Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler AZ

neat hotel in a unique tiwn

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Historic hotel in a very neat unique place. Hotel could use some updating for sure nice continental breakfast. Hotel could be wonderful with some updates! The towns mineral hot springs are great. Hotels hot pools need updating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Close to the hot water pools

Posted Aug 24, 2015
If they would invest in new carpet new paint job and fixing the pool rooms it would make it a dream getaway. Instead it smelled bad it was musty and I couldn't dare go into the pool rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Extensive continental breakfast. Lovely common areas. Pet friendly. Price.
Cons: Beds
Location: Hot springs and water park.
We'd been curious about Lava Hot Springs for a long time, so when logistics worked out, we were very happy to visit. The Riverside Hotel is 100 years old, a gem when built and still charming but needing new beds and some updating. We appreciated its helpful, friendly staff, the extensive continental breakfast, and its being pet-friendly. We really liked the public space common in older hotels so we could hang out and get the best wi-fi connections. It was too cold for time outdoors, but the area overlooking the river seemed inviting. We didn't try the private hot spring facilities or the restaurant, both supposed to be good. The town is still a regular place, not gentrified or Disneyfied and the state-owned springs and water park well kept up. We recommend the whole thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Hotel with hot springs pools

Posted Jun 9, 2015
30 minute slots for hot tubs, private use. Nice hotel. No coffee, no hair dryer in rooms. Continental breakfast was good. Nice lobbies, historic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Old but clean hotel

Posted May 3, 2015
Well, what can I say. The hotel itself was definitely old (the door to our room was no longer aligned straight due to settling so there was a sizable gap at the top, and our bathroom door dragged along the linolium, making it difficult to open/close), but fairly clean. Just don't expect nice, new stuff. The thing that really put a monkey wrench in our stay is something every hotel probably struggles with-- nonstop trains right behind our room. All night long. About 10 minutes apart. It was pretty awful. My husband ended up getting about 2 hours of sleep. Oh, and we had breakfast at the hotel because we received vouchers for $7 off each meal. The waitresses we're nice, albeit slow. The food was okay... but the wait to order and receive our food kinda ruined it. Not to mention the $2.50 spent for a side order of 2 slices of bacon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic but not Epic

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
This is a historic hotel, and although I was expecting a niche environment, I wasn't expecting a hostel-like experience. There is one bathroom that includes a shower that is shared amongst hotel guests. The rooms are very intimate- as in small and thin walls. The beds were awful; I had to toss and turn because my sides kept going numb. They did offer a complimentary breakfast (redeemable with a voucher that was slipped under our door really in the morning- like 4 am), but we weren't told that it stopped at 10:30, at which time we were already checking out. I will be back to Lava Hot Springs, but not to this hotel. It does have it's quaint historic effect, but not at all comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UTah

Enjoyable stay at Riverside Inn at Lava

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Room, Staff, food, lounge and private tubs
Cons: Couldn't get a massage was our only disappointment
Location: We didn't leave the hotel for very long because it was pretty chilly outside. So we just stayed in and enjoyed the hotel.
My friend and I were both pleasantly surprised with our overnight stay at Riverside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Neilburg

A real treat!

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Well worth getting off the I-15 for! So thankful we took the time! It is not your run of the mill chain hotel so go with an open mind. We were very impressed and will highly recommend to all our friends. Staff was friendly. Food was exceptional and the ambience was a real nice change!