Ratings based on 1,845 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Plenty of room and a lovely view
Cons: Just the way of getting to the room Not really suitable for seniors
Location: We walked everywhere or caught the free Bus
Too many narrow stairs (34) to drag suit cases up 3rd floorp
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the room was comfortable with a nice view. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakleigh, melb

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Delightful buildings, and very convenient location. Very clean rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff. The gorge walk right at your door. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Mick, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the hotel was conveniently located and the rooms clean and staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Really beautiful apartments, very clean and tidy and great location. Easy parking and great restaurants in easy walking distance, and short drive the Cataract Gorge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank You for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the apartment was clean and tidy and the location to the main attractions convenient and close. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Nice atmosphere
It has a very welcoming environment that we enjoyed. The view was pleasant and the atmosphere was wonderful. The cleanliness of the room was great and everything is working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the room was clean and comfortable and that you felt welcomed. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bendigo

Old world charm

Posted Nov 30, 2017
My second stay at Penny Royal. Memories served me well. Still same old world charm. Large dark beams in ceiling, rooms appear darker with special effect on windows and decor. Bathrooms have been renovated to a good standard with a large shower and interesting shower head which tells user how many Litres have been used and the water temperature in a range of colours. Reception staff were welcoming. Bar opposite had a good atmosphere, however chairs were uncomfortable. Close to cataract gorge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Nett, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that your return visit was not disappointing and that you enjoyed your time. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Historic hotel with modern comforts

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Love love the unique exterior and interior of the hotel room. The lofty ceilings are a hit with our young kids as well. They also love running up and down the carpeted creaky stairs. Location of the hotel was really central - can walk to city centre. Check in was a breeze though the reception and the rooms were located a 200m drive away. Room came with everything we needed for a comfortable stay and there was an area for us to cook as well. Only peeves were nowere to hang up change of clothes in bathroom and there were stairs to drag luggage up before reaching the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Y, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you and the family enjoyed your time with us and loved the unique character of our property and the convenient location to the main attractions of Launceston. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo

Attractive building but amenities etc... lacking

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Noisy evening with pub opposite and early morning With traffic and dusbin men Original set up and building but the archaism soon fades away ! And by the way recommending or not depends on the purpose etc so you should have another option “ it depends “
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear lapin, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was disappointed to read that your time with us was only satisfactory. I apologize in relation to the noise from the Restaurant and the traffic, I do appreciate that at times it can be noisy with patrons and road noise. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, it can definitely look at accommodating you in a different section of either complex to ensure a more comfortable and enjoyable stay. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Full of chararacter and great location

Posted Nov 21, 2017
A hotel with lots of character since it is in a restructured mill. Big, comfortable, quiet room, laundry and good restaurant. However the cleaners were slapdash - they did not respond when we left a note that the sink was blocked, left dirty cleaning rags and badly washed crockery . No airconditioning. Staff not particularly helpful to Asian tourists
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and the history of the hotel. I do apologize in relation to housekeeping and the service provided and I will address this issue with them. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Stay Well, Natasha
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to park and other facilities

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Bed is too soft if you prefer soft bed is fine Room is a little bit smelling probably from the carpet but overall I give a thumb up
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Pad, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Nice hotel with character and charm. All staff were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Natasha , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and the unique character of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck