Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Bart from San Jose, CA

a pleasant hotel in a small village

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Mr. Schmuck, the owner of the hotel was most accomodating. His hotel is just off the national bike route 9, and he has a special room for bicycle parking. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a balcony with some chairss.
4 out of 5
by Dana from Washington DC USA

Beautiful

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels
Had we stayed right in Gruyeres (instead of here at Hostellerie Le Castel) we'd have never seen the amazing views of the surrounding area. We walked from Hostellerie Le Castel to Gruyeres and it was perhaps the best scenery we've seen in our lives.
5 out of 5
by Zach from Virginia Beach, VA

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
Checked in late and the staff was amazing. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Gruyere Chateau and the Chef stayed just to cook us a late dinner which was delicious. The room was simple but very clean and everything you need. Just a three minute drive to the cheese factory (tour was great) and the Chateau Gruyere. Only ten minutes from the Callier Chocolate factory (tour was a amazing). I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Karl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Aaron from Hong Kong

good central location

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels
Relatively resonable price, and hotel staff provides great help. the location is great which located nearby Gruyere, and Lausanne
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nayef from New York

A great retreat with a view

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels
I booked this hotel on my pilgrimage to the town of Gruyères to visit the miraculous Tibet Museum. This hotel came up in my hotels.com search for the town of Gruyères, it is around teh corner from the train station Le Paquier, the owners are very very kind and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the view is miraculous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but watch for extra costs

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels
Desk was very polite and helpful. But watch out for extra charges. Continental breakfast cost 15 Francs. Ask for a piece of bread at night, 4 Francs. Location is somewhat inconvenient to the Broc. Probably should have stayed in Bulle where it is cheaper and convenient.
5 out of 5
by CG from Wales

The Real Switzerland - go there!

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels
I was looking for an inexpensive hotel between Bern and Montreux for an overnight stop. The Castel seemed to offer just what we wanted. Rural location was fine, with great views of Gruyere Chateau (but without the crowds) and near the autobahn. (take care if following Google Maps instructions and be sure to take the right exit at the first roundabout - follow the motor road signs - we missed them first time and needed to retrace). I would describe the hotel as traditional Swiss - and all the better for it! So many Swiss hotels have become international. The fondue was perhaps the best I have ever had (again very traditional, with potatoes) and the breakfast superb. We were given a room with a balcony and I understand these are worth the extra - view of the castle rather than the (quiet) road, and also a larger bed. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Manu

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
Great hotel. Staff very friendly. Beautiful view from room.