Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Close to attractions, but not a nice hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Proximity to attractions.
Cons: Helpfulness of front desk, cleanliness of rooms, more vegetarian options at the breakfast
Location: close to the royal palace, cathedral, etc.
I booked this hotel after reading good reviews here raving about how it was a cheap yet great quality hotel. The first day we were there, everything was ok. The room had a bad view and we requested a room change and were told that there was one room opening the next day so we waited to switch. The concierge was extremely nice that day and was very helpful. The breakfast was nice, however it was not vegetarian-friendly so we weren't able to try many of things they offered. However, the following day we discovered many ants in our bathroom (picture is attached). It was absolutely disgusting. We went downstairs to the (new) concierge to tell him about the problem, and he blew it off and told us it was because we were "eating in our room." Um, what? First, the ants were in our bathroom (not the room), so there was no chance it was due to food. Second, the maids came by everyday to dump out our trashcan which had any empty food containers in it (the rest of our food was in the fridge). After we told him again it was in our bathroom and showed him the picture, he realized how what he had said previously didn't make any sense. He told us he'd have a maid come by later to disinfect the bathroom (no apology). This same concierge was extremely unhelpful with telling us how to navigate the city. We had chosen this hotel because we had heard that the front desk was very helpful...however we had to figure it all out ourselves (transportation, attractions, etc). Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Does the job

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The hotel was pleasant enough however the breakfast was very limited and they didn't replace items that had run out very often, I had to ask for a lot of items to be replaced. The staff were okay. The man at reception in the morning was very friendly and helped us with any enquiries. The man at reception in the afternoons/evenings wasn't as friendly and was standoff-ish. The rooms were cleaned each morning to a good standard and the wifi became temperamental in the evenings for some reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful hotel in Latina

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I returned to Madrid after 20 years and decided to stay at HRC again. It is very clean, good service every single day. The three receptionists greet you every time you come and go. The hotel has a breakfast area which I didn't use because I bought from there coffee (delicious) with bread or sandwich. I love the location of the hotel, so close to the market, metro, the Royal Palace and many churches. The room windows didn't lock and hopefully something can be done about that. Otherwise, beautiful stay!!! I was sad to leave.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great staff , Hotel it's a in good locatio not far from the heart of Madrid.
4 out of 5
by Doak

Clean, Quiet, and Perfect for the Budget Traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a close walk to restaurants, bars, tourist sites, and train/metro stations. Best of all, it's clean and affordable. It' light on the extras, but if you get a room with a balcony, the view of the city at night is spectacular! Also, ask for Jose Carlos at the desk, and he will be sure to give you tips for exploring the area that are spot on! Excellent service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent, clean, well-positioned hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was efficient and I was not even asked for a credit card for guaranteeing anything. The room is very basic (kind of funny it is so basic) but beds pillows and linens very clean with fresh laundered scent. Floor was spotless. Oscar is the day manager and even though I speak fluent Spanish I heard him speak English well to other guests. He was very helpful by answering all my "tourist" questions. He even called a taxi for us when we checked out. There is an ATM across the side entrance to the hotel. Easy to use. Absolutely worthwhile paying the extra for breakfast-included deal. My husband and I were amazed at the spread and delicious coffee. The room is pleasant and big and I can't begin to describe how delicious everything was. Great way to start a day. I had trepidations about the looks of the hotel from the photo, and indeed the "lobby" is tiny and dated... but for cleanliness/location and in-room safe along with front desk support who make you feel very appreciated I would not stay at any other hotel if I can visit Madrid again. Just being on the street that leads to the Palace is a plus as it offers great eateries and shops for anything you might need at the spur of the moment, at good prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, United States of America

Eight Nights in Oct. 2016

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Bring up Hotel Reyes Catolicas on Google Maps and check out "nearby places" for the high points. Walk around the area to discover everything else.
I liked the location, a 7-minute walk from La Latina metro stop and maybe 15 min. from Plaza Mayor and Sol. There were a lot of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. nearby. The room was clean and functional, but mine was small and opened onto a a viewless airshaft. Whenever there were other guests in the hallway, noise from their conversations and exclamations carried into the room as if there were no barrier. Their wi-fi system could not provide a secure connection - for my devices which are protected with internet security- this meant "read-only" functionality for many apps and features. For example, with email, I could read and send, but could not open any previously saved emails. I couldn't use banking, airline, or other apps that contained secured information either. The staff was courteous and professional, but no one I encountered seemed to know more than a few words of English. They could understand my Spanish okay, but their Castillian Spanish was very different from what I had encountered in Mexico, Costa Rica, or Peru. If you want a place to stay while you explore Madrid and nearby places, HRC works out fine, but if "being in a hotel" is your main objective, probably not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibsons Canada

Great location and helpful staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff are very helpful and speak excellent English
Cons: The air conditioning was sporadic
Location: Location was excellent for near by tapas bars and close to all the sights
Excellent location near by tapas bars and all major sights