Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danville, VA

Wonderful historic hotel unlike any other.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Sit on the front porch and watch the activity on the Ohio River. Room loaded with ambiance of days gone by. Very quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by larry from Quinton va

Rising sun to Indy

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was perfect and Marcia our host was a gem
4 out of 5
by Robert from Plattsburgh

Bed no breakfast in a charming location and house

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Bed no breakfast in a charming riverfront location and a old house full of cachet. Would enjoy staying there again.
4 out of 5
by Greg from Franklin TN

over all a nice place to spend the night

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
it was too short to form much of an opion
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wknd getaway

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was pleasant & close to downtown shops. Hotel under lot of outside renovation but close to Ohio River which was very scenic. Nice quaint quiet place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a place to lay head nothing else

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Television in room made noises the whole time we were there. Was told it would be changed out but it never was. This place is suppose to be a bed and breakfast. Well you get an old bed and the breakfast if you call mini muffins breakfast with no drinks. No milk oj nothing. just a place to crash absolutely nothing spectacular about this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect getaway escape for a couple if you just w

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: The hotel looks to be in the start of rebuilding and updating some of the structure. I would be interested in seeing it once the restoration is done.
Location: Perfect setting right on the Ohio river. Great little small town nearby for shopping and eating.
The empire house is the Perfect getaway escape for a couple if you just want some peace and quiet. The hotel is located directly on the Ohio River and offers amazing views. The small town there is something right out of a movie. The hotel is clean and decorated in many many antiques. You won't be pampered with luxury like a pool, room service, or a massaging shower head...but let's face it....that's not why you are staying there. Marsha the innkeeper is a super nice lady that greats you on arrival and assists you in checking in. The small town that's literally a 30 second walk has places to eat and a few shops to browse. I would def return some weekend.
5 out of 5
by Carissa from Richmond, In

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay for our time there. The only complaint I have is that it was to short lol. The staff was friendly and you felt at home. My only complaint is the town rolls itself up to early. More places need to stay open a little bit later for those coming in that need gas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
It's a no frills quite experience back to the basics and definitely worth it the porch swing made it all worth whe