Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2019
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Wonderful historic location for a short stay

Posted Aug 7, 2018
Pros: The views of Le Palais and the sea are wonderful and are enjoyed from numerous locations in the grounds of the fabulous restoration of the Citadel.
Cons: In such a vast & historic building, it's inevitable that not everything is 100% perfect, so make a little allowance for the odd wobbly floor-tile.
Location: Enjoy the lovely summer atmosphere of Le Palais or make use of the local buses for a trip to Sauzon & Pointe des Poulains.
The Citadel is an immense site and the hotel is full of character which makes it a very special location for a memorable short stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An amazing historic building that is a hotel!

Posted Aug 5, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel is an amazing historical building and we had fantastic views over the sea. The room was very large and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and the island is a beautiful place, especially in the sun, with lots of places to explore. We hired electric bikes which was a first time experience which made getting around the island so easy. The hotel restaurant had a slightly limiting menu but there are plenty of restaurants in the town. Two slight negatives were the walking route from the port to the hotel is not clear, and at least 2 other couples lost their way. Also some of the staff seemed a bit indifferent in their approach to customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely magical.

Posted Jul 30, 2018 on Hotels
Staying at Citadelle Vauban is like taking a trip back in time. The place is a cornucopia of history and everything is so beautifully preserved and presented. Every day we discovered a new and intriguing secret passageway or dungeon. And the view over the ocean is breathtaking. I will definitely return :-)
4 out of 5
by Frederick from Waterford

Revelling in history

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
An imaginative, respectful and interesting transformation of one wing of a tremendous fortress into a hotel; superb site dominating the harbour.
5 out of 5
by Edward from UK

Excellent choice on Belle Ile

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
This was a birthday visit and was perfect for us. The service was excellent as were all the facilities and restaurant. The staff were extremely helpful and I would definitely staff here again.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Royal Oak, Md

Belle Hotel on belle Ile

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
A luxury hotel set in a 16th century citadel. A spectacular opportunity to stay inside a museum but with all the comforts. Restaurant on property is terrific. Staff couldn't have been nicer, went out of the way to make our stay memorable
5 out of 5
by Bertrand from London

Great escape !

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
We loved it! - spectacular views and best location in Town, great room and very friendly staff. Very relaxing and peaceful retreat. I would definitely recommend staying there for a night or more, an ideal base to explore the island. I would also rate the restaurant which offers some great cuisine and top quality wines. Watch-out for the birds during your breakfast as these "goelands" also love your croissants! - great opportunity for nice close-up photos but these animals can be vicious...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2019
Soggiorno da favola in un lussuoso e grande castello rinascimentale. Immersi nella storia, con accesso ai due musei del castello inclusi, fra giardini da sogno, passaggi segreti, soffitti a volta... ed è tutto autentico! Ad un prezzo più che onesto.