Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from utah

Honeymoon Hotel?

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The period decor was beautiful.
Cons: Please clean up the hot tubs
Location: Lava is always a perfect getaway with wonderful local people.
After staying in different rooms around Lava, I was actually a little disappointed here. The staff knew very little about the history of Riverside Inn which is something we really look forward to. But they were friendly. And although they offered us robes and towels to the hot tubs, we were also disappointed in how small and in bad repair the 3 tubs were. The chef is excellent and breakfast was perfect with personal masterpieces we truly enjoyed but we could not afford the dinner menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful small hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
A historic hotel, more like a B&B. No problems with check-in. 1 1/2 blocks to the public hot pools and sunken garden. The restaurant was superb. I had the Almond-Cashew stuffed avocado salad. Super-delicious! never had anything like it before. Staff was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Liz, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the staff and the Almond Cashew Stuffed Avocado salad (one of my favorites too). Come see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blackfoot, Id

Charming historic hotel on the river

Posted May 6, 2017
Location: The town itself is so quaint. The locals are wonderful and ready to talk your ear off for as long as you have time. Make sure you visit the museum!!
The Riverside is a charming hotel that is on the national historic registry. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the operations manager, Elizabeth Tuttle, was so nice. There are 4 seperate hot tubs, three of which are private rooms and one is outside overlooking the river. Our bed was so amazingly comfortable we awoke refreshed and ready to enjoy the day in Lava. The continental breakfast was just right, the meat and vegie pastries were to die for!! We could see why it was nicknamed the honeymoon hotel. :) Thanks for a wonderful time, couldn't have enjoyed it more!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Liz, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Love staying at this hotel it's the best! Love that the pools are inside! Love the view of the river!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Very quaint and historic

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Staff was very accommodating, friendly and polite. Hotel is very historic, built in 1918. The decor inside walks one back in time. Very tastefully done. Very quaint and comfortable. The dining was very exquisite a fine dining experience. A very fine chef. I will stay again if I ever get back that way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Smelled like a cat box!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Hotel is extremely old, needs serious upgrades, smells like 100 cars love there, it creeks and the rooms are crammed and the beds are rock hard and sunk in the blankets are old the pillows are old, u might as well sleep in the wood floors, it's probably safer it does have cable on the smallest tv ever, and no privacy curtains so light shines in at night from street lights and when the sun comes up its awful, so humid and stuffy u can't even breath, breakfast was awful m we were afraid to eat... The hot spas were cool but nothing else good to say about this place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Park City, UT

About average for Lava Hot Springs

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Whole area is an older community... however, Riverside could be a nicer B & B with a little attention to some details, but instead, tired to say the least. Lady when we checked in seemed to be preoccupied and not very helpful, attentive or thorough. Breakfast included was Continental, expected a B & B styled breakfast. So, overall, over priced. Mineral bathes on property should just be skipped and go to the Community Hot Springs which is a wonderful facility!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you visit us again.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Than you for your wonderful rating and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent rating and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.