Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Pleasant hotel convenient for city centre

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Small, friendly, clean
Cons: Selection at breakfast
Location: Le Mans is a great city with fab restaurants and bars close to some magnificent ancient architecture
Stayed at this hotel 22 yrs ago and went back on the way home from the South of France to see what it was like.... was not disappointed. A pleasant small independent hotel. SatNAv took us right there without a problem..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good quality hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Nice clean room - breakfast not bad - plenty of choice
Cons: Air - con - was very hot
Location: Only stayed one night so great location as we could walk to town centre in 10 mins - plenty of places to eat and have a drink - old town lovely
We stayed one night to break the journey home - The hotel was very nice - Walking distance to the town centre which was great - staff very friendly and helpful - would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Fine hotel close to station

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: the hotel staff.
The receptions staff were excellent, esp. the lady at check-in. The room size was good, the furnishing rather plain but functional. The location is OK, esp. if one wishes to be close to the train station. Also waling distance to historic center of town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in centre of town

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Very pleasant stay and great location fro tram system and getting around town. went for the 24 hr Le Mans and an ideal base for the weekend.
2 out of 5
by Steve

OK< and good location

Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels
The area immediately round the hotel is nothing special, with the closest restaurants a good 5 - 10 minutes walk away, and the centre about 15-20 minutes. The rooms are clean but basic, and could do with a bit of TLC. But the hotel is quiet, with a free car park, reasonably close to the city centre. The staff are nice, and helpful. I would use it again, but I wouldn't make a detour to get there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Le Chantecler

Posted Nov 6, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed at the Chantecler for 3 nights in October 2011 whilst visiting our son who was working in Le Mans. The hotel was very well situated, only a 10 to 15minute walk into the main part of town. There is also a fast and efficient tram service and the tram stop is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. We appreciated being able to park our car in the hotel car park and walk into town. The staff were friendly and welcoming and spoke enough English for us to be understood (our French is poor). The room was adequate for our needs, it was clean and comfortable with a decent bed and good size bathroom. The breakfast was good, it was a typical cold, continental buffet although it seemed slightly overpriced. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Le Mans and would use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Newbury

Great hotel in good location.

Posted Sep 30, 2011
This is a charming small hotel with free onsite parking close to the town centre. Staff very friendly, rooms large for a French hotel and 10 mins walk from the centre. We stayed for a night driving down through France and booked it again for the return trip. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

10 minutes walk to the centre

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel is not too far to the centre of Le Mans. It does have its own car park and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The area felt a bit run down, but I am not sure if this was just our perception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Limerick

Nothing Special

Posted Jul 25, 2011 on Hotels
Small and compact with one redeaming feature--free convenient parking, little else to get excited about