Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Lovely hotel in a convenient location

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The location was terrific!
Cons: The carpet in our room was a little worn, but the rest of the room was absolutely lovely.
Location: Lausanne is a lovely, vibrant city with a beautiful waterfront and a great "old" town.
We really enjoyed Lausanne and found the promimity of this hotel to the waterfront and the metro very convenient. It was super hot in Switzerland when we were there and we were pleasantly relieved to find that this hotel had air conditioning. (Few do.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Posted Jul 22, 2017
I enjoyed my stay. Staff helpful and friendly. Room was a bit small but had lots of character and charm. Restaurants are really good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich, Switzerland

Great location, nice typical local hotel

Posted May 7, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: location, room
Cons: no cream was provided in the room for coffee and tea..... minibar variety could be improved fitness room
in a junior suite, lovely room, free internet access no fitness facility however, within 5 min walking distance to lake 20m besides metro which takes you to lake and downtown easily free transportation within the city 10 min from olympic center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would chose The Carlton again

Posted Mar 19, 2017
On arrival i was delighted to find the hotel right by the exit from Delices metro staton - could't be more conveniently located. Beautiful building with stylish decor, lovely clean room with probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. If you like watching TV you get to enjoy a quality large flat-screen set with countless channels in a variety of languages. Reception staff are extremely helpful; personally I'm indebted to Nicholas who went out his way to contact the public transport company and help me trace a bag that I left on a bus by accident. I'm so very grateful to the decent people of Lausanne: my bag was found and handed over to the bus driver. If I'm lucky enough to visit Lausanne again, Carlton will be my first choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Posted Feb 10, 2017
very classic and romantic. Staff was very nice and well trained
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
This is a lovely hotel. Their breakfast is expensive but quite extensive. It is centrally located. If you have heavy luggage beware there are several step to navigate to get into hotel. The beds are quite comfortable and the balcony is a wonderful surprise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant and tasteful hotel centrally-located

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
We found this hotel to be quite elegant but low-key, very nice staff (patient with our bad French and speaking perfect English when we wanted it), very nice décor in the rooms, which featured traditional cloth wallpaper. Situated quite centrally but only moderate traffic. We'll be more than happy to come back to Lausanne and this hotel as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location. Really close to metro, so you can go up and down the hill as you please.
Room was small for three (me, my husband and our 18-month-old daughter). Location was great. Very easy to take the metro to the lake or up to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The room was very comfortable and luxurious Parking available at a surchage
Cons: Stuff should be more welcoming and "warmer"
Location: centre of town, 5 minutes walk from the centre and the chateaux
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Very beautiful and comfortable executive room with a balcony in the centre of town. Good but expensive breakfast - children's were free so that was a good offer. Great that they have parking (paid) on site Staff were polite but very cold. Didn't make you feel welcome....