Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel ncely placed to explore Suffolk

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The Brasserie was more like a school canteen and the chairs were cheap plastic with thin legs and most uncomfortable. did not fit in with the surrounc
Cons: Refurbish the Brasserie furniture.we were not offered to order wine but ordered a bottle which was placed on our table unopened and noone came to serv
Location: Need more space to finish comments. I will contact the hotel manager separatley . The staff and service at breakfast were excellent.room not serviced
The Hotel Reception was very pleasant on arrival and showed us to our room which was clean and well presented with good facilities, however it was noisy from passing traffic and other guests in adjoining rooms, particularly above us. there was a continuation of banging doors. We were told that menus for the Resraurant and Brasserie were in the room, but they were not.we intended to dine in on our 1st night so we went to reception to get menus. we were given them by the Maitre de who sdvised that the restraurant and Brasserie were very busy and we should book. we were also told that the Resrraurant was very fine dining and we would be best suited to use the Brasserie. I found this a strange comment as we hadnt even looked at the menus. we went the bar at 7..pm for a pre dinner drink and we booked a table for 7.30pm. we noticed the bar was very poorly stocked and lacked much choice. withib 5 mins the Maitre De gave us menus to browse and came back within minutes to take our order.he came back within 5 minutes and said our table was ready and took us through to the Brasserie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Went here for husbands birthday very nice enjoyed spa And no 10 resturant excellent food and good value Stayed in a suite so cute
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with great little spa

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: As above.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Walk thro village & square at back. Visit antique shops & cafes - particularly nice ice cream shop. Church is def worth a visit too.
Booked this with my daughter for overnight stay. Room spacious with good bathroom. Very clean. The spa area was lovely with outside vitality pool/jacuzzi. Steam room & sauna. Luxurious area & very nice relaxing room with comfy sofas. Many lounge areas in hotel - great place for reading & relaxing. Very nice staff. Good food - very good breakfast too. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leamington Spa

Perfect traditional English experience

Posted Feb 28, 2017
There was a warm welcome at the hotel and a lovely pervasive smell of wood fires.The room was super comfortable with all the amenities you could possibly need. An excellent breakfast set us up for the day and the hotel is in the historic centre so easy to get out and about to explore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Flying visit

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Olde Worlde Great atmosphere but worn carpet in corridor on way to our room rather took the edge off the rest of this hotel, which was more expensive than The Mermaid in Rye.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Amazing hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Relaxing hotel with beautiful features
Cons: It's perfect
Location: Lavenham is a beautiful part of Suffolk with great countryside walks nearby
A must go to hotel for a wonderful, relaxing break in a beautiful part of Suffolk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel situated in the village

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Very historic and homely.
Cons: Could get spa treatment as was booked up.
Beautiful place and food was amazing. Spa facilities very nice but to busy to book treatment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Excellent loved the whole experience

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The care from all the staff
Cons: No it so what it is that makes it special
Location: Great
Loved it would tell me friends it a special place to go
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Fine old building, but not as good as it was

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Splendid old building.
Cons: See above.
Location: Farmers' market one Sunday a month, in village hall near church, not the market place.
Splendid old building. Disappointed that tables in the restaurant weren't reserved for guests staying at the hotel. So we went to the Greyhound next door, which was excellent, the first night, and ate in the brasserie the second night (on our own, at least it was fast). The car park at the back only has enough room for about a quarter of the guests, there is another car park behind the shops opposite but despite asking about parking they didn't tell us (or several other guests) about it. At breakfast we didn't even get our cereals until after at least two tables who came in after us had finished, and the raisin floating in the milk for the coffee was a novelty. The brochure in the room made much of the hotel's environmental policy, but the cleaners left all the lights on, they turned the radiators right up, changed all the towels unnecessarily, and the room had old style bulbs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon

Tudor Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: It's history and location within Lavenham
Cons: No issues for me
Location: As I was working and this was only a stopover I can't much
Stayed overnight for work reasons. Probably more suited to leisure than work stopovers but very nice with interesting decor and the history associated with the American pilots from WW2. Staff helpful and pleasant throughout the hotel (not so much in the spa). I would certainly stay again and bring family as obviously Lavenham should be viewed with all its history. I would definitely ask for a different room - no. 10 on the ground floor was very appealing except the noise from the adjacent side road was very obvious at times. Overall a hotel well worth visiting.