functional, but mine was small and opened onto a a viewless airshaft. Whenever there were other guests in the hallway, noise from their conversations and exclamations carried into the room as if there were no barrier. Their wi-fi system could not provide a secure connection - for my devices which are protected with internet security- this meant "read-only" functionality for many apps and features. For example, with email, I could read and send, but could not open any previously saved emails. I couldn't use banking, airline, or other apps that contained secured information either. The staff was courteous and professional, but no one I encountered seemed to know more than a few words of English. They could understand my Spanish okay, but their Castillian Spanish was very different from what I had encountered in Mexico, Costa Rica, or Peru. If you want a place to stay while you explore Madrid and nearby places, HRC works out fine, but if "being in a hotel" is your main objective, probably not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibsons Canada

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff are very helpful and speak excellent English
Cons: The air conditioning was sporadic
Location: Location was excellent for near by tapas bars and close to all the sights
Excellent location near by tapas bars and all major sights
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is clean and convenient to all sights. Receptionists are all nice and helpful, in particular, Jose Carlos. Jose was so lovely, he took a keen interest in the stuff you get up to in Madrid, helps you with anything you need, he recommended some great places to visit and places to eat during my stay. He really goes out of his way to ensure you enjoy your stay!
5 out of 5
by Jaime from Illinois

A pleasant stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
An average hotel but the Front Desk and restaurant staff made it like a 5 star. Room was small but very comfortable with excellent bathroom size. Location was perfect, easy to find, quite neighborhood and a few minutes walk from 2 metro stations ( La Latina and Puerto de Toledo) and the city center
4 out of 5
by Pornpanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Vidal

Price okay but don't expect much and you will be f

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is supposed to be non- smoking. It is definitely not
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located business hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The rooms lack charm and the bed is too noisy. The location of the hotel is good, in a calm street, 10 minutes away from Plaza Mayor