Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Riverview hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The old times feeling. There are benches across the road on the banks of the river.
Cons: We didn't stay long enough b
Location: This is a small and quiet picturesque town. There is a casino nearby.
This is not your standard hotel. It is a big home converted into hotel with a nostalgia feeling. There was a rotary phone in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by empire house, Hotel Management
The hotel is 200 years old built to accommodate the river traffic. It is open year around and has been renovated to offer our guests a great stay. The river has a calming effect no matter what time of year or how long the stay. Owner is on property and ready.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it had a great stay .... I will return....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Empire House is open all year. Look forward to your return,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A step back to the time of steam boats!

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Close to family!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North central IN

Riverside, quaint, historic hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: History, location across river.Quiet, peaceful .Furnishings relevant to home .Shabby- chic .Lots of memories of growing up in similar home.
Cons: Had to plug in most lamps. Terrycloth tablecloth covered nice oak table. A bit dusty. Sloppy painting everywhere. Needs a lot of TLC.Huge undertaking.
Location: River and related activity--Boats all sizes. Fantastic Main Street Diner .Interesting homes, shops.
Basically we knew what to expect. But we were never offered continental breakfast advertised. Think lady/ owner works alone and under a lot of pressure. But we enjoyed our short stay. We prefer this to modern surroundings. You can feel the history. Lots of memories of growing up in similar home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The room was very comfortable and quaint. It is a 200 yr old building but well maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the atmosphere . Quaint and will be close to five star when totally renovated. We will definietly return when in the get-away for the weekend mood.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful location. love to come back

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
the most beautiful stop on our trip. town was charming, hotel overlooked beautiful ohio river. lots of good places to walk on the river walk and all around town. enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Rising Sun is rich in history and beauty. I'm so glad you got to enjoy both and please come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very quaint & cozy!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Danville, VA

Wonderful historic hotel unlike any other.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Sit on the front porch and watch the activity on the Ohio River. Room loaded with ambiance of days gone by. Very quiet and comfortable.